Bakkhali Ratings & Reviews

Manish Das

Manish Dasratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Bakkhali

We left on a Friday evening and stayed there till Saturday afternoon. It was a short but recharging weekend. With the Family. The beach is good but not for Bath, it very brackish . The breeze in during the night is good. You can just hire some chairs and sit there for hours the Hotel Dolphin was not that great but for the price and as it was a sudden plan did not have much options overall a good weekend spent.


Shinjan patra

Shinjan patraratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

9 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Bakkhali- A secluded beach without much attractions

We went to Bakkhali for just a 1 day trip. As we have travelled on 11th of Januarym, the big vessel which carries the vehicles on Hatani- Dowani Creek in Namkhana was on Gangasagar duty. So there was no way to reach Bakkhali via car or direct bus. Journey had to be parted on Namkhana. So we decided to go by train from Sealdah. We took the 7. 14 local to Namkhana which reached there at 10. 15, not a great experience though as you will come across hundreds of daily commuters with very unhygienic compartments compared to other Howrah & sealdah local sections. After reaching namkhana you have to reach the spot where a small boat will carry about 30 passengers over that famouse Creek. This will take 20 min via walking or 10 min via Van. Boats take 5 min to cross that narrow Creek. Then you have 2 board another van to reach the bus stand where Bakkhali bus starts which will take around 10 min. Local buses ply between Namkhana to Bakkhali which takes about 50 mins to travel only 24 km as they will atleast 50 stops in between. So we reach Bakkhali at around 11. 45 am & boarded lodge which was very nice & valued for 1900 odd bucks per night. Sightseeing options are very limited to Henry Island, Kargil beach, Benfish jetty & Jambu Island. The Bakkhali beach is quite swallow & not at all a good option for bathing. Hotels are very limited & this lodge is the only good option. 1 day tour is sufficient & if you really want to spend some lazy moments away from daily hustle, this can be your ideal destination.


Koushik Mondal

Koushik Mondalratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

6 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Beautiful beach with clean and less crowded

Great place to take a short break from your normal routine if you are staying in Kolkata. One of the best place in West Bengal. It's a very pleasant beach and less crowded, clean beach. If you wish to avoid the hustle and bustle of Digha beach, then yes this is the right place. Unlike Digha beach, which is too much crowded, Bakkhali beach is quiet and silent. Anybody can relax, enjoy as their wish.

  • Beautiful beach with clean and less crowded
  • Beautiful beach with clean and less crowded
  • Beautiful beach with clean and less crowded
  • Beautiful beach with clean and less crowded
    +1

Subir mazumder

Subir mazumder

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Bakkhali visit

It was an awesome nature tour for two days one night. We enjoyed the beach in the evening when it was high tide shopping then especially in the fish stalls with varieties of fresh delicious fishes available to relish.


Susamay Sarkar

Susamay Sarkarratingratingratingratingratingrating3.2/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Bakkhali - a place where nature meets your skin!

Bakkhali is seaside resort in Namkhana in Kakdwip subdivision of South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, India. It is located on one of the many deltaic islands spread across southern Bengal. It is also the nearest sea beach to Kolkata . The drive from Diamond Harbour is enjoyable as the road is congested till it cross Pailan. All the creeks have bridges over them, excepting the Doania Hatania creek at Namkhana. Here, you have to cross the creek by vessel or boat. Travel from Kolkata has become easier. The railway track has been extended to Namkhana. The local trains are available from Sealdah. It will be better if one can start early in the morning. A local train around 7. 15 am can be availed which reaches the Namkhana Station at around 10. 00 am. Regular bus services are also available at Namkhana. Make it a point to visit Henry's island. If you have a car, its around 10mins ride from Bakkhali. Entry fee is Rs 15. You can also use the rickshaw vans as well. There are 3 guest houses on Henry Island. If you wish you can stay there too. Visit the Benfish harbour and Frasergunj Beach on the way to Henry's Island . You can also visit the Crocodile Park and Mangrove forest just beside the Bakkhali Bus stop. The entry fee is Rs 10. A temple called Bishhalakshmi is at the end of the Bakkhali main beach and is worth seeing . . For food, you can try the various road side shacks for lunch and dinner. They come a little cheaper but the food can be sumptuous and tasty. If you buy sea fish and crab from outside and ask them to prepare it for you, they will do that happily


