Modhera Ratings & Reviews

Krunal Gemlawala

Krunal Gemlawalaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Lovely space in Mehsana

This is one village in mehsana city in Gujarat . At this village has two temple. One sun temple in this temple has first ray ofsun it enter here. Before some years ago here god ram and sita done poojas for shiv. And 2nd temple is modheshvary mata temple it is lovely and relaxing place with good atmosphere and facility now a day this is developing temple. Near this village one temple is here it is becharaji it is also beutyful temple and another is sankhal pur temple at here both place bechraji mata's temple and from modhera unjha village at here umiya mata temple it is also good place


Abhishek Singh

Abhishek Singhratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

96 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Artistic and ingenious beauty!

. I and friend of mine, we planned to explore places around Ahmedabad and then it started with the visit of the majestic Sun Temple at Modehra. Modehra is around 100 Kms from Ahmedabad and the road connectivity is good. So we decided to add a flavour of long ride to this rendezvous with the art of masonry. It takes almost 1. 5 to 2 hours to reach. The moment we entered the premises we could feel the positivity and the bliss. The temple premises consists of Surya kund, Sabha Mandap and the main temple surrounded by the greenery. The kund and the temple boasts of ingenious design, artistic carvings and sculptures. It is said that the temple was built during Solanki rule 100s of years ago, it is now being maintained by ASI and no prayers are offered. One must read the history of this temple before reaching here or chitchat with the villagers residing in the nearby area so that it is easy to correlate the golden history with the present ruins. It is believed that the temple was so designed that the first rays of the sun fell on the image of the Sun God. The Sun God idol no more exists. The philosophy or the design concept of this heritage complex makes us feel proud about the ancient art, engineering and the history. We spent hours walking around the serene landscape, observing the beautiful carvings and sculptures, sitting under the trees away from daily mundane city routine life back in the glorious history. One can spend 2 to 3 hours. It is advisable to bring food and drinking water along as no good hotels or restaurants are in the vicinity and not to forget to carry away the garbage. The best time to visit is to start early in the morning and return by noon. A perfect place to be one with nature and the feel the bliss of being part of this majestic, unique ancient architecture. The history, nature lovers would love visiting this place. Bikers would most likely enjoy the ride to Madhora.

  • Artistic and ingenious beauty!
  • Artistic and ingenious beauty!
  • Artistic and ingenious beauty!
  • Artistic and ingenious beauty!
    +1

Abhishek Singh

Abhishek Singhratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

96 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Artistic and ingenious beauty

I and friend of mine, we planned to explore places around Ahmedabad and then it started with the visit of the majestic Sun Temple at Modehra. Modehra is around 100 Kms from Ahmedabad and the road connectivity is good. So we decided to add a flavour of long ride to this rendezvous with the art of masonry. It takes almost 1. 5 to 2 hours to reach. The moment we entered the premises we could feel the positivity and the bliss. The temple premises consists of Surya kund, Sabha Mandap and the main temple surrounded by the greenery. The kund and the temple boasts of ingenious design, artistic carvings and sculptures. It is said that the temple was built during Solanki rule 100s of years ago, it is now being maintained by ASI and no prayers are offered. One must read the history of this temple before reaching here or chitchat with the villagers residing in the nearby area so that it is easy to correlate the golden history with the present ruins. It is believed that the temple was so designed that the first rays of the sun fell on the image of the Sun God. The Sun God idol no more exists. The philosophy or the design concept of this heritage complex makes us feel proud about the ancient art, engineering and the history. We spent hours walking around the serene landscape, observing the beautiful carvings and sculptures, sitting under the trees away from daily mundane city routine life back in the glorious history. One can spend 2 to 3 hours. It is advisable to bring food and drinking water along as no good hotels or restaurants are in the vicinity and not to forget to carry away the garbage. The best time to visit is to start early in the morning and return by noon. A perfect place to be one with nature and the feel the bliss of being part of this majestic, unique ancient architecture. The history, nature lovers would love visiting this place. Bikers would most likely enjoy the ride to Madhora.


Abhishek Singh

Abhishek Singhratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

96 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Artistic and ingenious beauty

I and friend of mine, we planned to explore places around Ahmedabad and then it started with the visit of the majestic Sun Temple at Modehra. Modehra is around 100 Kms from Ahmedabad and the road is good too. So we decided to add a flavour of long ride to this rendezvous with the art of masonry. It takes almost 1. 5 to 2 hours to reach.


Ranish Bera

Ranish Beraratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

16 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Dilapidated Sun Temple at Modhera

Only two sun temples are ever built, add the legend says, one in Konark, east part of the country, and one in Modhera, west part of the country. The temple is dilapidated, but the place is scenic and the road to the place is awesome for a bike ride. I drove from home on a bike and enjoyed the road and the peaceful premise of the temple. Recommended for single or couple travelers who want peaceful, serene and historical places to hang out.


Aakash Dhingra

Aakash Dhingraratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

10 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

If you are fed up from routine- Ride

If you feel the same then just stand up, take your car/bike and ride. The highway will definitely make you feel that it should not end. Don't visit the temple without a camera as there is nothing like temple. Prefer car/Bikes in a group. A good e.g. Of art. The journey from Gandhinagar was of 100 kms around and plan it in the night (preferred). The beat time to see the temple is at sunrise but just before on the patan road, there is a lake, and the view of it on a full moon day in winters will always be cherished !! Don't visit here without a camera as it is an architectural site instead of a temple and the art can only be covered with a camera(dslr, Mobile cameras are not a good option, doesn't matter how good it is).


Bhavesh Parmar

Bhavesh Parmarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Modhera- The sun temple

Me and my friends goes to modhera sun temple two months ago. It's best place and also heritage place . The sun temple made by bhimdev in thousand years ago. When sun rise it's first ray plot on the temple . Small step wall also here and this is the best place in Gujarat. Finally me and my rest on garden of sun temple . I think good place for people who love heritage place


Ranjitsinh Rajput

Ranjitsinh Rajputratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

A very good experience!

I like modhera and I like your journy and this place is so historical place and some amazing moment I never forget it . And I am prout to be Gujarat place and journey. And hotel facility is so good and well and road is best and sunrise moment is wery very greate. And the sun first moment is rising on the modhera main temple.


Nikunj Parsana

Nikunj Parsanaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

2 reviewsPosted August 2014

My journey to Suryamandir, Modhera

The Sun Temple, Modhera, at Modhera in Gujarat, is a temple dedicated to the Hindu Sun-God, Surya . Modhera is one of the most ancient place in India, where we can find very good work of art on wall and a lake that is called a king made that lake in only one night . It was built in 1026 AD by King Bhimdev of the Solanki dynasty . This temple is now under the supervision of Archaeological Survey of India . It is situated on the bank of the river Pushpavati, 25 km from Mehsana and 102 km from Ahmedabad . We can reach their by air till Ahmedabad and the by road It was nice experience to see.