A wonderful stay with family at Gabadi River Edge - Gabad...
Homestays

A wonderful stay with family at Gabadi River Edge

Review of Gabadi River Edge, Shimoga

Rank 10
Ranked 10 of 109
Hotels in Shimoga
Average rating
5.7 / 7
1 48 Ratings & 31 Reviews
What travellers are saying about this Hotel
Experience scale
  • Excellent 18
  • Very Good 10
  • Good 1
  • Average 1
  • Below Average 1
  • Poor 0
  • Terrible 0
Average ratings on...
  • Destination 6.1/7
  • Location 6.2/7
  • Appearance 6.2/7
  • Front Office 5.7/7
  • Service 6.4/7
  • Room 6/7
  • Food & Drink 6.5/7
  • Activities 4.6/7

31 traveller reviews for Gabadi River Edge

WRITE A REVIEW
Sort by:
Kothandaraman Swaminathan

  • Explorer
  • Kothandaraman Swaminathan
  • Critic
  • Lives in Bangalore
  • 14 photos
  • 5 Reviews
  •  29 helpful votes
  •  12132 readers
  • 5.9/7
  •  Posted Jan 30, 2015
We picked this place for the short weekend 24-26 January 2015. We did the right thing. The place is a beauty. The house is calm, spacious and overlooks Tunga. You have to be up at 6:30 in the morning to experience serenity. A variety of birds flyby in the morning and twilight, with the river serving as the perfect background. It has got beautiful lawns and a wonderful central courtyard. The terrace overlooking Tunga is another gem. A living room that can easily accommodate 20 people fitted with Tata Sky HD. We watched a movie as a family one of the evenings having tea and snacks. The hosts - Shri. Krupp and Smt. Shoba - were a wonderful couple taking good care of us. The food - Malnad cuisine - was something you need to experience. Each meal was served by Shri. Krupp himself and they were served with love. A wonderful, home made dessert accompanied each meal including breakfast. Food rating - 5/5. We were served dinner the second night amongst a wonderful bonfire in the central courtyard. Chilly night - Moonlight - warm bonfire - chatting with family & fellow travellers - sumptuous dinner - yummy dessert. Need I say more Pets: They have a cow, a Labrador (Rocky) and two cats. Our children loved their time with the pets and didn't have the heart to leave them on their return Aren't there any flaws? Yes The creaking cots take the first slot. The cots are comfortable but very creaky. While the comforters on the bed were very clean and nice, the extra ones available inside the room (drawers) were stinking. There's not much to do in the Home-stay. Any place worth a visit is a good 30/45 min drive away. So if you are looking for a relaxing holiday with little/no sightseeing, then this place will fit well. Otherwise, you will get bored easily The mug in the attached bathroom had no handle. Might look small, but then its easy to fix this as well and to give the impression that everything is taken care (Note: Airtel signal is not available inside 95% of the house) Overall, I will highly recommend this place. Suggestion: go as a group and you will sure relish the memories forever. Thank you, Shri. Shoba. Stayed January 2015, travelled with family
Kothandaraman Swaminathan's rating on...
  • Destination 7/7
  • Location 6.5/7
  • Appearance 6.5/7
  • Front Office 5/7
  • Service 7/7
  • Room 4.5/7
  • Food & Drink 6.5/7
  • Activities 4.5/7
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • 1 vote

Harish

  • Scout
  • Harish
  • 1 Review
  •  481 readers
  • Verified Traveller
  • 5.8/7
  •  Posted Oct 13, 2014
Hotel was located far from the city. Hospitality of the hotel was good and food was tasty. I took just veg food. I went there with my friends in 2011. Indoor and outdoor activities were available but swimming pool was not there. Rooms were neat and clean. TV, AC, geyser and other basic amenities were available. River view was available from the room. Look wise, the hotel was nice. There was no delay in check-in and check-out facility. Hotel was value for money and recommendable for tourists.
Harish 's rating on...
  • Destination 6/7
  • Location 6/7
  • Appearance 6/7
  • Front Office 5/7
  • Service 6/7
  • Room 5/7
  • Food & Drink 7/7
  • Activities 5/7
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.