Rajat Kothary

Rajat Kotharyratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

7 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Cheapest and Closest Sea Beach to Kolkata

So Friday Evening I suddenly got so unnerved and tensed I could not think clearly. I knew I had to get out of the stress and the stress for a day or two. But the problem with the idea was getting tickets and booking hotels was going to be another stressful session. So suddenly while searching for places near Kolkata where we can go for relaxation Bakkhali came up quite often. I researched this place but could not get any specific information apart from that it took 5 hours to reach there . . So now I immediately went online and looked up the options for travelling. There was 3 ways of going there. First you could go by car and it takes 4-5 hours for the journey depending on the road and traffic condition. I did not have a car so that option was out. Secondly you can go by Bus. Buses go daily from Esplanade to Bakkhali. I went to the bus stand and I did not like the buses much which had less space between seats and to travel continuously for 5 hours in such a cramped style did not work for me Finally I settled for train since there were many timings for train and service was also good. Especially since I was going with my wife and 2 year old son I knew this would be a little bit relaxing. BUt for this I had to make sure to catch the early morning local train from Sealdah to Namkhana if I wanted to go in an empty train . The earliest we could go was the 5:12 AM local from Sealdah to Namkhana on Saturday Morning and so accordingly I left my house near New Market at 4:10 am and reached Sealdah at 4:25 am. When I went to the ticket counter I asked for a ticket to Namkhana and it was Rs 25 per person. The ticket guy was very nice and seeing my kid he advised me not to take the 5:12 am train but rather travel to Lakhikantapur on the Lakhikantapur Local which leaves Sealdah at 4:30 am and reaches Lakhikantapur in 2 hours. He said this will be a very empty train and would not get crowded in the stations ahead also. We did that and reached Lakhikantapur at 6:25 and waited for the Namkhana Local from Sealdah which reached there at 7 am wondering why did he tell us to travel again in the Namkhana Local from there. When we boarded the train we found it to be a lot less crowded and after talking to another person who had boarded the train in Sealdah who had to stand for a long time in a coach packed with people I understood that this was the easier option for us We reached Namkhana at 8:20 am and got a toto from outside the station which took Rs 7 and dropped us off in the Ghat. We had to catch a boat which took 2 minutes to cross the river and Rs 2 in total per person for crossing . Now after crossing the river usually buses were there for Bakkhali just on the other side but since a bridge is being made so they shifted the bus stand far and we had to take another rickshaw van which took Rs 7 again to go to the Bus Stand . Once at the bus stand we took the bus which took Rs 16. 50 per person to drop to Bakkhali. There are regular buses from there to Bakkhali every 10 minutes or so depending on the passenger volume. You can even go by Maruti Van near the bus stand where they take Rs 300-350 for Drop. Even Totos go who take same amount more or less depending on your negotiation skills . We reached Bakkhali in 45 minutes and got off in the Bus Stand. It was 9:40 am then. The weather was lovely and cloudy so we enjoyed the travel. Road also is very nice but small in width Once we got down in the stand we had breakfast of Luchi Chholar Dal 1 plate and Frooti Tetra Pack for Rs 35 just opp the stand. It was fresh and yummy . Then we started searching for hotels. I saw many hotels but most of them had very small rooms or unclean rooms. I finally settled on Chhuti Hotel which is just 5 minutes from the bus stand and got a good deal for an AC room at 1700. The room was huge and it had a balcony but view was of the road so nothing to see basically. AC was working fine and the entire room was clean and nice. Bathroom was also very nice and clean. Since we were pure Vegetarians they said we would not get much option outside so we ordered a Veg Meal and the manager promised us he would make it separately for us. The quantity of rice was generous and ghee was also poured in it generously. Paneer potato Subzi was also very tasty along with Fried Papad, Chutney and Chop. After this we left our bags in the room and headed for the beach which is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the view of the sea with very little people on it made all our efforts successful. My son had a very good time and enjoyed in the sea. We also hired 2 chairs for Rs 10 per chair per hour and it was wonderful sitting at the beach enjoying the fresh air. In the evening lot of Chaats counter open at the beach and you can have pucchkas, papri chaat, bhel etc Next Day Morning we also visited the zoo near the bus stand maintained by Forest Department but could not see a single crocodile but managed to see lots of deer sleeping in the shade. Nothing else is there. They charged Rs 10 per person for entry . After that we went on a sightseeing trip where we tied up with a Toto Driver and for Rs 500 he took us to 4 Points namely Henry's Point, Benfish, Frasergunj and Jambu Dwip and also dropped us off at Namkhana for our return journey. We skipped Henry's Point since he said there is nothing there to see and then he said he would take us to Benfish and Jambu Dwip. Basically he just takes you to Benfish where trawlers unload fish and there you get charged Rs 4 for entry per person. Once you go inside you have to talk and negotiate with a trawler who will take you to Jambu Dwip for a 1. 5 hour to 2 hour journey where they take you near Jambu Dwip but do not let you get off there since they said its not permitted by the government. Its a good experience to travel the seas and experience the choppy waves but do make sure you take a big trawler because the small ones are slow and you get tossed around in the waves a lot. We had gone during Jowar Time so we faced lot of choppy waves but enjoyed the journey. However my baby puked since he had just had his meal 1 hour before so make sure you get 2-3 hours of gap after food before the journey especially during Jowar or High Tide. We negotiated with a big trawler for Rs 1500 and since there were 13 of us so we just had to pay Rs 115 each . Also while going to Benfish he took us through a field full of huge Sunflowers and we had a happy session of photography there After all this we got into the toto went back to Namkhana and again crossed the river and took another toto and got off at the station and caught the 5:30 pm Sealdah Local which was a little crowded since that being Sunday but managed to reach Kolkata by 8:30 pm


