Darjeeling Ratings & Reviews

Avinash gupta

Avinash guptaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 6 months ago

Every one must visit Darjeeling once in lifetime

Mesmerizing town located entirely on hills, stunning view of Himalayan snow laden mountains in backdrop! You will feel as if you are living in the sky, above the clouds! You can buy great woolen cloths at low price. Cool weather and clean air. But lots of traffic during peak season.

  • Every one must visit Darjeeling once in lifetime
  • Every one must visit Darjeeling once in lifetime
  • Every one must visit Darjeeling once in lifetime
  • Every one must visit Darjeeling once in lifetime
    +8

Pamela sarkar

Pamela sarkarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 6 months ago

Queen of Hills Darjeeling

From my Childhood, its like 15 times that I have visited Darjeeling, even I went to Darjeeling in my honeymoon and like after 11 years again visited Darjeeling recently and thankfully I wasn't disappointed at all . . The weather in Darjeeling was almost perfect. Yes May June is not the time when you can see Kanchenjunga from Darjeeling as its almost cloudy every day. But experiencing the slight drizzle and the moderatelt low temperature is perfect enough to make you forget the intolerable heat and humidity of the Plain Lands. The Darjeeling Mail from Kolkata was over booked and I boarded the train with family and friends in RAC and some confirmed seats. The return process was more critical with friends not getting RAC tickets also but the TT didn't even pick on that as we had 3 confirmed berths and almost two to three people in every coup were travelling like this as this is a peak season to school holidays and summer vacations. Due to a rally at Kalimpong by our Chief Minister, there was a rush and unavailability of SUVs in the hills. But thanks to Make My Trip, we got hold of a great Innova with a very accommodating driver at about a price of Rs6000 to travel to Darjeeling from NJP station. It was hot and humid in NJP. The weather changed when we started getting uphill and neared Kurseong. We took a break to have our lunch at Kurseong. After having hot Soups and Momos we headed towards Darjeeling. We were staying in Sinclair's Darjeeling which is approximately 15 minutes walking distance till Mall with a steep uphill climb while reaching the hotel. The hotel has been artistically designed with Vintage and contemporary touch together. We were extremely happy with the hotel rooms, services, food quality and breakfast and lounge too. What irked was the steep uphill walk only and that the Darjeeling Mall is a bit far away but nothing that can't be achieved by a little walking. We walked to the Mall, had lunch at Glenarys, taken street food like grilled chicken and momo and pasta and noodles, shopped shawls and caps and enjoyed softie too for two days. One day we opted for the 7 points for which the hotel arranged a sumo at 1600 bucks in total. This included the Peace Buddha, The Japanese Temple, the Zoo, the tea gardens, the Ten zing Norgay Rock. The rock garden which has beautiful gardens and set up and waterfalls weren't included in that package and its a separate one. Due to a shortage of time we missed it out. Horse riding is a must for kids on Mall. The Pork and Chicken Platter with coffee are must in Keventers. The ambience of Glenarys with open air and music and food felt soothing. The food was okayish nothing OTT. The tea garden is not a tea estate visit but there's a stop from where you need to walk downhill and you will see tea gardens on both the sides. We preferred to enjoy from top of it. We enjoyed the tea in a stall along with hot chicken momo. They were selling tea packets too at affordable ranges along with caps, mufflers, spices, kesar and many more stuff. It was cloudy so couldn't see kanchenjunga but the drizzle and the clouds made it up for it. We watched sunset and got a glimpse of the peaks once from Keventers only. We didn't miss the Thupka too. We saw the classic steam engine toy train touring over batasha loop which we missed this time. So overall it was a pleasant and relaxed trip. I loved Darjeeling again.


Amitabh saxena

Amitabh saxenaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

2 reviewsPosted 6 months ago

Sikkim and Darjeeling - A comparison

Sikkim was just great in Cleaniness and hospitality as against Darjeeling which is very dirty and not so good in helping others. Likewise, Sikkim have great views to offer anyway you go - Nathula, Lachung, Pelling and Namchi (the places I visited). In comparison Darjeeling has only Tiger Point to offer which also show much on Cloudy days. A famous point is Ghoom Monastry. However much scenic in variety is Dali Monastry which tour guides do not frequent. Japanese Pagoda is just another good point to visit. A visit to tea garden is mandatory but due to private involvement it is much better planned than other excursions The negative points for both is the traffic in Gangtok and Darjeeling during Season. On narrow winding roads, both way traffic make traffic snarls and going across city make a laborious process. Need is for making one way traffic across these cities and strictly enforcing. At many points, where there was marking that it is a one way road, both side traffic was going on and there appeared no enforcement ( Darjeeling). In Gangtok, the redeeming point was Horn' throughout the city and strict enforcement by both - Drivers voluntarily and by traffic police If one wants to relax, not worthwhile to visit during peak season. Enjoying the mountains, the best season is during off season and off monsoon .


