Mini Switzerland Gangtok Review
Hill

Mini Switzerland

Review of Gangtok, Sikkim

Most preferred by...

Travellers from Kolkata, Delhi
Couple
Family

Best time to visit Gangtok in the next six months

  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September

Gangtok Traveller Reviews

WRITE A REVIEW
Read 412 destination reviews
with average rating of 5.9/7, 1
out of 4503 Gangtok reviews 4503
Sort by:
Snehal Jalan
  • Snehal Jalan
  • Lives in Kolkata
  • 3 photos
  • 2 Reviews

"Mini Switzerland"

  • Posted 3 years ago
The Best - a mini Switzerland.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Food was good , Shopping is not cheap but one can do.

Activities & things to do: There is pub and disco also one can got to casino at Royal casino hotel.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: From Siliguri one can take car on hire to Gangtok.
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.

Vivek Gaur
  • Vivek Gaur
  • Lives in Gurgaon
  • 1 Review

"A few untold tips about Gangtok"

  • Posted 3 years ago
Awesome place, best for honeymoon.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: North Sikkim must not be missed. Best way out is to get a tour guide book from any local shop.

Activities & things to do: Trekking, China border on a height of 14200 feet and a lot more ...
better you trust local people and tourism information counter on MG road.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: I just visited Gangtok and had some untold tips...
Hope it helps..

1) I have been to almost every state in India and found Sikkim second best after Kashmir; location wise, it's the best in India; also cultural & people wise.

2) Whole of Sikkim looks free from any kind of mischief or security violations.

3) Best time for north Indians in Gangtok is Nov - Feb and for south Indians is Sep - Nov.

4) Gangtok never sees snowfall, although you can have enough snow in north Sikkim , where you can go by a taxi from Gangtok.

5) Bagdogra airport uses very less advance technology which results into flight cancellation in hazy weather, so avoid travelling there in the first two weeks of January and if you are stuck in such a case, then best way out is to go to Kolkata (via luxury/sleeper bus services in night) from Siliguri and then have a flight to your location.

6) Train service is also not much reliable from New Jaipaiguri railway station as trains are late in hazy weather.

7) Never ever try to go out of Bagdogra airport and book a taxi. Booking a Sikkim taxi prior to your journey is the best idea. Other wise you can book a pre paid taxi to Siliguri taxi stand and from there you can get a Sikkim taxi starting with 'SK'

8) Personally I felt that my driver was really a nice & genuine person, He even helped me out in Siliguri when my flight got cancelled due to bad weather.

9) I found Sikkim a great place for honeymoon trips as the area is free from any security violations and is the cleanest city in India.

10) Always drink boiled or mineral water.

11) Last but not the least, helicopter booking should be done in advance.
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • 1 vote

Vijayakumar John
  • Vijayakumar John
  • Highlander
  • 26 photos
  • 2 Reviews

"gangtok a nice place to visiy"

  • Posted 3 years ago
we group of 6 after visiting Darjeeling on 30.09.2010,we proceeded to Gangtok capital of Sikkim state which is situated at an altitude of6000 feet in the mount Kanchenjunga of east Himalayan range and it is a ever greenish,healthy,non smoking non spitting ,clean , hygiene and peaceful city. The climate during our visit was good and enjoyable.the maximum temp.is 20 and minimum is 15 degree. we reached Gangtok in the after noon and had our pre- arranged lunch at hotel Meylong situated on 31 a national high way.the roads are being maintaining by the border roads organization.we have seen the name board in the NH Kanchenjunga to Kanyakumari on the Himalayan top hills.by 4.oo p.m. We had been in the cable car rope way connecting four mountains. We enjoyed the hills nature,roads,buildings plesant view from 4000 feet height.then we visited m.g.marg,lal market which are shoping area with costly resturants and a leisurely place for the visiting tourists. .m.g. marg Gangtok is very busy marketing and resting place for tourists.on the one km shopping road,there are somany benches for sitting and taking rest.below the m.g. marg,lal market and super market are located.we stayed in hotel meylong which is better for our stay.