Arup Das

Arup Dasratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

5 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Peaceful place

A very nice sea Beach near Kolkata in South 24 Parganas is here, yes it's Bakkhali . December & January is the best time for visiting here . It has a small market also near the beach . You will like to shop here . There is also a wild life sanctuary near the beach . You should visit there .


Varun Mallick

Varun Mallickratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Nice place to visit

This place is a good destination for people who loves to see sea beach By spending low money. It's 130 km away from Kolkata, but no express train is available from sealdah. Route:- Sealdah to numkhana(train) - bokkhali(bus). Enough hotels are there. Also some govt. Lodges are there. But main problem is no ATM facility was available when I visit last time on 14. Frezargaunge, sea beach. Wind mill(not working), small zoo, henry iland these are the most popular spot to watch. I wanna suggest you to keep money for buying some beautiful coral items. Vans are there. 35 rupees per mill was an interesting idea of footpaths hotel. But rate of fish is same as in kol. For drunkards, there are 2 'suri-khana'. Security problem is not a big problem but be careful. Depth of sea water is minimum. But go to the beach at 8 pm to enjoy magical sound of water and return hotel before 11pm. Lighting on road is only okay on main road but other short cut roads are little bit scary. Local people are very friendly. But be careful from some local goons at the night on street but no reason of fear. Now why are you waiting for a date go and enjoy the beauty of nature. Overall tour expenditure is around 300( except drunkards) per young guy, and else 500.


Arnab Patra

Arnab Patraratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

18 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A nice place to spend your time

This time I visited Bakkhali with 5 other member if my family on January 24 to January 26 of 2016. Its was chilling cold on the arrival day. The journey from Kolkata to Bakkhali was divided in 4 parts seal day to namkhana, namkhana to namkhana ferri ghat, have to cross the river with boats and then took bus to reach Bakkhali . The sea beach was amazing. There very few hotels there but crowd also less. Best place for weekend travel . Sea side evening fishery with family was most enjoyable. Dony forget to try nolen ghur if you are there at winter.


Biswajit Dutta

Biswajit Duttaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

One day trip-Bakkhali

It is a good place to visit for one or two days. There are many cheap hotel and sea beach. Food and restaurant are cheap. There are forest sanctuary, Henry island, fresser gaunge to visit. 200 km from Kolkata. Reach by bus or train. Approx 3. 5 to 4 hours

Video Reviews in Bakkhali

Bakkhali sea Beach

Bakkhali sea Beach  Video Review
02:04

Bakkhali Sea Beach

Saurashish Sinha
17th Dec 17