Cherrapunjee Ratings & Reviews

Biswajit Deka

Biswajit Dekaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 11 months ago

A beautiful place

Cherrapunjee is a beautiful place with very humid atmosphere. Best place for outdoor camping, if you love rain than come to this place in any season. The whole Journey from Shillong to cherrapunjee is awesome. Road condition is good. Accommodation is available, specially there are lots of homestay facility in which you can enjoy the local culture.

  • A beautiful place
  • A beautiful place
  • A beautiful place
  • A beautiful place
    +1

Biswajit Deka

Biswajit Dekaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 11 months ago

Cherrapunjee

Cherrapunjee is beautiful place with very humid atmosphere. Best place for outdoor camping, if you love rain than come to this place in any season. The whole Journey from Shillong to cherrapunjee is awesome. Road condition is good. Accommodation is available, specially there are lots of homestay facility in which you can enjoy the local culture.

  • Cherrapunjee
  • Cherrapunjee
  • Cherrapunjee
  • Cherrapunjee
    +3

Nagendra Kushwah

Nagendra Kushwahratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

10 reviewsPosted 11 months ago

The Wettest Place On Earth-The Best AND Must One

Hello all, again Nagendra here with the mind blowing experience. I visited cherrapunji locally known as SOHRA also on 15 of Nov this year with my wife as I was dying to see the DOUBLE DECKER bridge since 3 yrs but the fruits riped this year. No one could imagine how he/she feels after watching the panoramic and serene views of cherrapunji. Whether it is undulated hills, mesmerizing UMIAM Lake, breathtaking views of BANGLADESH Plains, tranparancy of DAWKI and last but not the least in my term THE LIVING ROOT BRIDGES AND THE UNDEFINED BEAUTY OF DOUBLE DECKER BRIDGE all will leave you astonished as you will not find this dazzling beauty anywhere else on the Planet Earth. We stayed at Polo Orchid Resort in Cherrapunji for 3 days which I think is best at Sohra with superb luxury and stupendous services. On the very first day we visited The Living Root bridge which is nearby Mawlynnong-ASIA'S CLEANEST VILLAGE(one would definitely remain stunned after watching the **** gorgeous beauty of the Single living root bridge ... Tourists used to walk over the bridge while its green. Its amazing whereas in MAWLYNNONG the cleanliness and hygiene will make you delighted that the awards are given for perfection only. You can take photographs after wearing their local attire which is KHASI CULTURE for which they charge 100 Rs, after taking the glimpses of village if you feel hungry can have lunch too with the local dal, sabji and some non veg too. After having lunch we reached DAWKI which is famous for its transparent and glassy water you can simply see the depth of river while taking the boatride. Some part of this river flows in Bangladesh simply refreshing and nearby there is INDIA-BANGLADESH BORDER we saw it and believe me the POLICE persons near the border are **** decent and polite makes you comfortable. )On the second day we made a trek to Double Decker Bridge and indeed you will be forced to think that it should be declared as the ninth WONDER OF THE WORLD, trekking is tough as you have to cross 3000 steps single diddly mostly downwards and two hanging bridges one of which will definitely give goose bumps but after seeing the Miraculous DOUBLE DECKER BRIDGE your tireness will be totally wiped off and you will feel smasher, on the way to DOUBLE DECKER local people use to sell snacks like biscuits, pineapple bites you will get in whole SOHRA, mineral water and cold drinks but remember one thing carry your lunch because you wont get that. One will undoubtedly feel worth coming here and hats off to some over aged couples around in their mid 80's who managed to reach the bridge with sharp intensity and on the last day while going to Shillong we went to MAWSMAI CAVES, NOHKALIKAI FALLS(MAWSMAI CAVES are a major crowdpuller in SOHRA which leaves tourists spellbound. These are limestone caves and very distinct as they are lit enough for the tourists so that they could enjoy the formations in awe and coming to NOHKALIKAI FALLS- it is magnificent as it is the tallest plunge waterfall in INDIA and the main thing about this is that below the waterfall there has formed a plunge pool with really unusual green colored water.
Vegetarians got many dishes local and north indian as well but for the non veg lovers you will surely get beyond your expectations. Main attractions are DOUBLE DECKER BRIDGE, DAWKI, INDIA BANGLADESH BORDER, MAYLYNNONG, LIVING ROOT BRIDGE, NOHKALIKAI FALLS, MAWSMAI CAVES which can be covered perfectly in 3 days. Do carry umbrella or raincoat, umbrella you will need round the year and raincoat is must for the season from april to august. Thanks to Polo Orchid Resort who provided us a Sweet umbrella as a welcome gift it really helped a lot. Ticket for every attraction and parking charges are nominal so don't worry. Nobody wants to leave the Heaven'THE SCOTLAND OF EAST' but afterall we are tourists and certainly have to return to the origin. At last I guarantee all that after visiting CHERRAPUNJEE you will undoubtedly amazed. Thanks CHERRAPUNJEE. I will be back again.

  • The Wettest Place On Earth-The Best AND Must One
  • The Wettest Place On Earth-The Best AND Must One
  • The Wettest Place On Earth-The Best AND Must One
  • The Wettest Place On Earth-The Best AND Must One
    +1

Vishal gupta

Vishal gupta

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

What to say or not. The total experience was as such like we were in the heaven.

We enjoyed the scenic landscape, tallest plunge waterfall Nohkalikai, Arwah (A place with scenic road that takes to a beautiful fall and after then to Cave), Enjoyed Double decker lived root bridge and what to say about Umiam lake at Dowki near Bangladesh border.


