The view from the room - Sterling Ooty Elk Hill,Ooty
Resorts

The view from the room

Review of Sterling Ooty Elk Hill, Ooty

Rank 11
Ranked 11 of 679
Hotels in Ooty
Average rating
5.4 / 7
1 1294 Ratings & 963 Reviews
What travellers are saying about this Hotel
Experience scale
  • Excellent 426
  • Very Good 293
  • Good 182
  • Average 40
  • Below Average 15
  • Poor 6
  • Terrible 1
Average ratings on...
  • Destination 5.9/7
  • Location 5.8/7
  • Appearance 5.8/7
  • Front Office 5.8/7
  • Service 5.7/7
  • Room 5.9/7
  • Food & Drink 5.6/7
  • Activities 5/7

963 traveller reviews for Sterling Ooty Elk Hill

WRITE A REVIEW
Sort by:
Sugesh

  • Tourist
  • Sugesh
  • 1 Review
  •  14 readers
  • 7.0/7
  •  Posted Jul 3, 2017
Overall its a good experience and nice stay. The view from the room was really good. Breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Very pleasant stay. I recommend this to others. Nice weather in Ooty too.
Sugesh 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 7/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 7/7
  • Room 7/7
  • Food & Drink NA
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 3rd Aug 2017
Dear Sir,
Namaste!
Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Ooty – Elk Hill.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We are glad you had a satisfying stay with us. At Ooty – Elk Hill we seek to bring together the best of hospitality and nature at our strategically located resort. We are joyous to learn that our staff and services were able to add much delight to your holidaying experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Ruban thangaraj

  • Tourist
  • Ruban thangaraj
  • 1 Review
  •  7 readers
  • 5.6/7
  •  Posted Jul 3, 2017
Being a nature lover I had a perfect stay at Sterling Elk Hill enjoying the scenic beauty. Prompt and immediate assistance from the customer service team here was something that needs good appreciations. I visited Elk hill during the last month of July with my wife, it was the beginning of monsoon here, dew drops, drizzles and mist filled atmosphere combined with a perfect view of Ooty is something we'll never forget.
The location of this hotel is really amazing, this resort is not that far from the Ooty railway station. It’s like 2-3 kms away.
They have in-house cabs to assist guests. Watch out during peak season time. There might be high demand in cabs. There are autos readily available at the gates of this hotel, so it’s easy to go anywhere at ease anytime.
Regarding the rooms and comfort, they maintain their overall standard. To get a room with good view, we have to book in advance and mention them we need a room with good view. Last minute booking might end up in getting a concrete view. Better Luck
We opted for Breakfast inclusive package. The team was able to manage their guests in a good way, not making us wait for long and get frustrated. The variety of food offered in the buffet is good but not that great, it would be better if there are more varieties and not many repeated verities all day. Also some of the desserts were not fresh but was constantly refilled as per request. I would suggest some quality improvement in food served during breakfast. Other than this foods served in-room and on dine was good with their overall standard menu.
The spa here is absolutely refreshing. Should give it a try if you guys visit this resort. Cost effective only.
I'm not a big fan of their gym.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here. I couldn’t think of any major Cons here.
Ruban thangaraj 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 5/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 5/7
  • Room 7/7
  • Food & Drink 7/7
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 3rd Aug 2017
Dear Sir,
Namaste!
Thank you for choosing to holiday with us atOoty – Elk Hill.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.
Thank you for such a detailed description of your stay. We are glad to know that we could make your stay with us memorable in more ways than one. At Sterling we believe that our guests deserve only the best and Ooty – Elk Hill is no different. Providing customized service, leaving no stone unturned in pampering the guests and dishing out gourmet delights are some of the features that we take pride in.
We look forward to welcoming you at our vast range of resorts located at some of the most beautiful places across India.
Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Shravan kumar

