Palakkad Ratings & Reviews

Manoj Menon

Manoj Menonratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

79 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

In the arms of nature

So, my recent visit to Palakkad can be described as a revelation. This quaint little town is broken up into many villages. While I did not visit the Palakkad main town this time around, I headed out to visit a few villages here.

My first stop was in a village called Kottapuram which is nearly 40 kms from the main town. A serene village in the arms of nature and far from the hustle and bustle of the city. People staying here are very welcoming and the environment is very calm. There was a festival taking place in the local temple here and I was fortunate enough to witness it. There were around 18 Elephants there and this was the first time I got to be in close proximity with these gentle giants.

My second trip was to another village called Karimpuzha, which one can say is for those who want to enjoy amidst nature post retirement. There is a river flowing here and you can spend time here. Do visit the river during sunrise and sunset. I promise you that it is a sight to remember.

My last and final stop was at Pariyanampatta, which is basically a holy place. The temple here is very famous and there have been quite a few films shot in and around this temple. Even today Malayalam Film stars come here either to pray or to shoot a movie. There is a huge pond here within the temple premises where you can take a dip or feed the fishes.

Though these places have nothing extravagant to boast of, I believe the simplicity of it is what makes it very special. For someone who has grown up in the city, a visit to such places will make you admire the simpler things in life.


Ujjwal Vasisht

Ujjwal Vasishtratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 5 years ago

Near to nature

Went to Pallakad where my family recently relocated. A beautiful city with an exquisite balance woth nature. The roads are jyst a treat to drive on, you'll fee like you're on some jungle track in the need for speed game. The greenery and the dam park, are just awesome. A must go place.


Shoby joseph 

Shoby joseph ratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

4 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Palakkad, a must go place

The district of Palakkad is having boundary with Tamil nadu and is a mixed culture in some areas. There are lots of temples and the famous kalpathy ratholsavam is also good to see. There are many agri farms and lots of paddy field. The climate is very hot compared to other districts in the state


Shoby joseph 

Shoby joseph ratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

4 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Natural beauty

The town of Palakkad is hotter than any other districts in the state. But when you go to the outer rural areas of the district we cone across lots of farms and green vegitation. The culture og Palakkad is also different from other districts and there is paddy field.


Mohan Kumar

Mohan Kumarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Must see Fort

Palakakd Fort is one of the major tourist attractions in Kerala. It is in the heart of Palakkad town. This fort was built by Hider Ali, king of Mysore in 1766. This fort is popularly known as Tipu's fort, Tipu was son of Hider Ali. During various periods of 17th century, this fort was occupied by Zamorin king of Kozhikode, Hider Ali and British rulers. This fort is made of large stone blocks. There is big trench outside the fort. It is a nice place for sight- seeing. These days many government offices and sub jail functions from the fort . Inside the fort is a famous Hanuman temple. Adjacent to the fort is Fort maidan which mainly functions as a playground these days . Palakkad can be reached by air through Coimbatore. There is railway station in Palakkad as well .


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Palakkad

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Sreekanth

Sreekanthratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Excellent stay in Malampuzha

I been stayed here for couple of days & the services offered was so good over all the ambience of the hotel is also excellent located near to Malampuzha dam only walkable distance from the hotel. Food & services are pretty good but should be improve more. So here after any more guest are there for me surely I will suggest this place only.


Vidhya Vasudevan

Vidhya Vasudevanratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

6 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Place of paddy fields-Palakkad

Palakkad is full of greenery filled with paddy fields. You can get awesome vegetarian Sadhya (food with 18 curries) here. Palakkad fort, bus yatras, walks through paddy fields are not to missed if you are planning to visit Palakkad. Also don't forget to take your cameras to click selfies .

  • Place of paddy fields-Palakkad

Ashwini G

Ashwini Gratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

21 reviewsPosted June 2015

Excellent time at Palakkad

It was great time at Palakkad. We visited in the month of July it was raining but still had some excellent time there. Beaches were good we played a lot. Fishes available near were very tasty. We travelled by car and there were no restrictions on the road. If you are an alcoholic then you need to think of visiting this place since there are no wine shops near by.


Ashwini G

Ashwini Gratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

21 reviewsPosted June 2015

Excellent

Nestled in the Palakkad district of Kerala, in the Western Ghats known as the Palgat Ghat, Palakkad is the state which serves as a connection between Kerala and Tamil Nadu. There are various small villages in and around Palakkad. The interesting thing is that the natives of these villages speak Tamil instead of their main language. These villages are the best place to visit and experience typical Tamil Brahmin life. Some popular villages that are located in the region are Noorani, Chatapuram, Tharekadu, Thirunellai, Old Kalpathy and New Kalpathy. Some important tourist places that you can visit include Palakkad Fort, Pothundy Dam, Jain Temple, Malampuzha Dam, Dhoni Waterfalls, Parambikulam, Walayar Dam and Srikrishnapuram. There are numerous local festivals that are celebrated in the area such as Tharakad Sivan Koil Siva Rathry, Padur Vela and Pudduseri Vedi.


Aswin Othalur

Aswin Othalurratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted May 2015

Near ottapalam

Nice place in Kerala. Climate. Palakkad has a tropical wet and dry climate . Temperatures remain moderate throughout the year, with. Exception in March and April being the hottest months. A. Very high amount of precipitation is received in Palakkad ,. Mainly due to the South-West monsoon. July is the. Wettest month, and the total annual rainfall is around 83. Inches (211 cm).

  • Palakkad

Video Reviews in Palakkad

A Holy Place

A Holy Place  Video Review
01:24

Sriramaswamy Temple

Manoj Menon
3rd Mar 17

Spiritual place

Spiritual place  Video Review
00:37

Sree Pariyanampatta Bhagavathy Temple

Manoj Menon
2nd Mar 17

Cheapest Flight Deal