Deepak acharya

Deepak acharya

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Why Cherrapunjee?

My romance with Cherrapunjee was beyond my expectation. It was rainy season when I landed in Cherrapunjee, but during my 2 days stay I did not see a single drop of rain in Cherrapunjee. And what I did in this place? Pure relaxation and trekking. I managed to reach world famous Double Decker Living Root Bridge following a 2-1/2 trekking. The experience was exhilarating. It was truly a slice of paradise. Here I found rain. So make sure you take a rain cheater and water bottle along with you. You can cover this trek without a guide.


Arnav Mathur

Arnav Mathurratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

78 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

The city that is always WET

The town of Cherrapunji, locally known as Sohra, has been declared as one of the wettest places in the world and boasts of some mind-blowing, untamed natural surroundings. From the world famous Noh Ka Likai falls, Seven Sisters falls, and the double decker living Root Bridge, the town has it all. Moreover, Meghalaya is an upcoming adventure destination for caving enthusiasts, and one can get first-hand experience of traversing through the 200 m limestone caves (Mawsmai Caves), right near Cherrapunji.


Vidyut Maurya

Vidyut Mauryaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

116 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

House of rain

Cherrapunji is one of the best tourist destination in India. It is 60 km away from Shillong the capital of Meghalya. Running on road towards cherrapinjee in taxi of Wanky was a great experience. You can stay some days in cherrapunjee to enjoy the beauty of lakes and nature. Can go all the year.


Rajveer Singh

Rajveer Singhratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

15 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

A good place to visit

Eco park is one of the beautiful site to visit in Cherrapunjee. A large 'Eco Park' established by the Meghalaya government in the plateau, which hosts several hybrid and indigenous orchids in the Greenhouse donated by Shillong Agricultural Society. Also the Eco Park offers breathtaking view of distant Sylhet Plains of neighbouring Bangladesh. There is a stream inside the park and one has to cross a bridge to get near the edge of the canyon. The scenic beauty from the edge is awe inspiring. The Nohsngithiang Falls originate from the southern edge of the park.

Cherrapunji also called Sohra, Cherrapunjee and Cherrapunji, is a town in East Khasi Hills district in the Indian state of Meghalaya. It is credited as being the wettest place on Earth. However, nearby Mawsynram has more rainfall nowadays, and both are surpassed by Lloro, Colombia. Today, climatic changes have edged Cherrapunji out of the topmost 'wet' slot, but it still retains its pristine beauty, its unusual facets, the perpetual clouds, and the perpetual mists. Appropriately, Cherrapunji lies in the heart of the State of Meghalaya-the abode of clouds. It is the traditional capital of a hima which is a Khasi tribal chieftainship constituting a petty state known as Sohra or Churra. High above misty valleys and foaming rivers, ensconced in swirling clouds and perched on an escarpment, lies Cherrapunji (4, 500 feet).


Avik narayan Chatterjee

Avik narayan Chatterjeeratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

27 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

The dream place

It takes about one and a half to two hours to travel along the beautiful mountains and reach the former wettest town in India, Cherrapunjee from Shillong. Taxis are available in plenty for a day trip to Cherrapunjee which is about 54 km from Shillong. Just after leaving Shillong the tourist spot of elephant falls separates the way to Cherrapunjee and Mawsynram. On the way to Shillong there are a few viewpoints to provide some romantic scenes to the nature lovers.

Once in Cherrapunjee the first spot to visit is the Noh-ka-likai falls. It's truly worth seeing the falls from a height. Next spots of interest are the seven sisters falls which is a treat for the eyes. Just a few minutes away from it is the eco-park. The main attraction of Cherrapunjee is the mawsmai cave.

It takes around an hour to complete the entire thrilling experience of the cave. And lastly at the end of the days tour the double floored living root bridge is something one won't want to miss. There is enough food available in most of the spots and the best time to visit is during summer when the state of Meghalaya has already started receiving rainfall but it has not reached its extent.


C.s. manish Dasgupta

C.s. manish Dasguptaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

101 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

A good place to visit

We went to explore Cherrapunjee from Shillong. Start as early as possible as you have to cover approx 150-160 km depending upon the other sightseeing options which you want to see. We went to see ramaKrishna mission, eco park, Nokkari falls, Seven sister falls etc.

Video Reviews in Cherrapunjee

Big and Awesome

Big and Awesome  Video Review

Monolith Park

Saurav Mantra
4th Jun 18

One evil giant's belonging

One evil giant's belonging  Video Review

Ka Khoh Ramhah

Aiban Lyngdoh
4th Jun 18

Additional features of monolith park

Additional features of monolith park  Video Review

Monolith Park

Aiban Lyngdoh
3rd Jun 18

History teller

History teller  Video Review

Cherrapunji Ramkrishna Mission

Saurav Mantra
31st May 18

Nice View point

Nice View point  Video Review

Nohkalikai Waterfalls

Saurav Mantra
31st May 18

A Land of Breath-Taking and Exotic People

A Land of Breath-Taking and Exotic People  Video Review

Nohkalikai Waterfalls

Rikukoch
31st May 18

Small beach for having fun

Small beach for having fun  Video Review

Sohra(Cherrapunjee)

Akash Thapa
30th May 18

Beautiful place

Beautiful place  Video Review

Dainthlen Waterfalls

Akash Thapa
30th May 18

Beautiful!

Beautiful!  Video Review

Wahkaba Falls

Akash Thapa
30th May 18

Nature Architecture

Nature Architecture  Video Review

Garden Of Caves-Laitmawsiang

Akash Thapa
30th May 18