Katra Ratings & Reviews

Pradeepta

Pradeeptaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

6 reviewsPosted 8 months ago

Katra visit

Katra is very nice holy place. It is so good visit - I would like to visit again and again. Food is not so good, too much spicy. But scenery is so good. Hotels need to improve. Sight seeing in Jammu is too good. There is a waterfall which is stiff and nice. Multiple good temples including 9 Durga temple.


Anand analagan

Anand analaganratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Shree Vaishno devi temple

I visited in month of Oct to temple which was the best time to see the temple.
Very pleasant and satisfactory, spiritual inside the temple.
Started from Delhi rajdhani and reached Jammu at 6am and started from Jammu to Katra at 6. 30 to 8. 30am.
Stayed in shree palace hotel. Keep everything in hotel itself including Mobile, leather belts, bags and shoes. All above not allowed inside temple. If you take this you have to stand 2 to 3 hrs in queue at cloak room.
Thanks and have a pleasant stay.


Prasantha tiwari

Prasantha tiwariratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

A reasonable Priced Holy Destination ...

Katra being a holy place. Is well connected via road and transpolar from delhi). The NH 44 is well built for road travelers .. And Jammu civil airport is the closest being around 49kms away from Katra. The weather remains around 40 degree C in summers but is quite comfortable around sep- nov and very cold in the monthes of dec to feb. Good hotels are also available in Katra. And on outskirts of the same .. Locals are available to carry foot massage for u at a reaonable price. Travel agents are available all round the Katra market who ca. Arrange a tour to different places in J&K. Overall its not very modernized but since a holy place .. A well planned tour will be good.


Pratibha goyal

Pratibha goyalratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Vaishno Devi temple darshan

What I loved the most about Katra, being a pure vegetarian had lots of option for meals and that too without onion & garlic. People are very courteous and friendly. Enjoyed hanging around in the evening and buying dry fruits. Weather was favorable & with the grace of my had a wonderful darshan without any difficulty.


Vidyasagar Mehta

Vidyasagar Mehtaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

96 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Jai mata di

Katra is know for mata vaishno devi shrine. It is the holy place for hindu religion. People from all over the country or international come to the holy shine. Its an hike of 15 km to hold shine cave. The hike has many steep slopes and average time taken for an hiker to reach the shine would be around 3 to 4 hrs. En-route the hike there are many pit stops for the Pilgrims to get some energy and rest. While on hike you will see people encouraging other people with jai mata di and some holy songs. Overall enjoyed and I was blessed with matas blessing


Sk bablani

Sk bablaniratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

5 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Visit to Katra

Journey from Delhi to Katra was uneventful, Barring the delay of 3 hours by Malwa express.
Enjoyed the nice stay at the IRCTC guest house at the station which has private and dormitory accommodation. Food lounge adjoining the guesthouse and also restaurant at the station serve good food.
Using the pick up and drop service of the guest house went to Darshan Deori and started the journey. From Ban Ganga tried to hire the ponies for faster and less tiring journey of 12 Kms till Bhavan from Banganga point of the journey. The pony owners against the notified rate of Rs. 700 wanted Rs. 900 and later on protesting were willing to charge Rs. 800/- for the 12 KM trip on the hills. There is no system of authority. The only authority seems to be jawans, who only talk loudly and are truly dominating and authoritative. Such a police force needs to learn from Delhi Police or CISF as to how to behave with civilians.
So travelled, on foot and found that all the facilities of the shrine mentioned on the route, saying that the raincoats are available against deposit of Rs. 300/- are only on paper. They do not have any stocks to give.
Food is fine and maintenance of cleanliness of route is also good. No maps are displayed on route for the benefit of the pilgrims/tourists. Local citizens native to Katra are nice people and I found them honest and sweet natured while talking.
Pony and Palki bearers shout due to congestion, as the roads are narrow at points, seeking space and may cause some accidents on pilgrims. Road needs to be widened further,
At Ardh Kwari point, the Battery car charges Rs. 300 per passenger ( a distance of about 6 Kms for going to Bhawan and is operated by Shrine board. This cart service is very erratic. Against a feet of about 20 cars which I counted at their garage, only 6 or so were operative that day. And they operated, only 5 trips The Shrine board has a very defective system of allocating or selling Battery car tickets. They give priority to their own known people and very few ticket are sold on counter even to old people and the ticket seller insists he will give once ticket, even to a couple where both persons are old above 65. On 2. 9. 2017 it rained and after standing in the queue for over 1 hour I failed to get the ticket which were given to 5 people or 6 max. And counter was closed saying it will open at 4. 30 pm. There was no space to sit. If I move out of queue to sit somewhere, there was no assurance that I will ever get a chance to buy a ticket as I would loose my appointed space in the queue .
However crowd management system at the Bhawan is excellent and arrangements are OK. The Shrine board bhojanalay have a limited menu and food is not available round the clock, where as the visitors are coming round the clock.
Overall experience was good, except that travel by pony/battery car was not good. If you are young and energetic better walk on way or climb the stairs. Whole uphill journey of 12 Kms takes about 5. 5 to 6 hours
I wish all the pilgrims best of journey and pray that Mata's Blessings shower on them.


Aniket Mishra

Aniket Mishraratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Mata vaishno devi

Hotel has a modern and new look & feel, with big, spacious rooms that gives cozy feel to the tired guests. Food is great and service is very prompt. Hotel staff is friendly and very supportive. We even got a complimentary pick and drop till Banganga. Overall a very memorable family stay, highly recommended for staying whenever you are visiting Vaishnodevi.


Neha Rajput

Neha Rajputratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Katra mata vaishno

Katra is the best holy place to visit. We need to travel 13 km by foot or we can book helicopter from viraaj travels. Best atmosphere. You can purchase prasad. You can also visit the near by holy places like baba dansal, ghar jitto, 9 devis, shivkhori. Also you can visit Patnitop 80km away from Katra. And railway station is just half km away from main Katra.


Aditya trivedi

Aditya trivediratingratingratingratingratingrating2.1/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Base station for my vaishno devi temple

Its base station for my vaishno devi temple yatra, pilgrims start their yatra from here, if you want to go on your foot you can start your yatra from this town on your foot, otherwise you have pony, palaki, or helicopter as options. You may find this town as religious town though its situated in foothills of himalyas but vaishno devi temple is situated at 5700 feet height.


Patelu33

Patelu33ratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Jay matadi, don't worry, sub ho jayega

I am from Gujarat start my journey from Ahmedabad by train our train reach at Jammu at evening 7:30 p. M from that we have we have hired we have a tab Tavera at cost rupees 1250 at there we have also book cover Yatra registration slip from Jammu within 211 half hour we have reached that Katra we already have book our hotel Ishan near bus stand Yatra parchi counter at post rupees 900 for non AC non deluxe room from Goibibo BF state that room is OK location is excellent service is very poor but in Vaishno Devi if you are come for religion me so not necessary for services at evening we have take lunch at punsari Punjab Dhaba Punjabis food but they only Sell Services there Hai price Disha not cleaned poor service secondary morning we have started journey to Mata Vaishno Devi Bhawan we have higher horse rupees 700 Tu Bhavan at there so many people are make service to horse baggage for travelling Ban Ganga to Bhavin at different course but all questar write down at everywhere from next to next sites the average rate of horse is 700 rs Bhavan and 250 rupees from bhavan 2 Bero Dave we have averaged spend rupees 1800 per person from Ban Ganga to Paro by road to Ban Ganga the journey take around 10 hours

Video Reviews in Katra

Good place to visit

Good place to visit  Video Review
01:15

Sanjichhat

Gaurav dhingra
8th Oct 17