  • Tourist
  • Shravan kumar
  • 1 Review
  •  6 readers
  • 3.8/7
  •  Posted Jul 3, 2017
Overall, the rooms are good, comfortable and clean. The food is decent enough especially when you are travelling with kids. It will be good if you clearly let the order taker know if you expecting less oily, less spicy etc. This is an average property, location-wise (narrow roads with lot of potholes), if you are driving, you may get stuck. The showers weren't working well and there was delays in room service. There are other options you may want to try out at this price point. The kids park, gym, spa are pretty decent, the garden area is very nice. The other issue is that you will see a lot office gathering or students coming in (huge crowd). I'm assuming the staff is generally busy when such crowd turns up. So overall, good for a family outing but be prepared for some small setbacks. The team tries to make it up with some good service. However, the professionalism and overall enthusiasm to serve customers shows.
Shravan kumar 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 2/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 2/7
  • Room 5/7
  • Food & Drink NA
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 3rd Aug 2017
Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!
Thank you for choosing to holiday with us atOoty – Elk HIll.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.
Thank you for such a detailed description of your stay. We are glad to know that we could make your stay with us memorable in more ways than one. At Sterling we believe that our guests deserve only the best and Ooty – Elk Hill is no different. Providing customized service, leaving no stone unturned in pampering the guests and dishing out gourmet delights are some of the features that we take pride in.
We apologize for the untoward exception to the Sterling way of frill free holiday experience and hope you will give us another chance to pamper you again at our wide range of resorts located Pan India.
Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Anshul sharma

  • Tourist
  • Anshul sharma
  • 1 Review
  •  7 readers
  • 5.5/7
  •  Posted Jul 3, 2017
Elk Hill is located beautifully on top of a hill, away from the hustle-bustle of the crowded ooty's main streets. Temperature is a couple of degrees less than ooty's temp.

It is well equipped with 2 restaurants, a bar, activity centre for kids and adults, a small playground with swings, cricket nets, bonfire place, etc.

Rooms are very-very small, with hardly any space to move around. They are connected to the adjacent room through a door, so one should be ready for a lot of noise if you get noisy neighbours. Washroom, though modern, is very tight too. With a toddler, we found it quite difficult to manage in that small space of the room for 3 days.

Restaurant was also very noisy with lots of kids playing around the tables and no effort by the management to tackle the rush during breakfast hours.

Service is excellent and the staff is very courteous. There were good activities arranged by the hotel for the guests over the weekend - bonfire, tambola, theme dinner night. Appreciated.

Overall a good stay for a weekend.
Anshul sharma 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 7/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 7/7
  • Room 4/7
  • Food & Drink NA
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 3rd Aug 2017
Dear Sir,
Namaste!
Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Ooty – Elk Hill.
We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We are delighted to know that our resort’s serene location could add much joy to your stay. Thank you for commending our staff members and their hospitality. However, we are concerned of the issues shared by you. The Resort Management Team has been alerted of the same and corrective measures are being taken.
We hope you take this as a one-off incident and give us opportunity to pamper you again with our best in class hospitality.
Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Nanda kumar

  • Tourist
  • Nanda kumar
  • 7 photos
  • 2 Reviews
  •  11 readers
  • 7.0/7
  •  Posted Jul 3, 2017
Luxurious hotel rated 4 star which is far more better than its ratting. Nice parking facility and they provided a common room for driver to stay which is nice. Gardening around the hotel was awesome. I will definitely recommend this hotel all kind of customers. Especially the breakfast buffet include wide variety of tiifins
Nanda kumar 's rating on...
  • Destination NA
  • Location 7/7
  • Appearance NA
  • Front Office NA
  • Service 7/7
  • Room 7/7
  • Food & Drink NA
  • Activities NA
  • Was this review useful?
  • YES
  • Be the first to vote.
Posted By the Hotel ManagementOn 3rd Aug 2017
Dear Sir,
Namaste!
Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Ooty – Elk Hill.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.
At Sterling we believe that our guests deserve nothing but the best and Ooty – Elk Hill is no exception. We are glad you enjoyed the classic Sterling pampering and look forward to welcoming you again at our expansive range of resorts Pan India. We sincerely thank your kind words as they mean the world to us here at Sterling.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Have you stayed at Sterling Ooty Elk Hill?

Sign-up

Sterling Ooty Elk Hill belongs to


Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
Hotel
Welbeck Residency Hotel, Ooty
818 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Self Catering Villas
G V Residency, Ooty
23 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Hotel
Orchid Inn, Ooty
249 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Homestays
Marlborough House, Ooty
131 Reviews
SHOW PRICES
click to close
Check Availability & Price
SHOW PRICES
Check all Ooty hotels ›