On 01.10.2010,we started our sight seeing in and arround gangtok in two maruti vans since only smaller vechiles are allowed in gangtok for local sight seeing that too only four persons are allowed in a single vechile . we visited enchey monastery 200 years old,rebuilt during 1910,botonical garden,shanthi view point.in shanthi view point, coloured dresses were given to take hill view photos.then we visited do-drul chorten stupa built in 1945 with 108 prayer wheels.then we visited tibetian museum namgyal insitute of tibetology where we saw the 200 years old bowls made from skull and etc.we also visited rumtek monestery where nalantha university for buddist studies is located.we also visited num num view point and flower show centre and park.it is a very plesant one. variety of roses are there in the garden well maintained.then we visited ganesh tok and tashi view point which is in 7500 feet hight.one should not miss to see in gangtok.it was once on the way to old silk route to tibet and chinna.zoo is near by where snow lepord breeding station is located.some photos are here.there is is also an army traing cetre is located. at tashi view point, we saw the hills view and the roads towards chinna border .the climate was very enjoyable there in the top of kanchenjunga east himalayan hills . on 02.10.2010,we proceeded to namchi 8000 feet high which is 98 kms away from gangtok.enroute we visited singtom,temi tea garden.in temi tea garden,we got jolly mood and rolled in the tea plantations.the photo shows the enjoyment..then we visited buddist statue which is 100 feet hight.we also visited namchi rock garden and siva temple which is under construction at a cost of rs.45/ crores.further rope way construction project is underway connecting samdruptse and namchi siva temple hills at a cost of rs.25/ crores covering 10 kms. it will be a fine hill view to the future tourists once the project work is completed.we enjoyed a lot in namchi hill visit.we returned to gangtok by 5.00pm..we stayed at hotel meylong .some photos are here. we have missed visiting nathulla pass 17000 feet high and changu lake/tsomong lake because of road closure by the defence due to land slides enroute.further we were also not able to visit yumthang valley and pelling in north sikkim.
0n 03.10.2010,we said good bye to hotel meylong gangtok and left to bagdodra airport by 7.30 a.m. in inova vechile which is 140 kms from gangtok and 98 kms from darjeeling.we reached bagdogra airport by 11.45 am to catch spicejet flight tochennai.after passing through nearly 25 hills,zig zag roads and dangerous curves via silluguri.
if anybody wants further details pl.call me no 09443259210
vijayakumar
tirunelveli
tamilnadu

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: good

Activities & things to do: go for all sight seeing places

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: go by share taxi from airport or from njp railway station
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.

Sharmistha Iyer
  • Sharmistha Iyer
  • Highlander
  • Lives in Mumbai
  • 14 photos
  • 3 Reviews

"Crowded but Clean"

  • Posted 3 years ago
Gangtok is beautiful and sparkling clean.I was surprised to see that its plastic free and a No public smoking is allowed,which I believe is implemented very strictly.Though its crowded the places to visit like Ban Jhakri Falls,Ropeway , Hanuman Tok ,Ganesh tok and Rumtek Monastary are all very well maintained and clean.

As we did not visit Pelling or Lachung the star attraction was , of course , was the Nathula Pass.Its very bleak and cold and beautiful.Tough for people who are not very fit physically , but if one takes is easy and does not make any rapid movements its OK to breathe. The road is very bad and non existent in patches due to land slides and we were lucky to have avoided one which had happened only a few days back.

The weather was good when we reached there but it became very bad with rains and fog and visibility was reduced to almost zero.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: We ate mostly at our hotel but all types of food are available but predominantly its Chinese and
local cuisine.Although once we got good Butter chicken and Naan at Hotlicks (on the Ropeway
bldg) and the next time , Pure Veg at Rasoi on M G Marg.

Not much to shop except local handicraft as most of the stuff seems to be of Chinese make which come from across the border and that too not very economical.Found some good silver ear rings on our way back from Rumtek and some souvenirs and momentous at Tashi point. Not to forget the Makaibari tea at Laal Market which was quite good.

