Berhampur Ratings & Reviews

Ram Tripathy

Ram Tripathyratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 5 years ago

Tara Tarini the adi shakti peeth & Tantra Peeth

This is one of the oldest pilgrimage place of mother goddess and amongst the four major ancient Adi Shakti centers in India.
The mythological texts recognize four major Shakti Pithas (centers), like Bimala (Puri, Odisha), Tara Tarini (Berhampur, Kamakshya (Guwhati, Assam) and Dakhina Kalika (Kolkata, WB), which originated from the limbs of the Corpse of Mata Sati in the Satya Yuga.
Rooted in the hoary past, mentioned in the Puranas, the Tantras and as the main seat of Tantric cult for thousands of years and center of Shakti worship since time immemorial, this hill Shrine is believed to be the Sthana Peetha (Breast Shrine of Mata Sati) and an important prehistoric religious center which bears an uninterrupted history of about 6000 years.
It is present at a distance of around 25 km from Berhampur city, Odisha, India.
Accommodation, transportation and every other facility available in Berhampur city. It is well connected by Train and Bus to other parts of India. Bhubaneswar & Visakhapatnam are near by air ports


Siddhartha Naik

Siddhartha Naikratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Innocense

People are true to word, trustworthy, but the place is 1st for crimes . Crimes never affect ordinary people since I spared my 4 yrs without any trouble . This place may be expensive for criminals only . Lot of humanity if you do good and fear no man.


Kunja bihari Mishra

Kunja bihari Mishraratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

42 reviewsPosted October 2015

Nice place to visit, try in Winter

We have been to there in summer but recommending you to go in winter as that will be better. The place is about 160 KMs from the nearest Airport and about 100s of trains pass through berhampur. Numbers of sightseeing places were there like Gopalpur, bhairabi, taratarini, etc. Food was delicious. You should try some local foods and specially sea foods there. That was more than expectation.


Sachan Prusty

Sachan Prustyratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted May 2015

The silk city

It is a very small but high density of crowded city . A developing city. It is famous for it's silk products. And also road side food . The egg roll from Calcutta rolls is best one and non veg from girja restaurant is also very good and my favorite sweets from Balaji mistam bhandar is quite awesome at very less price. Cost of living almost negligible in front of cities like Delhi and Mumbai The most famous sightseeing is Gopalpur Beach - Located 16 kms from the city, this is a. Quaint seaside town. It was once a busy seaport, and the old. Crumbling walls and pillars of the jetty have survived to this. Day. Sun, sand and sea make this is a popular tourist. Destination.


Sagar kumar Padhy

Sagar kumar Padhyratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

9 reviewsPosted July 2014

A developing city

This is my hometown, the city I love. Great city, coastal climate, famous for its architecture, achar, silk work, an important commercial centre of Odisha. Over ally an improving city, needs more attention for full development. Recently, it almost doubled as it was 10 years back. Hence it's a fast growing city with promising future for the new settlers. Life here is nice, as the prices of commodities are ordinary and one can get a basic standard of living. Also it supports temporary visitors also . . The visiting places nearby are Taratarini temple, Kalijai, Taptapani Hill & Hot Spring,


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Berhampur

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Manish

Manishratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

7 reviewsPosted May 2014

Avoid going there during summers

Berhampur is 166 km away from Bhubaneswar. This is last city of Orissa near to Andhra Pardesh. One Can go Gopal Pur Sea Beach for Enjoyment Purpose and there also a famous local temple my Tara Tarani. Avoid to go there in the rainy season and Summer as the temperataure remain around 40 Degree with Humid Conditions.


Pulak Kalita

Pulak Kalitaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

5 reviewsPosted March 2014

Good weekend

In Berhampur, I visited two beaches, one is Gopalpur and Sonpur . Both of them are very good, Gopalpur is quite famous, beach is clean, enjoyed the afternoon, the next day went to Sonpur beach, its superb, you can Bath and enjoy also well don't forget to eat some tasty and masala street foods in Berhampur- Chaat, Momos, Samsoa, Dosa, Ghughuni Over all I enjoyed a lot .


Pulak Kalita

Pulak Kalitaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

5 reviewsPosted March 2014

Food+Room service+affrodable price--->with out second thought go to Nandan International,

Let me tell you, I went berhampur for my friend's marriage, stayed in Hotel Nandan International . Tariff is affordable . Room quality is superb, room looks very clean and bright . Staff are very polite, Hospitality is at its best . I feel like I am in home . Over all experience is excellent then I will come to the Restaurant, I had dinner on my last day(as I came for marriage :) ). I asked them what is the best dish in this restaurant, they told me 'Bali Prawn' . Believe me Guys, its the best Prawn starter I have ever had, starters are superb, in fact the main dishes are also good . I had the best dinner till date . The staff are very polite and humble, in fact the General Manager also asked my experience personally(i guess as it was not a busy day) In Berhampur, I visited two beaches, one is Gopalpur and Sonpur . Both of them are very good, Gopalpur is quite famous, beach is clean, enjoyed the afternoon, the next day went to Sonpur beach, its superb, you can Bath and enjoy also well don't forget to eat some tasty and masala street foods in Berhampur- Chaat, Momos, Samsoa, Dosa, Ghughuni Over all I enjoyed a lot

  • Beach
  • View of Beach
  • LightHouse

Debanjan Sahu

Debanjan Sahuratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted December 2012

Berhampur

Berhampur, nicknamed 'The Silk City', is a city located in the eastern coastline of Ganjam district of the Indian state of Orissa, about 160 kilometres (99 mi) south of the state capital, Bhubaneswar. It is also dubbed as 'The Dance City' of Orissa after Prince Dance Group and Harihar Das made the state famous in India's Got Talent television series. It is one of the oldest and largest city of Orissa. It is famous for its silk, its temples and its culture, etc. Berhampur is well known for its intricately designed silk sarees called Berhampuri patta, handloom cloth and jewellery shops. The city is served by the port, Gopalpur Port one of the Oldest Port of British India.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Gopalpur-on-Sea is a famous sea beach near the coast of Bay of Bengal and a tourist destination near Brahmapur. It is about 15 km by road from Brahmapur.Once a busy sea port, it is now a quiet place. The din and bustle of the temple towns is totally absent and one can really enjoy the roar of the waves and the breeze bustling through the palm tress. With an increase in the inflow of tourists from the late seventies, Gopalpur-on-sea saw a slow revival and is today one of the foremost beach resorts in India.

Activities & things to do: Berhampur is well known for its intricately designed silk sarees called Berhampuri patta, handloom cloth and jewellery shops.You can have lots of shopping out there.Night life in this town comes alive with some glitter and bustling shops around Annapurna Market, some market complexes down the market street and Ramlinga Tank, where people sit there and enjoy the evening. The streets around Goutam Cinema Hall are famous for street side food, though hygiene of the food can be questionable.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: By air - The nearest airport is at Bhubaneswar, 180 km from Gopalpur-on-sea. Bhubaneshwar is a one-hour flight from Kolkata.
By rail - The nearest railhead is Berhampur (16 km from Gopalpur-on-sea ) on the Kolkata-Chennai line. Berhampur is 608 km from Howrah and 1069 km from

  • Scenic beauty of Gopalpur-on-Sea all the way from the top of the light house

Pratap kumar Lingam

Pratap kumar Lingamratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted December 2012

visit

Berhampur is a very good destination during winter period.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Food is good and lot of varities are available

Activities & things to do: visiting goplapur beach , visiting chilika lake, Lord Jaganath puri

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: pls book your accomdation and train tickets in advance


Cheapest Flight Deal