Mashobra Ratings & Reviews

Rishu bansal

Rishu bansalratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

6 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Great experience

I visited in month of June. Weather was awesome. Temperature was around 18-20 degrees Celsius. We enjoyed a lot. It was a wonderful experience to stay here. We lived at Mhashu House. It was a wonderful property. It is value for money. Sight scenes was very beautiful. Service and behaviour of hotel staff was very positive and co-operating. I recommend to stay here.


Er. rahul

Er. rahulratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

184 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Mashobra

This is a small and relatively less explored town, at a distance of mere 10 km from main Shimla. Tourists come here to relax and unwind in the lap of nature where the richness in flora and fauna is in abundance .. It is so beautiful place in Shimla for see snow

  • Mashobra

Rakesh arora

Rakesh arora

9 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Peace and fresh air

It was a wonderful trip. Passed through rough phase of bad road which got over at Solan and then smooth road and a wonderful road after Dhalli till Mashobra and onwards. Dense trees, clear sky, fresh air is the best thing to relish in Nature


Sukhvinder Kaur

Sukhvinder Kaurratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

19 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

An oasis

We undertook Mashobra trip in early Feb, '17. To reach Mashobra from Mumbai, we decided to travel to Chandigarh by air and theeafter to go by Road to enjoy the scenic beauty. During our onward journey, we by passed Shimla and enjoyed the heights and curved roads through the hills to Mashobra and beyond to the Mahasu house at Purani Kothi, where we had done our booking for staying 3 nights and 4 days. As we were approaching Mashobra, we started seeing snow on the mountains and along the road side. Although, it had snowed, about 3 weeks back, it was yet to melt. There was a thick layer of snow even on the grounds of our hotel as well. The hotel- 'Mahasu House' was situated on the foothills and was surrounded by deodhar trees on two sides. It was cosy place with best of facilities. The food quality and the service just wonderful.
Next day we decided to visit Naldhera to see the famous golf course. We enjoyed lunch at hotel & restaurant Hill view. Afterwards we did horse riding and some tracking at this place and returned back to the hotel by the evening.
On 2nd day we moved to Shimla by car, which is about 16 Kms from Mahasu house. On reaching the lift parking, we took lift to reach ' The Mall'. After walking through the Mall, we moved up to 'the ridge', which is a well maintained place and gives an international look. The Church, the clock tower and the India Gandhi Statue are some of the landmarks at the Ridge. Finally we moved to the Lakkar Bazar, where we had fresh fruit juice and purchased some wooden items such as service trays and Coffee mugs as souvenirs and returned back to lift parking, picked up our car and came back to the hotel.
On the 3rd and the final day, we visited Kufri. After parking our car we decided to move up to kufri on Mule backs as the muddy way to the top had become slushy due to melting snow. On the way we took gum boots on rent to wear on reachong the top. Well decorated Yaks were looking attractive for posing for pictures. After passing through lots of stalls we reached the snow clad Mahasu peak and took photographs at the paradise point. The apple garden point had no attraction at this point in time, as no apples were left on the trees. We enjoyed the icy winds for about an hour and returned to car parking on mule backs.
On the 4th day morning we returned to Chandigarh and took flight back to Mumbai. It was amazing and enjoyable winter for Mumbaikars. The memory of the trip still lingers.


Kavita Chugh

Kavita Chughratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

27 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Calm & Serene!

Just opposite to what Shimla is, Mashobra is 15 km ahead of Shimla on the way to Naldehra. Nothing much to visit here other than an apple orchard but this place will capture your heart.
Away from the busy life of the city, you can spend few days here relaxing and taking a walk in the forest. One can spend some time here varying from few hours to few days.
We enjoyed eating Bun tikki and maggi at the roadside stall in Mashobra.
Don't forget to carry heavy woollens during winters and light woollens during August-September. Weather is pleasant and air clean. If you like going for nature walks and prefer visiting places that are less explored, Mashobra should be on your travel bucket list then.
There is no problem of network here, easily you will get the signals for making phone calls and 3G internet.
Also, one may visit Naldehra which is 6km ahead of this place.