Activities & things to do: We did not do any trekking or river rafting so cannot comment.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: We went from Bagdogra to Gangtok by car and found the view spectacular but the road was really bad , it took us close to 5hrs to reach there although its only about 120 km.

On our way back we took the chopper and it was an adventure .Although its a little dear with 2400 per head but the view is breathtaking and the time taken is just 25 min to reach Bagdogra.One word of caution if one is planning to take the helicopter then the shopping has to be curbed as they are very strict about weight , one can carry only 15 kg per head plus his own weight which should be average of 70 kg.Our baggage could not travel with us and had to follow us in the next trip , fortunately for us there was a long wait for the connecting flight to Kolkata.
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.

Himadri
  • Himadri
  • Lives in Guwahati
  • 2 photos
  • 2 Reviews

"Gangtok,and its Sight Seeing"

  • Posted 3 years ago
Gangtok is a nice place to visit on short vacations,except the exhausting taxi travel from the train stations and the airports.Being cold the year throughout it gives its tourists a pleasant atmosphere to move around. But one should always take an umbrella with him because sudden rainfall occurs sometimes.

Gangtok is a clean place to be around .It is full of flowers sometimes and often filled with ice around the outskirts.Traffic this well maintained but is a bit expensive.Since big cars or buses are not allowed to ply around the city plying on the small cars are a bit expensive for some tourists.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: The Mahatma Gandhi Road which is the attraction of the Gangtok is a wonderful place.It is a well planned road for pedestrians without any vehicles plying on it.The area is mainly a market place with wonderful lighting and flowering on it.People can also sit around on the chairs placed on the side of the road and pass their time pleasantly.

There are lots of restaurants around on this mall road but the most coveted one that I found was the vegetarian 'Parivar' and 'Rasoi'.For the Bengali taste the best one to go is the 'Woodland Hotel' very near the M G Marg.

Rgarding sight seeing the best option is to take the two days for the local sight seeing and one day for Changu Lake, Baba Mandir and Nathula Pass. First day should include Ganesh Tok , Hanuman Tok ,Tashi View Point early in the morning and flower show, a ride at the cable car and hadicraft show.The second day can be taken for seeing all the monesteries, Tibetology and the Jhakri falls.The third day can be taken to move on to the long distance tourist spots like Changu Lake,Baba Mandir and Nathula Pass.People having high blood pressure and heart trouble should take precautionary measure or avoid these sites as they are located at a very high altitude of 1700 ft height.

All the evenings can be spent on M.G.Marg
Regarding shopping tourist should be alert as the quality of the clothes is not up to the mark.Only some woollen clothes can be picked up from Gangtok.Interior decorators can be choosily selected from the place.

Thus on the whole Gangtok is a lovely place to spend from four to six days.

Activities & things to do: Those interested in trekking can go for it.Walking through the hilly roads early in the mornings also a nice exercise to experience.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Heavy winter dresses should be taken from fur cap, jackets to boots.
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • 1 vote

Prasad Perumal Chaubey Ravi Prasad, Perumal, Chaubey and 8513 other people have been to Gangtok.
View their ratings...

Highly Rated hotels in Gangtok

Gangtok Sightseeing

View all 35 Sightseeing options in Gangtok »

Best time to visit Gangtok with family

  • Jan
  • Feb
  • Mar
  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
  • Nov
  • Dec

Gangtok Packages

Hills
Darjeeling & Gangtok 27500 Per Person 6 days & 5 nights VIEW DETAILS
Hills
Innovative Triangle of East 30500 Per Person 6 days & 5 nights VIEW DETAILS
Hills
The Shangri-La Budget 6720 Per Person 3 days & 2 nights VIEW DETAILS
Hills
The Shangri-La Deluxe 8280 Per Person 3 days & 2 nights VIEW DETAILS

Gangtok Information


- Posted by
1 of