Guruvayur Ratings & Reviews

Suresh

Suresh

95 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Land of faith

It was in 1989 tour we visited half india on nehru centenary. Star from Jamshedpur to Kanyakumari then bombay gujrat bet Dwarka and returns to Jamshedpur which took 40 days. Those photos were disintegrated and lost.


Senthil nathan S

Senthil nathan Sratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

1 reviewPosted 3 years ago

Tolerate the crowd

Went to Guruvayur for first time solid food feeding of grand son ... Went on April 14, a festival day and found much crowded ... Though in the outside crowds are regulated before the Deity there's no queue just as in Thirumala ... You have to get mangled before the Deity and could see the Deity only for seconds ..
On April 15, the function was over and returned ...
Request the Dewasam board authorities to regulate the crowd before the Deity and to segregate men and women ...


Indu Eby

Indu Ebyratingratingratingratingratingrating2.1/5

13 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Commercialised nostalgia

This used to be my 'kerala' when I grew up. We used to visit Kerala once a year and it always started with visiting the Guruvayur temple. Things were so beautiful back then. The queues were manageable, the elephants were inside the temple, the prasada was out of the world, the oottuchoru was blissful, so on so forth. I remember the walk from any of the lodges to the temple, filled with music and the smell of jasmine and sandalwood. Today, one has to wait atleast 2 hours outside the temple from where they will channel you to the Sreekovil where you realise there is a crowd already standing who has managed to gain special permissions from authorities! And then you have to literally, literally, push and hurt and curse each other to get a glimpse of the idol! Purpose destroyed there! What is the point of a pious journey when you might have hurt a kid, cursed at an elder and pushed aside a helpless someone? The lord Sreekrishna is much more beautiful in my imaginations, in my heart, where I now lay, sunbathed perhaps, not so tidy maybe - but not rude and unkind - at peace enough for a prayer that peace be restored!


Vinod Ponoth

Vinod Ponothratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

29 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Temple town

It is quite crowded these days, unlike many years ago. However there is a high positive energy and a visit to Guruvayoor is great experience. One should not miss the Mamiyoor Shiva Temple, the Elephant Sanctuary and above a life like statue of Guruvayoor Kesavan, the famous Elephant who departed on Guruvayoor Ekadasi!

  • Temple town
  • Temple town
  • Temple town
  • Temple town
    +2

Chandra sekhar p

Chandra sekhar pratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

3 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Guruvayur darsanam

Sir,
My name is p. Chandra sekhar. My trip Guruvayur lord sree krishna temple visit very good darsanam. And punctuality and tradition in temple is very good. My travel from Hyderabad to coimbathur by flight. And coimbatur to trissur and Guruvayur by. Bus. In Guruvayur I take room panchajanyam rest house and night stay in Guruvayur. In Guruvayur I visit elephent park and beach and temple. My travelling is very good.


Srijith nair

Srijith nairratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

4 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Great temple town

Life in Guruvayoor revolves around the Lord Srikrishna temple. It is a must visit place for those who cherish a temple town experience. The Srikrishna temple with its traditions, special poojas and festivities can provide a divine experience to devout visitors. It tends to be generally crowded and waiting in queue is mostly inevitable. If temple is in the list of places to visit, which should be, one must be relaxed and patient. This place is not for a hurried visitor. Staying overnight and seeing the procession at night is really worthwhile.


Radhakrishnan menon

Radhakrishnan menonratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

4 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Guruvayur - heaven on earth quite literally !!!

No need to talk about the importance of Guruvayur, everyone is quite familiar with it. The most celebrated temple in Kerala. Guruvayur has got everything only because of this temple. All the developments have occurred only because of the temple where devotees visit throughout the year. There is no season / off season here. Guruvayur holds the record for maximum accommodation facilities in a very small town.
The temple has got more than 60 elephants, all of them are kept well in a nearby 'Anakotta' with all facilities. Anakotta has got good tourism importance also. Lot of foreigners are visiting Guruvayur to see the elephants.


Nandakumar cherubalapathayapura

Nandakumar cherubalapathayapuraratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Temple town

This is a temple town with the historic temple of Lord Krishna. The town gets the name from the Lords name Guruvayoorappan. This town is scenic, clean, with lots of hotels to stay. This place is located in central Kerala. The beach is an hour's drive. Thrissur city is again an hour's drive. Lord Krishna's devotees must visit this place.


Vijay Potluri

Vijay Potluriratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

104 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Holy Lord Krishna Temple

Guruvayur is a nice destination to feel like pilgrimage destination. Here you can plan all Vishnu festivals along with many regular activities like Annaprasana (first meal for children), Deepotsavam (Lighting up lamps), Marriage season Marriages in Temple premises, auspicious period is Krishnashtami or Janmashthami.

It's easy to reach by air through Cochin airport by train 45 minutes from Thrissur junction, by road also well connected.

It's nice to stay in Guruvayur.

Hope you Enjoy.

  • Holy Lord Krishna Temple
  • Holy Lord Krishna Temple
  • Holy Lord Krishna Temple
  • Holy Lord Krishna Temple
    +1

Priyanka  Rao

Priyanka Raoratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

6 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Guruvayur - the abode of lord Krishna

One of the very few places in India where you see child krishna or gopala krishna in this playful and joyous form of lord Sri Krishna. A place where you forget all hardships worries and pain with the blessings of lord Guruvayurappan.

The temple is majestic, lot of pujas from morning to night. Nirmalyam is one of the main worship sought by pilgrims. It's around 3 am and the last function of Siveli is at 8.30 PM and continues till 10 PM with 3 elephants and much pomp and colours daily.

A good place of religious importance.

Video Reviews in Guruvayur

Great temple

Great temple  Video Review
00:29

Guruvayur Temple

Madhu Resh
29th Nov 17

Outside of the church

Outside of the church  Video Review
00:45

Palayur Church

Reety Arora
4th Dec 15