IRCTC Railways Reservation Online India

Railway Reservation

Indian Railway reservation has never been easier. Travellers can book tickets online or at any Indian railway reservation centre across India. The reach of Indian railways is huge and it connects numerous stations across the country, making it the most economical and convenient option to travel.

Train reservation

Travellers can book tickets online or at any Railway reservation counter at railway stations and avail their train reservations. Railway stations across stations in India have different counters, which sell tickets for trains under quotas and classes. The reservation can be under quotas be it sleeper class, AC or the general compartment.

Online train reservation

The IRCTC website allows people to book tickets online conveniently. While booking, travellers are informed about the seat availability in a particular train and they can make their online travel reservation accordingly. Once a passenger has confirmed and reserved seat, they are fully entitled to the same from the starting point of the journey to their destination.

Reservation types

During the process of railway ticket booking, passengers might either get either waitlisted tickets, RAC or a confirmed ticket. A waitlisted ticket has a number attached to it and it might move up the order as and when other passengers travelling on the same train cancel their tickets. An RAC ticket is Reservation Against Cancellation. The ticket gives travellers the option to board the train but not a reserved berth.

Railway reservation enquiry

Travellers can go online and visit the Indian railways or IRCTC website and check their reservation status by using their PNR number.

  • Log in to Enter PNR number printed on the ticket and get details on reservation.
  • Log in to Enter PNR number printed on the ticket and get details on reservation.
  • Passengers can also check the reservation chart pasted on each coach of the train that contains details of passengers i.e. their name, age, coach number, seat number and status of reservation.

By Rahul Kumar