Mahabalipuram Ratings & Reviews

Sanjay Kapila

Sanjay Kapilaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

4 reviewsPosted 10 months ago

Serene & Peaceful Weather & Sea with High Tides

If you love sea beach and still want to enjoy in your customized bikni then this is the place for you If you are staying in resort then you would enjoy FISH in many varieties Its easy to reach, on the Highway. 40 KMS from Chennai


Kabilan R

Kabilan Rratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Mahabalipuram

This place also called mammallapuram. The stones of stream is awesome and the One single rock stone crafted in Elephant. The beach temple is also nice architect the Pallavas. The Pallavas are good thinking and good crafting people's in the above century. The place was slightly effected by the Tsunami.


Abishek kumar

Abishek kumar

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Exotic place with rare sculptures and beautiful beach

Good outing for a day, with beautiful sculptures and old temples rich cultural heritage, and clean beaches and friendly people.
Carry a nice camera, the light House view was great and can bargain on with local shopkeepers.


Deepa padmanabhan

Deepa padmanabhan

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Perfect getaway for a relaxed weekend !!

We stayed at Radisson Blu Hotel and the property is oh so beautiful. We've been there earlier they didn't let us down this time too !! Peaceful, serene, calm and beautiful are adjectives that fit perfectly for them. We were travelling with our son who had a fun time swimming and playing at the property.


Feline

Felineratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

9 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Relax and enjoyed the town.

Visited Mahabalipuram during our visit to Kanchipuram. Drive is around 2 hours from Kanchipuram (car). Take the Chengalpattu route. Roads are very good and quite empty as it was a weekday. Stayed at Hotel Tamil nadu (4 km away from town). Has own private beach and location is good but rooms are poorly maintained and pathetic service. Stayed overnight. Check-in and checkout is 12 pm. We had a 24 hour visit to Mahabalipuram before returning back to Kanchi the next day.

One can keep 4 hours to visit all the places here if having own vehicle. Visited Shore temple which will need an hour max. Parking nearby. They charged Rs 30. On the same stretch is other places to visit like Krishna butterball, Arjuna's penance, Varaha temple, Maisasura's cave. Lighthouse. All of them are on the same road, a few meters apart. Except for Maisasura cave and Lighthouse, rest can be covered in 15 min each. Maisasura cave and Lighthouse need an hour as there is lot of climbing but the view from top is spectacular. Five rathas is a few distance away and would need 45 min to 1 hour to explore. Parking fees charged was Rs 30. Tiger cave is around 4 km from Hotel tamil nadu (towards Chennai). Nothing spectacular as it can covered in 10 min as there is only a cave. Can be avoided.

Note that entry into town is toll of Rs 40. So if you stay outside town like we did, every time you enter you need to pay Rs 40. So plan out where you want to stay. Hot and humid weather so lot of drinks and ice cream shops around. Shore temple and Five rathas do not look like Hindu temples as their structures are very different and there is a belief that there could some alien hand in building them. Check a few youtube videos on Mahabalipuram to get some information before going there, so you can compare and be more knowledgeable of the place.

Prefer to cover all the above between 11 am and 5 pm with a break for lunch. All the temples and caves close by 6 pm so plan your visit. One day visit is enough to visit all the above mentioned. If you want to take a day off to relax then keep 2 day visit.

We had lunch at Delhi Dhaba (open Hotel Tamil nadu). Food was very good but very expensive. Overall a good pleasure trip to relax and wonder why, who and how were these structures built 1200 years back during the Pallava dynasty.

Hope the review helps.


Subrata Paul

Subrata Paulratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Fantastic place with awesome sea

Fantastic. We visited Mahabalipuram with our family. We stayed at mamalla inn. Good restaurants, bus stand, beach at nearby. Sea was awesome. But don't try to take a sea Bath. It is dangerous. We saw the sunrise. It was mind blowing. Food is also cheap. There are many shops room by Rajasthanies.


