Not satisfied ... Avoid if possible - Kodai - By The Lake...
Resorts

Not satisfied ... Avoid if possible

Review of Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, Kodaikanal

Rank 12
Ranked 12 of 450
Hotels in Kodaikanal
Average rating
5.6 / 7
1 2601 Ratings & 1586 Reviews
What travellers are saying about this Hotel
Experience scale
  • Excellent 509
  • Very Good 709
  • Good 267
  • Average 72
  • Below Average 25
  • Poor 3
  • Terrible 1
Average ratings on...
  • Destination 6/7
  • Location 5.9/7
  • Appearance 5.9/7
  • Front Office 5.7/7
  • Service 5.6/7
  • Room 5.6/7
  • Food & Drink 5.4/7
  • Activities 5/7

1586 traveller reviews for Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

WRITE A REVIEW
Sort by:
Harshit agarwal

  • Tourist
  • Harshit agarwal
  • 3 Reviews
  •  28 readers
  • 2.8/7
  •  Posted May 18, 2017
Why you must not go for it-

1. Tiny rooms at the price you pay.

2. No fans, no AC.. You need to open windows for some ventilation.

3. No privacy... You open the window and it opens right in front of the bedroom of another rooms.

4. Poorly maintained rooms with old tiles... Faded colors etc.

5. Even a whispering in the next room can be heard clearly. Two rooms almost share the same entry.

6. Excessively high priced at what you get.

Why you go for it-

Food, staff and location.
Harshit agarwal 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 5/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 4/7
  • Room 1/7
  • Food & Drink NA
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 13th Jun 2017
Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai â By the Lake.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We thank you for sharing with us the aspects we need to improve. The same has also been shared with the Resort Management team to enhance the resort experience. We are glad that we could impress you with our gourmet options, service and strategically planned location.
We would love to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.

Rahul gopinathan

  • Tourist
  • Rahul gopinathan
  • 1 Review
  •  14 readers
  • 3.8/7
  •  Posted May 18, 2017
The service quality was very poor. Room was not neatly cleaned and basic toiletries were also missing. Got electric shock from using the electric kettle. Staff needs a to show courtesy to the guests. The Buffet service was poor. Food was average. Services needs to be improved a lot.
Rahul gopinathan 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 5/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 2/7
  • Room 4/7
  • Food & Drink 4/7
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 2nd Jun 2017
Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai â By the Lake.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We apologize for our inability to deliver satisfactory service and a delightful holiday experience. Your feedback has been shared with the Resort Management Team to ensure that our service quality is not compromised.

We hope that you will consider this experience as an unfortunate exception and give us another opportunity to serve you better. We look forward to serving you again in the near future with the best standard of hospitality.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Satheesh

  • Tourist
  • Satheesh
  • 1 Review
  •  18 readers
  • 4.0/7
  •  Posted May 14, 2017
Average service levels, welcome drink not offered, in fact we asked for it Staff courtesy was average and no extra game/activity at property, it was like normal hotel kind of environment, rooms were very small
Satheesh 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 4/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 4/7
  • Room 4/7
  • Food & Drink NA
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 2nd Jun 2017
Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai â By the Lake.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We welcome your earnest feedback â the same has also been shared with the Resort Management team to enhance the overall resort experience. At Sterling, our dear guests are our greatest source of inspiration to pursue excellence, and we wish to thank you for this contribution.
We hope to serve you and hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Chittaranjan patro

  • Tourist
  • Chittaranjan patro
  • 2 Reviews
  •  11 readers
  • 5.4/7
  •  Posted May 12, 2017
Room Quality needs improvement in terms cleanliness of toilets. Room needs to be thoroughly checked before handing over to guests. In my room Tea maker was not working, TV remote was missing. Hot water was not coming. But issues fixed after reported. Staff were very good and co-operative. If you ask me value for money, I don't think that matches exactly. No intercom during my trip. Only one day it was available. No cell phone signal also inside. Need signal boosters.
Chittaranjan patro 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 7/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 7/7
  • Room 4/7
  • Food & Drink 7/7
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 2nd Jun 2017
Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai â By the Lake.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We apologize for the untoward exceptions to the usual Sterling experience. Cleanliness is an aspect that we take very seriously and any deviation from it is not accepted. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the limited cellular connectivity. We have shared your concerns with the Resort Management Team to look into the matters shared by you.
We pray that you give us another opportunity to welcome you again in our expansive range of resorts.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Nivetha murali

  • Tourist
  • Nivetha murali
  • 2 photos
  • 1 Review
  •  12 readers
  • 5.0/7
  •  Posted May 8, 2017
Room was nice and the services was good. Quite inside from the lake, but the view is good from the hotel. Lot of fun activities are there, good for larger groups. Breakfast buffet is for free. Taste good too.
Nivetha murali 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 5/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 5/7
  • Room 5/7
  • Food & Drink NA
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 2nd Jun 2017
Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!
Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai â By the Lake.
We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We are glad that your stay with us was a memorable one. Our resortâs location has been chosen to ensure that our guests are pampered with the bounties and wonders of nature backed with the best of standards of hospitality. The in-house activities are aimed at providing a recreational break to our guests, and we are pleased that you had a rejuvenating time.
We would love to welcome you again in our resorts located across India!
Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Have you stayed at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort?

Sign-up

Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort belongs to


Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
Hotel
Kodai International Hotel, Kodaikanal
467 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Guest Houses
B's Hive, Kodaikanal
156 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Resorts
Hotel Cool Stay, Kodaikanal
45 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Hotel
Apple Valley, Kodaikanal
1198 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Check all Kodaikanal hotels ›