Nagarhole Ratings & Reviews

Lijo Varghese

Lijo Vargheseratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

60 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Best journey through the forest.

Travelling through the Nagerhole national park is very beautiful and scenic. It has few etry points. Hunsur(mysore side), H. The. Kotta(kabani side, road not good) and Kutta(wayanad or Coorg side). The route will be closed during the night(6. 00pm to 6. 00am). Bikes are not allowed in the forest.
Best time to visit is during monsoon and post monsoon. You can see plenty of deer. Also elephant and bison. Tiger, if you are too lucky.


Krish

Krishratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

25 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Best Wildlife destination in Karnataka !!

I had privilege of visiting most of NP in Karnataka & I would vote Nagerhole as the one of best destination of all. Nagerhole is about 230km from Bangalore. Following route can be taken
• Bangalore- Mysore-Hunsur- Nagerhole : 230Km to
• Bangalore - Chanrayapatna -Hunsur- Nagerhole (Hassan Highway) 330Km
Both the routes are good, but most preferred route is the Bangalore- Mysore-Hunsur- Nagerhole, which also means during the long weekend it has huge pile of vehicles moving in direction of Mysore for various other destinations. Forest gate is open between 6 am in the morning until 7 pm. The forest office, ticket counter and safari zone is 28 KM away from the Nagerhole gate hence you need to travel by your own vehicle or JLR jeep to reach the gate to do the safari. You have 2 types of safari available
1. Forest department bus safari for 1 hour, in 3 different slot starting at 6 am in morning until 9am and after 3pm onwards until 5 pm. Cost is Rs 500 per person.
2. JLR jeep and canter safari, this is done on booking with resort or at the ticket counter. The safari is for 2 hrs. & The cost is Rs 1300 per person.
My recommendation, don't miss the evening Safari, there are high chances that you may see animals on road as well as in the forest. We spotted a tiger on the road while coming back from Safari. I would also recommend you should try driving down from Nagerhole to Virajpet vai the jungle route followed by the coffee estates, it's a bliss…
While in Nagerhole, you can visit to various other locations such Kabini, Irruppu Falls, Barapole River Rafting, Conical Monastery & many more etc…

  • Best Wildlife destination in Karnataka !!

Venkataramanan G

Venkataramanan Gratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

23 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Enjoyed the trip to Nagarhole!

1) Great place to see wildlife. Among the best in Soutrhern India. 2) Well organized jeep safari by JLR (Jungle Lodges & resorts - which is managed by Karnataka Tourism and Forest departments). 3) The naturalists are very knowledgeable and share their experiences. 4) Great place to see the elusive Leopard, Dhole - the Indian wild dogs and Tiger besides Indian Gaur, Elephant, Chital, Sambar Deer. And a host of birds


Prabhu ram Jagannatha

Prabhu ram Jagannatharatingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Astonished to C 5* Facility in a Forest Area

Marvellous Experience. The staff was very courteous and informative. Even though the stay was for a day, it was homely and satisfying. Madam Niharika was very cooperative and courteous in extending all the help and information. The food however, needs a little improvement. Even though we appreciate the DJ played there, it requires a little more improvement as the presentation was not very lively.


Ananth Pranesh

Ananth Praneshratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

95 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Pristine forest of South India

Nagarahole forest is also known as Rajiv Gandhi National park. It is about 80 kms from Mysore. One has to take Hunsur road from Mysore, and has to enter Hunsur town to take Road to Nagarahole . . It is a beautiful virgin forest, with animals like Tiger, Panther, Elephants, deer, Wild dogs and wild Board. It has plenty of Birds and Butterflies. Forest department runs Safaris both in the morning & evenings. They charge about Rs. 200 per person . Nagarahole forest road is closed from evening 6 pm to Morning 6 am.

