Kanchipuram Ratings & Reviews

Feline

Felineratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

9 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Historic temple city

We drove to Kanchipuram from Bangalore. Tour was temple visits only. Took us around 5. 5 hours with a break for b/f. Took the Krishnagiri, Vellore route. Left Bangalore at 5:30 am, stopped at Sai Sangeet for b/f (decent). While coming back stopped at Murugan idli for lunch (decent). Roads are excellent and spent a total of Rs 340 on toll (one way).

Heard private vehicles from outside state are followed and asked to visit their silk saree shops, by agents. Experienced it when I slowed down the car or was at a signal. Even autos out there will tell you that they know a good silk saree shop, as they will get some % from shop owner for getting customers. Be very careful as the prices are no less cheap and there is always a high chances of you getting cheated. They sell at the same rate as you get in Bangalore. Better to visit Arani (near Vellore) if you have contacts to buy rather than Kanchipuram.

There are only 4 main temples which is a must visit. Kamakshi Amman temple, Ekambareswarar temple, Kailasnathar temple and Vardharaja Primal temple. Others can be visited if you have time. Others which we visited were Ulagalantha primal temple and Kachabeswarar temple (both near Kamakshi Amman temple). Also try to visit Chitragupta temple (only 2 temples exists in India, one in Kanchi and the other in Orissa). This is near Ulagalantha temple. Other temples visited were Ashtabujam temple and Sonnavanam temple (both near Vardharaja temple). One more visited was Vaikunda primal temple (near hotel tamil nadu). Total of 10 temples visited. Suggest to keep 2 days for the visit to Kanchi. Temples are closed between 12 pm to 4 pm. So plan your trip accordingly.

Since week day, there was no rush in temple. Kamakshi Amman, Ekambareswarar and Vardharaja Primal temple (golden lizard) need atleast 1 hour and Kailasnathar temple needs around 30-45 min. Rest all can be covered in 20-30 min. All temples are clean. All of them are either Shiva or Vishnu temples. Parking can be a challenge but not very difficult at main temples. Other smaller temples have narrow roads.

Sarvana Bhavan and A2B are available in the heart of the city. Those enjoying South indian meals and south indian b/f will have no problem in the city. People are very helpful and make an effort to guide you in route or other tips regarding temple visits. Went in Sep, weather was hot. Stayed at Hotel Tamil nadu (average hotel with basics Complimentary b/f and lunch/dinner... Which was decent). Overall a very good trip and good memories to cherish for a long time to come.

Hope my review helps.


Paresh nissar

Paresh nissarratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

10 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Temple City

A religious city with temples and temples in every lane. All the temples are huge, grand and very ancient. This city will satusfy all your spiritual needs.
It is also known as the silk city with some very good saree shops where you get the choicest of silk and cotton sarees. A must visit for all saree loving ladies.


Mittal sanjay

Mittal sanjayratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

5 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

City of Silk

Kanchipuram is famous for its temples and silk. Many temples are here dedicated to lord Shiva and Vishnu. All are very ancient and holly temples. Kanchipuram is silk hub also. Here are many shops and handlooms for silk sarees. Ranging from 200 to 2000 per saree. Kanchipuram is 70 km away from Chennai. It is very well connected via buses and trains. From Chennai its take a around 2 hours for journey. Bus and trains fare is very nominal 30- 50 rupees per head only. Chennai park railway station is starting station for Kanchipuram. Its near to Chennai central station. We enjoy our journey by purchasing silk sarees.


Narasingh rao kavuru

Narasingh rao kavururatingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

4 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Beautiful temples

There are three major temples we visited here. 1. Vishnu Kanchi where we find Lord Venketeswar and goddess. Her we can also see the golden and silver lizard. People have a belief that if one touches the evil of lizards fall on you gets cleansed. The other temple is of Lord Shiva. Both the temples have huge corridors with architectural arches.
The Kanchi Kamakshi temple is prime and famous one here. It's one of the Shanthi peethams.


Manikandan meenakshi sundaram

Manikandan meenakshi sundaramratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

21 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Heritage/religious place

Kanchipuram also known as kanchi is a very old city with many centuries of history. It is a historical and religious place. Lot of hindu temples are there including the famous Kamakshi Amman temple, Ekambaraeshwara temple, Ulagalandar temple(108 divyadesam temple) and also Varadharaja swamy templ(108 divyadesham). Kanchi sankaracharya madam is also there in this city.
Sriperumpudhur is also close to Kanchipuram and you can visit Rajiv Gandhi memorial and also a famous primal temple there.
It is around 80 kilometers away from Chennai and well connected by bus/train.
Kanchi is also famous for the silk sarees and it is manufactured here. The travelers should be very careful about the brokers and duplicate sarees. Thorough analysis of the silk store and price should be done before purchasing.
Kanchi is the birth place of Arighar Anna - politician and former CM of tamilnadu.
About food, there are few good restaurant chains here -Hotel saravana bhavan/Adayar Anandha bhavan .. I had food from Saravana bhavan and the price and quality of food is good.


