Kalpa Ratings & Reviews

Ashish Agarwal

Ashish Agarwal

8 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Heaven on the earth

Perfect destination for couples. Snow covered mountains, perfect cold climate, beautiful scene on sunrise ans sunset, beautiful arcitecture, what else to say. Must go place


Akshaya Patil

Akshaya Patilratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

67 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Unexplored gem of Himachal Pradesh

Nestled among the tall mountain ranges of Himalaya, a gem not yet known to the touristy circuit of india- THE MIGHTY KINNAUR KAILASH. It is one of the hidden gems of Himachal Pradesh. Kalpa offers some of breathtaking views of the amazing Kinnaur Kailash. Mount Kinnaur Kailash is abode to the great almighty Shiv and parvati and as the legend says the Shiva linga on the Kinnaur Kailash keep changing colours multiple time in the whole day. Let me say it was my bad luck that I could not experience this beautiful phenomenon as I reached in the evening at around 5 and left early in the morning. The whole duration of my stay at Kinnaur Kailash was wrapped up in the blankets of clouds and only while leaving we had a small glimpse of the Shiv linga.

Kalpa is blessed with some amazing natural beauty and a charismatic charm that can melt even a stubborn heart. Though I am an ardent traveler, this place has cast an unbreakable spell on me which is pulling me back towards it. I am sure to go back and do a trek to kinnaur Kailash. Here I stayed with THE MONK kalpa and the owner of this place Mukeshji has offered me assistance in doing so. If you visit Kalpa you should surely meet Mukeshji, he is very nice person and can give lot of information of Kalpa being a local of this place. I heard about a beautiful place named Roghi from these people and it is just a 4 km trek from Kalpa. You can even reach this place by car but exploring it on foot has its own charm. To explore Kalpa you atleast need to spend two nights in Kalpa.



I travelled to Kalpa from sangla it is almost a 4 hours journey. Even if you come directly from Shimla or Kufri it will take around 8-9 hrs. It is long and hectic journey but the changing landscape and mesmerizing natural beauty keeps your mind occupied and you hardly feel tired. I mostly spent my time sitting in the courtyard of the hotel soaking in the beauty of nature. It is sheer experience of bliss and solitude. On the way to Kalpa just short of 2-4 km you visit the town of Reckong peo. Reckong peo has a small market where you can indulge in some shopping spree. Reckong peo is the headquarters of Kinnaur Kailash and a film Highway has some shots of this place.

To travel to this place only option is to take a road trip. As I have mentioned earlier it will take 9 hrs to reach this place. HPTC buses ply on this route, you can also book a Volvo from delhi which comes till Rampur and from there you can take another bus to kalpa. Best way to explore this place is hire a cab, it gives you the freedom to take pitstop as and when you desire and enjoy the beauty of this place in a better way. Best way to explore the beauty of kalpa is to explore the town on foot.

  • Unexplored gem of Himachal Pradesh
  • Unexplored gem of Himachal Pradesh
  • Unexplored gem of Himachal Pradesh
  • Unexplored gem of Himachal Pradesh
    +7

Jay Gandhi

Jay Gandhiratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

21 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A less explored but beautiful getaway

Kalpa is a small village located in reckong peo district of himachal pradesh which is at the border of tibet. It is 240 kms from Shimla which is almost same as Manali so one can't say its too far from Shimla . . It is a place for those seeking peace and serenity. It is so clean and beautiful that one might want to stay there for whole life. Its famous for apple orchards which one can see everywhere in the village. There is a monastery in the middle of the village which is too perfectly located that one can easily see Kinnaur Kailash mountain range while sitting there. I used to spend evening there just by sitting and enjoying the cool whether and watching the snow capped mountains. One can visit Roghi village, Reckong Peo, Sangla that is aroung 50 kms from Kalpa, Kamru fort, Suicide point and Chitkul that is the last village of India. Don't forget to keep a jacket per person as you will need them anytime and umbrellas too because it can rain anytime without any warning.


Mainak Guha

Mainak Guharatingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

4 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Magnificent Place to visit

Kalpa is a wonderful place to be, you can take leisure walks through the bending roads and just enjoy the nature. The views from here are wonderful, with Kinnaur Kailash shiv ling peak visible as red from far. There are plenty of hotels and guesthouses to stay, and also a local market. We stayed at the circuit house of PWD, which is the best accommodation option here.