Vikram Kumar

Vikram Kumarratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

10 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Good place for couple

Very nice place for couple it's really good place where couple can spend good quality if time with each other ... It's heritage site and magabalipuram Beach is clean and good ... Five Rath and cave is totally time pass ... It's paid and normal price lot of tourist came here to see the .. Beauty of Mahabalipuram ... One should sure visit
Here with love one ... To spend some good time
Together. Here one feel very relax and cool ... It's really amazing place ..


A mohan

A mohanratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Worthy experience- suggest 1 or 2 days can be spent

Mahabalipuram is an old heritage place.
More than the sight seeing places, it gives a refreshing feeling relieving your accumulated work stress.
Not much to see in shore temple, but the 5 Rathas and other rock places are place, where on can stroll ca sully and enjoy the sightseeing and the time.
Traffic in town is litlle congested.
Choices available for vegertarians, golden Mamalla, Motel Mammaala, A2B etc.
For the amount of crowd, the town is reasonably neat.
We can keep Mahabalipuram as a stay hub and visit surrounding places like Thirukalukundram temple (15 km), Vedanthangal bird sanctuary (60 km), crocadile farm (20 km), etc.
Yes worth a 2 to 3 days visit with family.


Rohit  Pathak

Rohit Pathakratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

17 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Mahabalipuram meeting past in present.

Mahabalipuram is a great place to spend your weekend. I traveled to Mahabalipuram with my friends from Chennai. From Chennai Directly buses go and it takes 2 hrs from central.
Firstly Mahabalipuram is a place where you can click great photos. Please don't forget to take with you.
I wondered how cholas dynasty people made Mahabalipuram temple so beautiful in those days.
You are charged 30rs for entering temple premises which is justified for archaeological departments to maintain its premises.
Foreigners are charged 500 rs for the same.
You can easily navigate places to see near the temple which are at walkable distance.
There are many shops from which you can buy lots of stuff for your home.
Don't carry much food as its easily available.
Try to visit before sunset as its get dark and no photos can be taken.


Siva Prasad

Siva Prasadratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 3 years ago

Place to visit

Nice place to hang out with friends. There are many more spots to visit while travelling to Mahabalipuram. The cost of travelling is also good when traveled with friends. We can learn a lot more about ancient temple and we can enjoy the nice scenic beauties in and around the place.

Video Reviews in Mahabalipuram

Descent of the Ganges

Descent of the Ganges  Video Review
01:25

Descent Of The Ganges

Pankaj Agarwal
30th Dec 17

Pancha Rathas make by Pallava

Pancha Rathas make by Pallava  Video Review
02:03

Pancha Rathas

Nithya Aravind
27th Aug 17

Rock monuments built in form of Chariots

Rock monuments built in form of Chariots  Video Review
00:53

Pancha Rathas

Megha G krishna
24th Jul 17

Pancha Rathas of the pandavas

Pancha Rathas of the pandavas  Video Review
01:41

Pancha Rathas

Pankaj Agarwal
30th Dec 17

Puzzle for science

Puzzle for science  Video Review
00:44

Krishna's Butterball

Destination Unlimited
1st Oct 17

An incomplete Gopuram, complete with History

An incomplete Gopuram, complete with History  Video Review
01:24

Rayar Gopuram

Vipul jain
1st Oct 17

Beautiful architecture; must visit

Beautiful architecture; must visit  Video Review
01:05

Trimurti Cave Temple

Destination Unlimited
1st Oct 17

Dedicated to God's Brahma, Vishnu & Shiva

Dedicated to God's Brahma, Vishnu & Shiva  Video Review
02:02

Trimurti Cave Temple

Musafir forever
1st Oct 17

An ode to the three gods

An ode to the three gods  Video Review
02:03

Trimurti Cave Temple

Life's a Journey
1st Oct 17

The rock that defies gravity

The rock that defies gravity  Video Review
02:04

Krishna's Butterball

Life's a Journey
1st Oct 17