Elephanta Caves Ratings & Reviews

Bernard Alvares

Bernard Alvaresratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

96 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Went for searchers of old history places it is okay

Went from gateway of India by boat 200 rs return. Ticket. T took me 1 & half hours to reach there after reaching over there climbing 120 steps after climbing 120 steps there a ticket counter 50 rs entery fee there is only broke stachu @ monkey all over pulling all food . . Of all people it is okay


Kushal Kamra

Kushal Kamraratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

37 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Good for a Day Tour

Nice place just an hour away from the coast of Mumbai. Got an eerie feeling with a flock of tourists specially on weekends.
Probably a recommended day trip !!!
Get a ferry from Gateway of India dock. Place to hangout with friends, get a look at old temples and some pretty mean caves out there.


Harsh Prasad

Harsh Prasadratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

9 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Nice Sightseeing

The elephanta caves is full of surprises and really adventures. You can reach there by taking ferries from Gateway of India. The caves is situated at the top of hills and you can go upstairs. Facilities are available for those who are unable to walk for more.


Rama shankar Lal

Rama shankar Lalratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Mumbai visit

It was a very pleasant trip for Mumbai by Go Air & return by Jet Air ways, and tickets were booked throuh 'Make My Trip'. I visited Elephanta caves during my stay in Mumbai. Really, it was a very good experience to reach the destination by motor boat from gate way of Mumbai. It takes just only an hour journey from gate way of India to Elephanta caves. On alighting from the boat, it was my journy by toy train available at sea shore and its journey was also very pleasant. In caves, there are statues of lord shankar and other goddeses engraved on the wall and its surrounding greenery, touching the sea water, is also very heart touching. It was my very nice and pleasant experience there.


Avik narayan Chatterjee

Avik narayan Chatterjeeratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

29 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

An art of sculpture

Elephanta caves is situated on the gharapuri island which one can reach by ferry from the gateway of India, Mumbai. It takes an hour ride in the boat to reach there. Tickets have to be bought from the gateway, ( rs180 up& down) and you need to give another rs 10 if you wanna seat on upper deck. The journey is very thrilling .. Also you get a beautiful view of the Taj and gateway from the sea. On reaching the island it's better to take a toy train ride(rs10/head up and down) to the entry point ... Because you need to climb a few steps before reaching the main entrance. Entry fees is Rs 60 per head for Indian nationals. Once in the cave you get a beautiful view of the sculpture of the prehistoric times .. The art depicted here is simply awesome .. There are 4 caves .. But the cave one and two are mainly for tourists' attraction .. Rests are generally not visited by people .. Overall one will surely enjoy a day out at the elephanta.

  • An art of sculpture
  • An art of sculpture
  • An art of sculpture
  • An art of sculpture
    +2

Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Elephanta Caves

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Harpreet Singh

Harpreet Singhratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

9 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Awesome Caves

I and my colleague were roaming near the Gateway Of India, as I got to know about the Elephanta Island and caves. I got extremely excited that I pulled my colleague with me to visit there. To reach to the Elephanta Island you need to take a Typical Boat ride from backside of the Gateway of India, they will charge around Rs. 120 per head for both side ride. It took 3. 5 hrs to reach while on boat and you will love the ride in the Arabian Sea. When you reach there there's a Toy Train which will take you to the Elephanta caves, it charge Rs. 20. But we walked on by foot to the Caves to enjoy the view. Its a UNESCO World Heritage Site, multiple shops selling handicrafts, momentos you will love to buy. The caves are beautifully crafted with shiva statues, Shiv-linga, Shiva Cave, Nataraja mudra statue, Trimurti and many more. There are monkeys all around the caves beware as they don't do anything but they snatch the food items you hold in your hands, it could be hurtful sometimes. As from a hectic work week you can enjoy your weekend over here from the pollution free environment surrounded by the jungle and Arabian Sea. You will love the experience just give a try.

  • Awesome Caves
  • Awesome Caves
  • Awesome Caves

Yogesh Dhandharia

Yogesh Dhandhariaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

39 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

The Magnificent Elephanta

We reached Gateway of India by 11:00 AM on Saturday Morning by Car and wasted our time in buying tickets from window outside the Security Gates, because the same were also sold from Gate-4 from where the Ferry for Caves were leaving. The Ticket costed us 180 for 5 years and above and 125 for below 5 years. We boarded the ferry and opted for upper deck by paying INR 10 extra per head but take my words that is not a good decision if you are travelling after 10:30 am because of the Heat. We enjoyed the Sea Side with Ferry guys selling packet snacks lays and kurkure and cold drinks which were life savers in the Heat . We reached the Caves by 12:30 PM and then bought a Mini train Ticket (This is a Return ticket) worth INR 10 per head (Ride is free only for Infants). We enjoyed the ride to the starting place of Elephanta. Don't be misguided starting means after that you need to Climb the stairs to Elephanta which are not normal but stairs of stone cut out in a Mountain. The climb is almost 3045 minutes depending on your speed and breaks. For Shoppers the complete way to the caves is full of Hawkers selling all kind of different artistic materials. There are good Restaurants for Foodies we enjoyed a good special Veg Thali at the Rajmahal Restaurant only a few steps from the lower steps . . We reached the caves and what a good relief we got from the scorching heat because the inside was cool and calm. We took photographs around the Caves. There were so many statues showing proof of the magnificent art work. Have shared a few for all . All the Visitors please be ware of Monkeys and do not carry food items because they will pounce on you and snatch it

  • A rock sculpture
  • A Shiv Ling in the cave
  • Entrance to the Caves
  • Nice view
    +1

Bhavesh Patel

Bhavesh Patelratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

4 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Elephanta Caves - Such a Great Place

T is such a nice place to visit such a nice amazing caves and atmosphere around so nice. It is just one day journey but you gotta go there by boat from gate way of India. Well nice place and enjoyable atmosphere use to be there and trees and island makes more beautiful to it I would say such a nice place to visit ;].


Ramesh Sooda

Ramesh Soodaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 5 years ago

Nice place!

Wonderful place. I like this place. Nice caves. I'll like boating. Its a really nice place for couples. Nice weather. Nice monkeys . . I spend wonderful time at elephant a. My are also going that place and my also told nice place very nice


Dhiraj Jangid

Dhiraj Jangidratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

9 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

A UNESCO World heritage site worth a visit

Elephanta caves are situated to the west of Mumbai harbour on Gharapuri island. It takes a journey of around one and a half hour to reach there from Gateway of India. For me that was the first time ever that I travelled through a ferry in the sea. The ocean water was trying to get as high as possible to Bath people and we were enjoying that too. Along the journey you get to see the Naval ships that are huge beyond our imagination. After reaching, you are surrounded by a greenery exactly as it is shown in the TV on an island. There are many shops run by the local folk which consist of various sculptures, handbags and all. After a walk of around 15 minutes you reach to the location. Here there are two types of caves: Hindu and Buddhist. The Hindu caves specifically depict Lord Shiva and His grandness. There are many statues of lord Shiva depicting different incidences in his life along with a Trimurti sculpture. The Buddhist caves are kind of incomplete. It is nice place to visit for history lovers and a perfect picnic spot for family.

Cheapest Flight Deal