  • Nagarhole National Park
  • Nagarhole National Park
  • Deer at Nagarhole National Park
  • Nagarhole National Park
    +2

Aruna Suryanarayana

Aruna Suryanarayanaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted March 2014

Eagerly waiting to visit this rout again

This place is really very nice to visit during the whole year. The drive between Hunsur and Kutta is around 35 kms. During rainy and winter, you can see lush green jungle with elephants, peacocks and deer as common sightings with hanuman langoors also. Many of them get a sight of Wild cats every now and then . . Had been to this route thrice and was really lucky to have the big cat sighting twice. Once was a just miss situation of Leapord and second was just a month back (28th of February 2014) had a sighting of Tiger . My heart beat went high when I saw the mejestic animal crossing the road in the deep jungle just after the forest guest house near to 'moorkal village' in the middle of jungle Eagerly waiting to visit this rout again


Khamitkar mayur

Khamitkar mayurratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

3 reviewsPosted March 2014

Spot the Big Cat if You're Lucky

The jungle is very clean and full of peace of mind. Nowhere else in India can one see so much wildlife. Sighting of elephants, Sambhar, spotted deer, bear, wild boar, sloth bear, wild dogs, etc ., are almost assured, while if one is lucky, a tiger or a panther too, could be sighted


Sandeep Salim

Sandeep Salimratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

5 reviewsPosted December 2013

Narahole

We were five of us, all cousin brothers and we all wanted to be at calm place and discuss last 4 years of our lives, as we had not met each other in between. The ambience was good except of the resort is short staffed . . There were only two groups of 5 people in the resort and still they could not cater the food supplies to us. The resort offers jeep ride into the forest on the main road and if you want to try the interior roads and then you have reach the forest range office and buy a ticket of Rs. 300/- per person. They take you buy the department mini bus and yes you will have enough sightings of the animals. Morning there is 6AM, 7AM and 8 AM rides and afternoon the ride time is 03 PM, 4PM last ride at 05PM. Last ride is the best as you get to see the nightlife in the deep forest. I also offered the resort guys if I could cook our own food as the food they gave was not up to the standard. Probably they have to think over to offer (cook your own food at least the starters) for the booze. The resort is kept clean and I feel they are a little overpriced comparing to the facilities. I would recommend only small groups to the resort and if go in large groups please take a cook along. They made good deserts but did not have more than one serving. When people are frustrated by the full course meal at least a second helping will help them satisfy their desire for food .


Sv Kumar

Sv Kumarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted August 2013

Best holiday destination

Nagerhole national park located in karnataka state of India is one place with all the ingredients of a perfect holiday for singles or families with adventure and relaxation rolled into one.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Food at the restaurant here managed by the tourism department themselves serves authentic Karnataka cuisine with a good mix of other regional dishes to satisfy the palates of all kinds of tourists who throng this place throughout the year.

Activities & things to do: Regular activities include Wildlife safaris into the deep jungles with excellent guides who are very knowledgeable and sincere to their task of getting you the best.There is boat safari along the Kabini river, water level permitting where-in one can have close look at wild elephants and other animals. The best part is that no one ever goes back without spotting a leopard atleast.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Best to travel to Banglore by air/rail and move from there by road(approx. 250kms). Takes about 4-5 hrs but a good drive via Mysore.


Chandra mani

Chandra maniratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted July 2013

Nagarhole

Such a nice place to go for wildlife safari. The whole area is surrounded by hills and jungles. You can meet to deer, elephants easily. Can find many waterfalls in that area. You can do river rafting or other adventures things

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: I stayed at 'Jade Hills home-stay' with my friends. This is very nice place situated on the top of one hill. Rooms are very clean and neat. Food is awesome.

Activities & things to do: You can choose home stay for staying in night .And in day light you can go to iddupu falls, River rafting and waynaad for wild life sanctuary

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: From Bangalore go to Mysore and from Mysore to Hunsur,Hunsur to Nagarhole. From Mysore to Nagarhole is just 80 km in distance

Video Reviews in Nagarhole

Wow

Wow  Video Review
01:56

Irpu Falls

Sonu Narayan
24th Dec 17

Popular International Destinations