Lava Ratings & Reviews

Tilottama paul

Tilottama paulratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 5 months ago

Lava

Sightseeing experience was good but the roads weren't good at all. Kolakham was a treat to the eyes the weather wasn't that good but the scenic beauty and the calmness of the places were out of words. Food and Shopping: Momos was always a first love and shopping wasn't that big a deal but overall it was a minimal enjoyment I'm shopping and food. Highlight of the trip: Kolakham and the trek to changey waterfall it was splendid


Suresh

Suresh

95 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Trip to lava

I had been to lava which is a hill station in west Bengal and as evening approached the climate became very chilly with us camping in huts.
So overall it was a very nice experience


Ankur dey

Ankur deyratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Awesome natural beauty

This is a very beautiful place. There is a monastery which is very beautiful and from the monastery the natural beauty is mind blowing. You can view Kanchanjungha from here. As per my view it will be better if you can travel this place early morning.


Suvobroto Ray chaudhuri

Suvobroto Ray chaudhuriratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

55 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

What's Interesting?

I don't know but I didn't like this place much as there was nothing interesting to do there for me. I had plans of staying there for two nights but after my first night stay I changed my plan and moved to a different location.
The comment is very much personal. So no one should decide upon my comments.


Saikat Hazra

Saikat Hazraratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Pristine Lava

Lava is a beautiful place amidst the unmatched natural beauty of Himalayas. Clouds play with this village all over the day and sudden splashes of shower add the romanticism to the unparalleled beauty of Lava. The view of the valley and Himalayan Mountain ranges in one side and the long flowing rivers in plains on the other is simply superb. The illuminated view of Oodlabari & Malbazar in Dooars in night is something, which cannot be forgotten. People at Lava are very cordial and helpful. The smile on young faces are as pure as love. A couple of days relaxation at Lava, can easily rejuvenate a mind and body, which is heavily under pressure for various reasons. Go and experience the LAVA.


Debasish Bhadra

Debasish Bhadraratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

12 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Hillock- clean, green and tidy, mesmerising atmosphere

Lava is a small hamlet hiding over the Neora valley of the Himalayas. Lava and Lolegaon is a twin village : if you touch one, you can't help going another. It is called 'THE LAND OF THE CLOUDS', so please avoid the rainy season. The gateway to the hill stations of north Bengal is NJP railway station which is connected with almost every main city of India. So, don't worry, get down and book a Sumo or Bolero at Rs 2500 and a sensational journey starts through the pine woods, tea gardens and Teesta River the lush green variety of nature's beauty would not let you close your eyes for a moment and you could not understand when 67km-long way ends at a small village where there are blooming flowers in front of every house : yes, get down, it is Lava. Alternatively, you may go to Siliguri from NJP by an auto and board on the Lava bound minibus but it will take more time and you have to wait a lot. However, we reached Lava at about 7am and having our breakfast at the hotel we went out to visit the famous Lava Monastery. All the hotels were situated mainly in Lava Bazar, we have to walk for ten minutes to reach the monastery. It was in a word, awesome. Situated on a hillock, its clean, green and tidy atmosphere mesmerized us. We prayed in the vast prayer room where the statues and images of Lord Buddha were placed. We have had a beautiful picture of the valley and the village from here. In the afternoon we visited the forest nursery and the glass house, all at a walking distance. Our evening passed roaming at the little Mall, a temple was also there. Don't forget to taste the chicken momo at the restaurant opposite the temple.

Since we chose the month of June, there was scarcity of water in every hotel. I think October to March is the best season to visit Lava. Anyway, next day we headed for Rishop, another wonderful hamlet, 11km away from Lava. Please remember book your jeep(no other car is allowed in this route) a day before your journey. The booking counter is at the Mall. Rishop is a calm, green and very romantic village where there are more hotels than the villager's houses. One can have a spectacular view of the Kanchenjunga, Neora Valley National Park and even the Nathula pass of Sikkim. But unfortunately we had been surrounded by clouds and clouds only, they debarred us from enjoying the vista. Spending a few hours we returned back to our hotel. The road from Lava to Rishop is extremely horrible and even broken somewhere. The govt must be cautious about it to turn it into an all-weather road from a mere fair-weather one. However, one may spend one or two nights at Rishop amidst the nature. In the afternoon we visited Nature Interpretation Centre, five minutes walk from the Mall. Here a forest rest house and some Igloo-huts have been built by DGHC for the tourists starting from Rs 1500. Next day we hired a Mahindra jeep to go to Lolegaon, 22km from Lava. The road was extremely enchanting through sal and teak woods. Lolegaon was even smaller than Lava. The main attraction was Canopy-walk. In the forest, a rope bridge was built 40 feet high above the ground through the branches of the trees. It was really exciting to walk through it. Apart from that, there was serene nature. At the little Mall we spent hours looking at the Himalayas. There were many kinds of birds in Lava whereas be careful of leeches in Lolegaon. Never walk through the green grass, always set your foot on the road. Sundown was also fascinating from the Mall. However, spending the night in a resort(hotels are costly here ranging from Rs1200 onwards) next day we set out for NJP via Kalimpong. We booked a jeep that carried us to Kalimpong for sight-seeing like Dello Hills, Mangaldham temple, Pineview nursery, etc. And took to NJP at Rs3000.