  • Calm & Serene!
  • Calm & Serene!
  • Calm & Serene!
  • Calm & Serene!
    +2

Rajendra Makharia

Rajendra Makhariaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

13 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Tranquility in Mashobra

This tiny Raj-era retreat of Mashobra, hidden among cluster of pines and oaks, was the first choice of British officials and their families who wanted proximity as well as privacy away from the summer capital, Shimla. Mashobra, a unique beauty, in the vicinity of Shimla is lower than its counterpart, at height of 2150 m and enjoys a bracing climate throughout the year round. In winters though it does have its share of fair amount of snowfall it as much as Shimla's. It is the ideal picnic spot for visitors staying in Shimla being barely 20 km from it on the off shoot of road to Narkanda . There much to do in Mashobra except ogle at various bungalows one after another and wishing you could spend the rest of your life there. Try the mushroom pickle at Col Grover outlet on main road, fresh fruit, ice cream and juices at Shivalik Fruit Products run by Mrs. Jain not forgetting to pick up jams, pickles and squashes, especially the strawberry jam. Bandochy, the summer retreat of actress Waheeda Rehman, has the prettiest garden in the area. A right turn from the bazaar takes you to Sunderban, property of late writer Khuswant brother, Gurbux Singh where the Merchant-Ivory film, The Jewel In the The Crown, was filmed. A drive to Craignano, another picnic spot, is a lovely drive through pine wooded trees. If you head to the Mashobra Forest Sanctuary you will enjoy the breathtaking view of the magnificent mountains and endless pine forests. There are numerous orchids which are laden with fruits in season time. It's a perfect spot for entire family enjoyment . . I had occasion to visit Mashobra in last December month itself and experienced its first mild snowfall. I had bookings at Club Mahindra's Whispering Pines at Gables which is conveniently located just off the main road. I took a sightseeing day trip by engaging a local taxi and visited Naldera which has a 100 years old golf course set among tall cedars. It was established in 1905 by British viceroy Lord Curzon (who loved the place so much that he named his daughter after it). Next on visit was Tattapani, renowned for its hot water springs. Tattapani lies close to the White Water Rafting facility. On the way my halt was at Horticulture Centre for Apples from where one can purchase delicious juicy Himachal apples. Visit to Mashobra is like a dream come true. You can't find a better place to go to which is so easily approachable, enjoyable and affordable in all respects.

  • Tranquility in Mashobra
  • Tranquility in Mashobra
  • Tranquility in Mashobra
  • Tranquility in Mashobra
    +1

Gurvinder Bahri

Gurvinder Bahriratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

4 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Wonderful place to relax and enjoy

It is a wonderful place very near to nature and great place to relax and enjoy nature. Mashobra is almost one hour journey from Shimla but far from mad crowd. Tracking lover will love this place and it is full of nature. Those who love peace and love nature will surely like this place. A place near by is Craignano, full of nature, jungle, flowers but beware of monkeys.


Kavita Sahgal

Kavita Sahgalratingratingratingratingratingrating2.5/5

33 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Into the Woods !!

Mashobra is a quite and serene place away from the commercial and crowded streets of Shimla This is an ideal weekend when you either want to do nothing but relax or trek between the dense Cedar and Pine tree forest like we did We drove from Delhi and reached this place in 8 hours. The road conditions are good and the view is scenic. We crossed Shimla on our way to Mashobra. During our two days stay here in this place, we trekked across different route in the dense forest. There was such a soothing silence with only the divine voice of nature: Birds, waterfall, rustling of leaves . It was a perfect weekend I needed to be with nature. There were few adventure guides as well who organizes activities such as zip lining etc. But we wanted to be on our own . I would recommend this place for solo or couple travelers who are looking to spend some quiet time in the lap of nature.


Kavita Sahgal

Kavita Sahgalratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

33 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Perfect place for people who love peace and nature

Me and my husband visited Mashobra during our last weekend. The idea was to drive down to a hill station and trek in the forest. We read about the dense Cidar tree forest in Mashobra at Internet and decided to explore it Mashobra is very close to Shimla yet far from the crowd of tourist. On our first day of the visit, we went on a Jungle walk for approximately 12 kms. The trek between the forest was very refreshing. In the evening, we visited the famous presidential retreat which is suppose to host our President during his summer vacations. The trek to the retreat was very serene and romantic. Though they don't allow 'commoners' inside the retreat property, we were happy spending quite time close to the retreat. We spend both our days walking around the forest and appreciating the beauty of the place. There were many hotels around which conducts adventure activities, but we both were more keen on trekking around the village. I would recommend Mashobra for people who wants to spend time with their loved one and get lost in the woods. Also, its a great place to rekindle your love !!!


Saikat Mookherjee

Saikat Mookherjeeratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

10 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

A quaint little spot, so near yet so far

Do you like travelling to the hills? Do you like to take a few days off from the hustle and bustle of life and enjoy a serene ambience? Would you like to stay far yet within the striking reach of amenities? If the answer to all the above queries happens to be 'yes' - then Mashobra is what you should be heading for Located on the lap of the Shivaliks, the lush green coniferous trees whisper you a warm welcome. As you make your way meandering through the hills of Shimla - Naldhera road. To set the expectation right, there is nothing much to look forward to from Mashobra as a destination. We had put up at the Hotel Rock Heaven and if you get the valley facing rooms, sincerely speaking, you should not be asking for anything more. The best thing you can do at that hour is. Just daze at the valley, - watch the sunrise, follow the suns' course throughout the day till the sunset, watch the lights of Shimla sparkle the night sky. A 360 degree view with nature at its' best . You can keep up with the latest novel, meditate, or listen to some relaxing music all the way . We did experience rain one afternoon, which opened yet another tryst of the beauty this place had to offer. Small drops to begin with, turning into a mysterious mix of mist, rain and cloud engulfing the valley was a treat to watch. Even more exciting was the fresh green look the valley offered once the clouds bid good bye and the sun came out . If you are bored watching the nature from one location, drive down to Naldhera . About 18 kms away. You can visit India's Oldest Golf Course (estd. 1905) and a picnic spot amongst tall lofty coniferous trees. Spend some time in the cafe. The terrace would give you 360 degree view of the nature's best There is nothing special about the food, which is fresh and clean. Me and my wife however, liked the mutter - mushroom curry, which was simply delectable. An advice, please limit yourselves to Indian cuisine . Try not to venture into Continental or Chinese stuffs, which will not be very appealing to your taste buds.