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Kanchipuram

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Suraj Sabat

Suraj Sabatratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

33 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Ride to City of Thousand Temples

If you are great devotee then this is the place to visit, where you can find temple in almost every street. But the must visit temples are Kailashnath, Ekambareshwar, Kamakshi Amman (there are two temples one is near to Chennai and another, in google map it shows as Kamatchi Amman, I visited the second one). Out of these three, the best one is Kailashnath temple which has some really good Sculpture, Sandstone and most importantly its less crowded unlike Ekambareshwar and Kamakshi Amman. If you already visited Konark Sun Temple, Odisha, don't compare it with Kailashnath temple, both are wise at their place. You can find lots of Saree shop near to Ekambareshwar temple, well I did not check the quality as I don't know how to. I also heard they serve different varieties of foods related to Idly and Dosa, and some restaurant, but did not got a chance to check out those as it was a single day- solo ride trip for me.

  • Ride to City of Thousand Temples
  • Ride to City of Thousand Temples
  • Ride to City of Thousand Temples
  • Ride to City of Thousand Temples
    +4

Preetam Mullur

Preetam Mullurratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

17 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Silk city and spiritual destination

Welcome to Kanchipuram the abode of silks in whole of south India. You will find 1 shop every 100mts. Most of the shops have their own weavers residence behind the shop itself. They stock amazing collection of pattus, langa pieces, dress materials etc . Any ladies delight. You can easily spend few hours hopping through shops . There are 3 main temples. Most prominent being kamakshi Amman, perumal temples The perumal temple has the golden and silver lizards believed to wipe off all your sins. The crowd is huge so plan to go here first . Next goto kamakshi Amman temple is pretty crowded. It figures in the list of top pilgrim places . Don't miss the thousand pillar temple which even though is dirty and shabby the carvings are excellent, intricate . Kanchi is a small city with hardly any good parking space so prefer to go around in autos . Kanchi is pretty humid and hot so avoid months of summer .


Aviral Mukherjee

Aviral Mukherjeeratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

13 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

A land of 1000 Temples

Yeah !! The caption for the city itself says so There are so many temples that you'll be roaming even 3 days and still not be able to see all of them. Not for people who can't take a break from their party life !!! It's the land of peace. You get the cheapest and the best of idli wada in small but type roadside vendor. Trust me it's yummm The auto walas take around 500 bucks for a day tour in which you will see numerous famous temples and yeah !!! Hub of kanjeevaram sarees you can buy them at the wholesale rate for your mom's and aunties Do visit Chennai for a beach experience. Local trains do run from Kanchipuram to Chennai . Enjoy !!

  • Temple
  • A pillar

Praveen Ramamurthi

Praveen Ramamurthiratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

7 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Temple city with a silky touch

Historical City of temples which is known around for the famous Kamakshi Amman temple. Also are the Ekambareshwarar and the Perumal temple in chinna Kanchipuram are a must visit . . Also called the Silk city, people throng the city for its irreplaceable quality of silk sarees and other silk based materials. Apart from the traditional designs, new age designs are also available Food is another good aspect of Kanchipuram. The idli Vada with Sambhar and Vada curry is a must try. Evening snacks like bondas and filter coffee is a definite Kovil idli or Kanchipuram idli available here will not be available anywhere else. Check it out.


Aravind Kumar

Aravind Kumarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 5 years ago

Silk and Temple City -Kanchipuram

Hi Every one: . . I visited Kanchipuram last month(07-Nov-2015 and 08-Nov-2015) for Buying silk Saree's for my sister and my wife. After purchase in Prakash Silks & Sarees. We plane to stay there and visit Kamachi temple, Ekambareswarar temple and Vallakottai Murugan temple. 07th morning we reach Kanchipuram around 10'o clock we complete our break fast at eat me hotel on Annai indira Gandi Salai near saravana bhavan after that we start shopping it take around 5 hours for lunch we visit my college friend hose in kavangarai street take small rest then we start shopping again 4'o clock up to 8 P. M it extend so dinner we visit mm hotel and book rooms and order our dinner after complete dinner we plane for movie so we visit Karthikeyan Theatre near bus stand we watch vethalam tamil movie ticket fare is reasonable 50 rupees for head. Next day morning we wake up at 7 A. M and visit Kanch Kamachi Amman Temple then Ekambareswarar Temple at 10. 30 A. M we back to hotel for break fast then we visit Kailasanathar Temple at last all temples are vary nice that all example of Pallavas architecture. Temples are vary clean and ****. Then we vacated hotel room. Start travel towards Chennai on the way we visit Vallakottai Murugan Temple and Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary both are must watch we reach Chennai around 9 P. M. How are all living in Chennai must plan Kanchipuram tour for two days and must visit this locations. If you have car you will not getting tired. We visited at winder season we recommend it is the correct season to visit.


Video Reviews in Kanchipuram

Lord Shiva Temple

Lord Shiva Temple  Video Review
02:04

Kachapeshwarar Temple

Tarunkumartarun Konchada
21st Dec 17

One of the important place to visit

One of the important place to visit  Video Review
01:04

Sri Kamakshi Amman Temple

Tarunkumartarun Konchada
21st Dec 17

Sri kamakshi Amman temple

Sri kamakshi Amman temple  Video Review
00:36

Sri Kamakshi Amman Temple

Ramakrishnamagatapalli
21st Dec 17

Very big temple, must visit during Guru Purnima

Very big temple, must visit during Guru Purnima  Video Review
01:08

Sri Kamakshi Amman Temple

Sonu Narayan
13th Jul 17

Nice place to remove our sins and add value

Nice place to remove our sins and add value  Video Review
00:49

Sri Kamakshi Amman Temple

Ramakrishnamagatapalli
21st Dec 17

Cheapest Flight Deal