Navpreet arora

Navpreet aroraratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 6 months ago

Mesmerizing views and must try local food items.

I was on a solo trip to Darjeeling and Sikkim . Darjeeling has beautiful places to visit . Must try toy ride . Tiger hill . Moreover the people are wonderful and friendly . This place has honest people .

  • Mesmerizing views and must try local food items .
  • Mesmerizing views and must try local food items .
  • Mesmerizing views and must try local food items .
  • Mesmerizing views and must try local food items .
    +8

Anant Sinha

Anant Sinharatingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 6 months ago

2N3D Darjeeling trip

It was really a nice trip to Darjeeling. We reached NJP on 19th may and hired Dzire at 11k fro 3days. Cab drop us in Darjeeling at 4pm. We checked in to hotel Pushpak. Post refreshment we had walk in chowrasta and had some street foods. Next morning post breakfast we have had local sightseen to peace pagoda, museum, zoo, Nightingale park and finally to a must visit rock garden with exciting road journey. Returned to hotel by 6pm. Next morning day 3 we visited tiger hill at 4am in morning returned back to hotel at 6am post breakfast we visited Mahala temple and moved to mirik a wowsome sceneries mountain and weather finally njp and back to home


Avideep majumder

Avideep majumderratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 7 months ago

Relaxation at its level best.

It was a really good experience there in ivy castle. The location was great, the view from the window was awesome. 24 hours water supply . Warm water was also provided. As a whole service was also great.

  • Relaxation at its level best.
  • Relaxation at its level best.
  • Relaxation at its level best.

Arunav Singh

Arunav Singhratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

42 reviewsPosted 11 months ago

Beautiful Place

The entire city is located on hills so don't even think of driving by yourself there until you have a good amount of experience of hill driving and you do not freak out at blind turns because the driving of general public there is quite rash.
Okay so the things to do/see :
.
1. Beautiful mountains (you may be able to spot Kanchenjunga)
2. Picturesque Valleys
3. Go via Mirik so you can get to Nepal and buy some souvenir from there (cheap too)
4. Get a taste of local food momos and maggi)
5. Enjoy the toy train.
6. Party with friends :)


Ananya Anya

Ananya Anya

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Agricultural values

One of the key attraction of India is its identity for agricultural growth. Darjeeling beauty is its step wise tea plants growth and the hereditary of the tea plants and the awesome tea tasting experience.


Chandreyi Ghosh

Chandreyi Ghosh

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Darjeeling is surely the of hills

I visit Darjeeling once in a year. It is the most beautiful hill I have ever seen. It has its own charm .. Its own warmth.
One should go for some laidback walks for sure ..
One must carry woollen clothes .. And some necessary medicines.
Visit Darjeeling atleast once ..


Yojana reddy Yeddula

Yojana reddy Yeddularatingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

4 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Flower show is awesome. Every one should visit this place

The beautiful place that every one should visit. The beauty of the place will make us to fell in love with the place. The Himalayan mountaineering institute. Darjeeling zoo. We can view Kanchenjunga peak from tiger hill. The sun rise scene from tiger hill is amazing. The roads of the city are very neat and clean.

Video Reviews in Darjeeling

Very good view & amazing place

Very good view & amazing place  Video Review
01:41

Tiger Hill

Vilas Sawant
3rd Nov 17

A beautiful place to relax

A beautiful place to relax  Video Review
00:55

Shrubbery Nightingale Park

Sayan banerjee
15th May 16

Latpanchar forest, Darjeeling

Latpanchar forest, Darjeeling  Video Review
02:03

Latpanchar

Swakhar Pachal
9th Jan 18

A wood at the lap of Himalaya

A wood at the lap of Himalaya  Video Review
02:02

Latpanchar

Susanta Sadhukhan
9th Jan 18

Ahaldara, sunrise view point

Ahaldara, sunrise view point  Video Review
01:45

Ahal Dara View Point

Swakhar Pachal
9th Jan 18

Mahananda wild life Sanctuary

Mahananda wild life Sanctuary  Video Review
01:17

Latpanchar

Swakhar Pachal
9th Jan 18

Coronation Bridge

Coronation Bridge  Video Review
00:50

Coronation Bridge, Siliguri

Susanta Sadhukhan
8th Jan 18

A bridge near siliguri

A bridge near siliguri  Video Review
01:20

Coronation Bridge, Siliguri

Swakhar Pachal
9th Jan 18

Darjeeling mall 360 view. Popular as chourasta

Darjeeling mall 360 view. Popular as chourasta  Video Review
01:23

The Mall And Chowrasta

Iam Sbk
3rd Jan 18

Nipponjan Myohoji Buddhist temple

Nipponjan Myohoji Buddhist temple  Video Review
01:19

Peace Pagoda

Sarath Kumar
2nd Jan 18