  • Magnificent Place to visit

Souvik Chakraborty

Souvik Chakrabortyratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

The Perfect place to find some peace

I've visited there last year on the month of May, 2015 . It was one of the best places, I've ever visited. We stayed on Hotel Aucktong. The hotel is quite good. You will get a very beautiful view of Kailash peak from your room and it was quite amazing . . The weather was Chilly and Pleasant. The overall environment was very quite and very beautiful. The best part is you can roam around on the nearby road by night and you won't feel any problems. The place was quite safe. But you must acquire your own cab se you might face trouble. You can go to other places from there like Nako Lake and then Kaza. The entire Himachal Pradesh is beautiful and Kalpa is certainly one of them.


Ayan Chakraborty

Ayan Chakrabortyratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

5 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Marvellous tourist spot

Kalpa is one of the greatest hill station in India. It is situated at Himachal Pradesh. The scenic view is too much hot. If you go there in between September and October, you must see apples which are still hanging on the trees. There are lots of Golden Apple which is rear to see. The local people are called 'Kinnari' which means they are the inherited by God and Goddess.

  • Marvellous tourist spot
  • Marvellous tourist spot
  • Marvellous tourist spot
  • Marvellous tourist spot
    +7

Indranath Banerjee

Indranath Banerjeeratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

8 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Kalpa whitewashed

Kalpa, the mystique hill station in the Kinnaur district of Himachal, is famous for its unique 'Golden' apple. What a taste! But I experienced Kalpa covered in a white-view. I visited Kalpa during my Himachal tour on October, 2004 along with a group. We started from Sarahan in late morning and it was raining heavily. When the rain ceased, we saw a beautiful rainbow. We reached Reckong-Pio in the evening and after a little break, started towards Kalpa. As our bus climbing through the hilly road, we could see snow on the hills and road around us. Reached Kalpa at almost 11 pm and found the road covered under 2-inch ice and the wheels of the bus drawing patterns on it. Next morning, I became spell-bound at the picturesque view of Kalpa. All the roads, apple trees, roof-top, top of the cars were covered by snow. Amazing view, everyone should give Kalpa a try.


Indranath Banerjee

Indranath Banerjeeratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

8 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Kalpa whitewashed

Kalpa, the mystique hill station in the Kinnaur district of Himachal, is famous for its unique 'Golden' apple. What a taste! But I experienced Kalpa covered in a white-view. I visited Kalpa during my Himachal tour on October, 2004 along with a group. We started from Sarahan in late morning and it was raining heavily. When the rain ceased, we saw a beautiful rainbow. We reached Reckong-Pio in the evening and after a little break, started towards Kalpa. As our bus climbing through the hilly road, we could see snow on the hills and road around us. Reached Kalpa at almost 11 pm and found the road covered under 2-inch ice and the wheels of the bus drawing patterns on it. Next morning, I became spell-bound at the picturesque view of Kalpa. All the roads, apple trees, roof-top, top of the cars were covered by snow. Amazing view, everyone should give Kalpa a try.


Indranath Banerjee

Indranath Banerjeeratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

8 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

It was an amazing place

Kalpa, the mystique hill station in the Kinnaur district of Himachal, is famous for its unique 'Golden' apple. What a taste! But I experienced Kalpa covered in a white-view. I visited Kalpa during my Himachal tour on October, 2004 along with a group. We started from Sarahan in late morning and it was raining heavily. When the rain ceased, we saw a beautiful rainbow. We reached Reckong-Pio in the evening and after a little break, started towards Kalpa. As our bus climbing through the hilly road, we could see snow on the hills and road around us. Reached Kalpa at almost 11 pm and found the road covered under 2-inch ice and the wheels of the bus drawing patterns on it. Next morning, I became spell-bound at the picturesque view of Kalpa. All the roads, apple trees, roof-top, top of the cars were covered by snow. Amazing view, everyone should give Kalpa a try.


Aayush Wankhede

Aayush Wankhederatingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Kalpa : A place for peace

It is one of the best places to roam around. If you are interested in photography, then this is the place where you can pick your camera up and roam for whole day capturing beautiful sceneries and people out here. Apple farms are most common here and its one of the most cheap place to buy apple crates in India. You can directly buy it from the farmers. You can reach this place either by taxi or bus, no train and air facilities are available. There's a small guest house in front of bus stand, its cheap and provides good food. I would recommend to travel this place either alone or with friends. People will keep stalking if couples will go and family will get bored because there are not much tourist places. Its just the scene and the climate one can enjoy and obviously the heights.

  • Kalpa : A place for peace
  • Kalpa : A place for peace
  • Kalpa : A place for peace
  • Kalpa : A place for peace
    +1

Video Reviews in Kalpa

Very nice place, I am so lucky to here

Very nice place, I am so lucky to here  Video Review
00:34

Kothi

Akshra
4th Jan 18

Beautiful location

Beautiful location  Video Review
00:32

Kothi

Bharti Arora
28th Oct 17