  • Hillock- clean, green and tidy, mesmerising atmosphere
  • Hillock- clean, green and tidy, mesmerising atmosphere
  • Hillock- clean, green and tidy, mesmerising atmosphere
  • Hillock- clean, green and tidy, mesmerising atmosphere
    +14

Dishari De

Dishari Deratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

16 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Quaint, Beautiful, Definitely a place for a person who loves nature

A small hamlet in the midst of Neora Valley National park and facing the hills. It is serene, quiet, and in a way mysterious. The overall slow atmosphere, morning mists, colour changing skies make it more beautiful. Surrounded by Dhupi forest this village, despite being a recently popular tourist destination for West Bengal tourists, is not crowded like Darjeeling, probably because of unavailability of luxury. I don't know what this does to tourism business but this was bliss for us. Always quiet, kind of sleepy village Lava becomes more beautiful with the presence of the little monastery just at the entrance of the village.

  • Quaint, Beautiful, Definitely a place for a person who loves nature
  • Quaint, Beautiful, Definitely a place for a person who loves nature
  • Quaint, Beautiful, Definitely a place for a person who loves nature

Basab Ray chaudhuri

Basab Ray chaudhuriratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

122 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Offbeat Destination, Lava

Lava, a small village at an altitude of 7015 ft, is situated 35 kms from Kalimpong. Lacks the optimum infrastructure especially electricity and good hotels. During winter, snow fall happens at times. There is a big Monastery at Lava. Lolagoun, Charkole and Rishyap are nearby places of natural beauty. Huge potential for becoming a popular tourist destination.

  • Offbeat Destination, Lava
  • Offbeat Destination, Lava
  • Offbeat Destination, Lava

Shahrukh Sohel

Shahrukh Sohelratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Lava is very enjoyable

Lava is a hill station of Darjeeling district. It's a small town above the hill. It is 31km away from kalimpong. People goes to their to feel extreme cold weather and clouds at body height. From here you can go lolegaon, resov, resov is a place where you can see the beauty Kanchenjunga at sunrise time. And more other things to watch, you will also enjoy the road journey from siliguri to lava as it has a lots of beautiful places at roadside.

  • Lava
  • Lava

Arnab Chakraborty

Arnab Chakrabortyratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

29 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Must visit or tourists who wants to spend time in absolute peace

Lava is such a place I am sure each one of you will enjoy who just wants to spend some quite time only talking with nature and be mesmerized by the picturesque beauty of the hills and nature in chilled weather (In Nov, it was around 6/7 Degrees in night).

You must taste the famous Momo and Thukpa here. Try these from any of the shops present in Lava Bazaar not from the hotels in Taxi Stand. The former ones will serve you Momo and Thukpa having a taste that you will never forget.

One more thing, you must take home some of the famous Chilli which grows in this region and has the name as 'Delo Mirch'. Each one of this tiny round chillies is itself is an atomic bomb. :)

Places of visit- Lava Monastary, Journey to Rishyap on foot, Neora Valley Nature interpretation Center, Suicide Point, Tea Garden, Rachela Peak by trekking, Lolegaon. Try to explore the place as much as you can by walking on foot.

  • Lava
  • Lava
  • Lava
  • Lava
    +8

Video Reviews in Lava

Very good monastery

Very good monastery  Video Review
01:11

Lava Monastery

Arpita Roy
4th Oct 17

Awesome monastery

Awesome monastery  Video Review
01:13

Lava Monastery

Ranadeep Das
2nd Oct 17

Very awesome monastery

Very awesome monastery  Video Review
01:21

Lava Monastery

Arpita roy
2nd Oct 17