Sathya Pramod

  • Scout
  • Sathya Pramod
  • Lives in Bangalore
  • 1 Review
  •  786 readers
  • 6.4/7
  •  Posted May 5, 2014
If you want good food, great time and a lovely set of people to stay with this is a lovely. Food was top class. I was a little apprehensive since we were vegetarians and I was taking my parents along too. But it turned out that this was the best food in terms of quality and variety that we ever had and Mrs Krupp are probably the best hosts around. They treat you like their own, giving you all the privacy that you need. Amazing set of people. Their knowledge about the place and the surroundings are so good that you can plan things very well. Given a choice, I will jump and go there without batting an eye lid
Sathya Pramod's rating on...
  • Destination 6/7
  • Location 7/7
  • Appearance 6/7
  • Front Office 7/7
  • Service 6/7
  • Room 6/7
  • Food & Drink 7/7
  • Activities 6/7
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.

Sumangali R k

  • Scout
  • Sumangali R k
  • Forester
  • Lives in Bangalore
  • 35 photos
  • 4 Reviews
  •  2 helpful votes
  •  4282 readers
  • 6.6/7
  •  Posted Nov 21, 2013
The Homestay : This place brings real meaning to the word Homestay. Beautiful ambience, Peaceful atmosphere, Good and well maintained rooms and bathrooms, nice interiors, River by the side, surrounded by plantations and green fields, lots and lots of birds around, Well maintained garden, a camp fire in the night, a refreshing hot water Bath from traditional firewood heater (hanDe snana in kannada) and above all Tasty, Healthy and Nutritious fresh home-made FOOD what else do you need for a good holiday . . Location of Homestay : It is right on the Highway between Shimoga and Thirthahalli, hence, easily accessible and also near to many tourist spots. The river flowing beside the homestay is the biggest attraction. For a birder like me, it was heaven. I could spot numerous variety of birds, to name a few, Verditer Flycatcher, Indian Golden Oriole, Oriental Magpie Robin, Rufous Treepie, sunbirds, cormorants, herons, peacocks, kingfishers, egrets, kites . The Hosts : Mr. Krupp is a very hospitable person who makes you feel at home by caring us, giving tips for our trips and totally made our stay comfortable. Mrs. Shobha Krupp is a fantastic cook. I wonder how she herself cooks and caters to so many people of different parties staying there at a time. Booking, checking in and out is not at all business-like. It was all in an informal way and that was really good . Our Stay : We were a group of 9 from 3 families who went there during Deepavali (2nd, 3rd & 4th December 2013) stayed for 2 days and 2 nights. We visited Mahishi (Mutt & River point), Kavaledurga Fort (Hill), Bheemanakatte (Mutt and River point), Kundadri Hill and Kuppalli. Waiting to visit once more to spend time leisurely, in and around the homestay only . The FOOD: The best part of the Homestay. To name a few delicacies, idlis, vadas, jamoons, holiges, akkirottis, payasas, for our breakfasts, Veg. Layer biriyani, otthu shavige, kayi haalu, neeru dosas, rice, rasam, sambar, chapathis, curries, for luches and dinners. Yummy Milk, curds, ghee and buttermilk are from their own cattle. Coffee or tea with bajjis and bondas in the evening was enjoyable . One suggestion to the owners : Mattresses need to be more comfortable .
Sumangali R k's rating on...
  • Destination 7/7
  • Location 7/7
  • Appearance 6/7
  • Front Office 7/7
  • Service 7/7
  • Room 7/7
  • Food & Drink 7/7
  • Activities 5/7
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.

Gunaseelan Kandaswamy

  • Scout
  • Gunaseelan Kandaswamy
  • Lives in Coimbatore
  • 3 Reviews
  •  922 readers
  • 5.9/7
  •  Posted Sep 9, 2013
My 2 nights stay was memorable for its food, ambience and the hosts. Food was top notch with malnad cuisine at its best. Particularly the river fish! If you are looking for peace and tranquility and really need a break, this is the place to go. Decided to visit again with family.
Gunaseelan Kandaswamy's rating on...
  • Destination 6/7
  • Location 6/7
  • Appearance 5/7
  • Front Office 5/7
  • Service 7/7
  • Room 5.5/7
  • Food & Drink 7/7
  • Activities 6/7
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.

Have you stayed at Gabadi River Edge?

Sign-up

Travellers also viewed these Shimoga hotels
Hotel
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
971 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Hotel
Ashok Deluxe Hotel, Shimoga
88 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Hotel
Surya Comforts Hotel, Shimoga
196 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Hotel
Athithi Comfort Hotel, Shimoga
6 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Check all Shimoga hotels ›