Majuli Ratings & Reviews

Chetana Siddagangaiah

Chetana Siddagangaiahratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

64 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Island on the banks of Brahmaputra River

We visited Majuli as part of our Assam-Meghalaya trip in Dec 2016. Majuli is an island situated in Assam on the banks of river Brahmaputra. Ferry's carry people to and from the island to Jorhat city. The island consists of small villages. We stayed here for a night in a small home stay/resort which is built using bamboos. The stay was comfortable and the food was good too. As the place is remote and not many are aware, the place does not have much visitors.
We hired a cab to roam around the place to visit couple of Satras/Monasteries. The cab driver belonged to the local tribal community(Mishing) and took us to his home for a visit. We got to taste the local Rice beer called Apong.
The river Brahmaputra swells into the island and villages by few kilometers in rainy season and results in flooding.
The island offers an excellently view of sunset. The island is pollution free and is rich in green environment.
We got to meet - Padma Shri Jadav 'Molai' Payeng - Forest man of India - who single Handle created a forest - Molai forest(1, 360 acres / 550 hectares), house to elephants, Bengal tigers, rhinos and many other animals and birds. The catch here is, anyone who wants to meet him has to travel to Mohali forest and walk to his place - which for us was a good 4-5 one side) carrying our heavy bags.
But it turned out to be a great experience of visiting Molai and Majuli.


Manish Raval

Manish Ravalratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

7 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Leisure trip

One if the coll place and peaceful one. Full of greenery. It's island fully covered by water. Approach is only through ferry device.
Good bamboo houses are available for accommodation.
Food of local taste is available, one should try it. Best time to visit is first week of November. You can enjoy the traditional Raslila program during this period.


Er. rahul

Er. rahulratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

184 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Majuli tourism

Majuli is a lush green, pristine and pollution free fresh water island in the river Brahmaputra, just 20 km from the Jorhat city.
With a total area of 1250 sq. Km, Majuli is the world's largest river island and it attracts tourists from all over the world. Among one of the most surreal places in India, Majuli is also a strong contender for a place in UNESCO's World Heritage Sites. Mostly inhabited by Tribals, the culture of Majuli is unique and quite interesting and is one of the key reasons why people love this place so much. It is also called the cultural capital of Assam. The festivals celebrated here are all joyous and vibrant. The main festival in the town of Majuli is called Raas and witnessing it is an interesting spectacle

  • Majuli tourism

Deepak Yati

Deepak Yatiratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

5 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Travel Majuli if you want to travel Goa and kerla

If you want to a peaceful less populated and cheap, more than 90% place is green and bank of river like beach and walking at evening is amazing, Road of majuli is higher than house nearly 10 to 15 feet, everywhere is green trees and sometime feeling like kerla but not crowded, I love this place


Vidyut Maurya

Vidyut Mauryaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

127 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Best of life at Majuli

It was my life, s best time to be in Majuli. It is the largest river island of world. It is in Jorhat district in Assam. Surrounding by Brahmaputra river. You have to reach here by ferry in Brahmaputra. Living in a bamboo cottage and visiting Satras at Majuli was unforgettable experience.


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Majuli

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Anurag Agarwal

Anurag Agarwalratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Majouli a tourist paradise

Those who are visiting Assam and Kaziranga, don't miss out on the less publicized largest riverine Island .. Its a beautiful island worth doing a night stay in bamboo cottages with nature around you. The riverside is mesmerizing. The sunset and sunrise amazing!


Sudhir Jogani

Sudhir Joganiratingratingratingratingratingrating0.4/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Breach of Myth about Majuli

Beware of Fraud and cheater Taxi Operators in Majuli! I visited Majuli with my family on 1. 1. 2017 and hired a Sumo Taxi at 9. 30 Am till 2. 30 PM at Rs 1600 from Mr. Raj a taxi operator at Kamalabari Ghat. Our tour ended at 2 PM and the taxi operator demanded Rs 2200 saying that he has shown us many more sites which was not supposed to be visited. It was a great surprise for me on his such unjustified demand, but in spite of my request he did not agree to accept what was agreed. So I was bound to pay him what he demanded and also said to him that if they cheat tourists like this, one day no tourist will visit the island, but he was so shameless and greedy. My experience about the Island is that the people of this Island are the most greedy and cheater people, never visit such place. But in spite of this if you visit never trust the people there.


Naman Sukhija

Naman Sukhijaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

3 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Beautiful city

I went to Shillong and from there we visited Majuli, the biggest river island on earth. Jorhat is the nearest city to this island from where you take a ferry to reach this island. We had a cottage booked in a Bamboo style hotel. This city may not offer you much of adventures or party time but I found it the best place to escape from the traffic jams and the noise. You literally sit inside the lap of nature earth and feel yourself. There was a small pond beside our hotel and me and my friend used to take our small boats inside the pond, read novels for hours, listen music and then return. If you are a vegetarian northern states of India, you'll starve for sure. The food they have is quite different from ours and honestly speaking, I hated it. I survived because of packaged food. Don't forget to take your mosquito repellent, there will be millions of those tiny little rouge. This island is also known for the Satras and the birds there. Fortunately, we met a man whose family is into mask making from decades or may be centuries. We rent a cycle and roamed the city for whole one day. I definitely will visit once again when I get frustrated from my job and hectic life.

  • Beautiful city
  • Beautiful city
  • Beautiful city
  • Beautiful city
    +29

Ajeet Manyal

Ajeet Manyalratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Majuli Island in Jorhat Assam

Hi ,. Now Second Largest Island originally First in Asia . Recently was privileged & astonished to Visit the Beautiful Wonderful Amazing North East Belt . Started off with Guwahati then went to Majuli Island (sri sri uttar kamalabhari Satra means ashram gurukool must visit) also was honored to get Shri Janarddan Dev Goswamiji (Satradhikar) blessings & his vision to serve mankind whr stil you cld see how children's live with the resp Guru in gurukool living teaching learning about our vast culture traditions rituals of Life. Also got to Visit the True Unsong heroes who are behind the scenes I. E. Mask making Artisans who are really brilliant in mask making for any Art characters, after wearing resemble reality.


Ajeet Manyal

Ajeet Manyalratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Majuli Island in Jorhat Assam

Hi ,. Now Second Largest Island originally First in Asia . Recently was privileged & astonished to Visit the Beautiful Wonderful Amazing North East Belt . Started off with Guwahati then went to Majuli Island (sri sri uttar kamalabhari Satra means ashram gurukool must visit) also was honored to get Shri Janarddan Dev Goswamiji (Satradhikar) blessings & his vision to serve mankind whr stil you cld see how children's live with the resp Guru in gurukool living teaching learning about our vast culture traditions rituals of Life. Also got to Visit the True Unsong heroes who are behind the scenes I. E. Mask making Artisans who are really brilliant in mask making for any Art characters, after wearing resemble reality.

Video Reviews in Majuli

Samaguri Satra, Majuli

Samaguri Satra, Majuli  Video Review
01:08

Samaguri Satra

Rajat Ghosh
27th Dec 16

Coool attraction at Majuli

Coool attraction at Majuli  Video Review
00:19

Garmur

Dushyant Desai
29th Nov 17

Calm place

Calm place  Video Review
00:17

Garmur

Lijo Varghese
29th Nov 17

Garmur satra

Garmur satra  Video Review
00:38

Garmur

Joseph Vincent
29th Nov 17

Cheapest Flight Deal