Sangla Ratings & Reviews

Kaushik Basu

Kaushik Basuratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

51 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Kinnaur essence

Sangla is the essence of Kinnaur travel, without visiting Sangla, Kinnaur is just incomplete!
Best time to go is essentially summer. And it is always better to check both the road condition and weather in advance. Aug-Sep can also be great time as that's when the great Kinnauri apples ripen fully. However, there may be traffic snarls because of the big trucks and also with the rainy season active, raods can be troublesome.
In general, part of the road from Karcham to Sangla is really tough and scary. It is always advisable to get help of a local driver rather than trying out oneself.
Honestly other than local fruits and woollens and Kinnauri caps, there is nothing specific local. Of course one can definitely try local food in the restaurants.
Chitkul is the must visit place while staying in Sangla. The last village of India is indeed beautiful with the Baspa river flowing out of the snow clad mountains. The monastery iin Chitkul is also worth a visit. There are hotel options but it is wiser to stay in Sangla where hotel options will be more and a bigger marketplace. Other places where we visited were Sangla village to see the monastery & the Bering Nag temple, and the Baspa river bank. There were few other spots which one can try based on personal interest like Kamru Fort, Toout Farm & Tibetian Wood Carving Centre.
Based on where you are coming from the route needs to be chosen and its essentially roadways, one has to come to Karcham and then take the route to Sangla.
Even in summer there can be chances of snow particularly in Chitkul. So keeping good woolens is always advisable. Also before coming into Sangla a check of the road condition is advisable and that's whay local drivers have the connection advantage.

  • Kinnaur essence
  • Kinnaur essence
  • Kinnaur essence
  • Kinnaur essence
    +5

Atul Bhardwaj

Atul Bhardwaj

6 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Snowclad mountains wd crystal clear streams ... Lush green valley and tenting experience

A windblown adventure for bikers and trekkers. For all activities start your day early as mornings are most awesome here ... The breeze, the refreshing fragrance of nature.


Parin Rupani

Parin Rupaniratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

5 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Nature Beauty place

It's an extraordinary nature lovers place although it takes time to reach Sangla as there is much travelling but then too you will love nature in travelling. BANJARA hill is great experience over there. As there is no tv and you have to leave with nature and your family or loved ones that the best experiences.


Akshaya Patil

Akshaya Patilratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

73 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

A village of apple orchards

A village of apple orchards, every nook and corner of this valley. We were amazed to see apples in their full glory. Sangla - our first experience of Kinnaur valley and I have still not overcome my holiday hangover. A place where god resides, a heaven on earth which no words can describe. A gushy river was flowing along throughout our journey in the Kinnaur valley.

Surrounded by Mountain, flowing river and fresh air I didn't knew is there, anything more beautiful than this. The road to Sangla valley is very dangerous; it is an adventure ride in itself. The scale of the mountain is so magnificent that you just look at it in awe. Kamru fort is a must visit place near this village.

  • A village of apple orchards
  • A village of apple orchards
  • A village of apple orchards
  • A village of apple orchards
    +5

Sanjay kapila

Sanjay kapilaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

16 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Trip to

Hills are Hills and Mountains are Mountains ... I hope all know the basic difference between two. Height up to 6000 Ft are Hills and Above are Mountains ...
Recently ... I happened to Visit Above Mentioned places ... While Narkanda is Ultimate, Sarahan Gives you Feeling of 'Yes .. I reached at last' .. Hehehehe ... Because After taking Off from Chandigarh and night halt at Narkanda, reaching Sarahan gives you Satisfaction. Though roads up to Sarahan are in Good Condition but being narrower roads and tourist rush, you MUST stay Alert. Enjoy Local Fruits which are available in abundance ... Once you Start from Sarahan roads gets narrower and dangerous as Valley shows its Depth and that too Steep Down ... While crossing Tapri please Keep Two Things Full ... Fuel Tank & Patience Tank.
While Rampur is as hot as Chandigarh and once you cross Karcham and start climbing up, only then you feel Thandi Hawaaein but you can't Enjoy every thing as road is too narrower and Damaged and traffic coming down keeps you Alert ... Sangla is Valley with beautiful Rocky Mountains .. You can visit Dam who is under construction. You can stay in Camps or at Hotel ... Mount Kailash is A Good Hotel which provides Home Like Food as Cook makes sure you enjoy good food after hectic driving.
You can Plan to see Chitkul the Last Village on Indo Tibetan Road ... On the way you can enjoy Picnic on road side as small waterfalls attracts you while going up ... Rakhcham can also be visited while coming back to Sangla ... Sangla Chitkul is 26km but takes at least 2 hours to reach ... Kalpa is Wow place to Stay. Caution:: Road Condition is NOT that Good ... Especially Tapri-12km, Karcham to Sangla-9/10kms. Karcham to Reckong Peo-12kms.


Pankaj Goel

Pankaj Goelratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

5 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

A must go place if looking for less crowd and full interest in tracking and camping

Sangla is around 350kms from Chandigarh and the only way to reach there is by bus from Chandigarh or by taxi or own vehicle. Its best for camping and tr aching adventures. Although it have less hotels and mostly places to reside are managed by local residents. Restaurants are also few in number. Places to visit would be kamru fort, nag temple, & basava river. Chitkul is the must go place which us last village to India tibet border. Most of the months its covered with snow.


Natalya Sood

Natalya Soodratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Beautiful Sangla!

Beautiful place with serene surroundings. We visited Sangla in June 2015. Weather was awesome. We completely sinked in the beauty of the place. Kamru fort, Badri Vishal Temple, Monestry, Nag Devta Temple, Trout farm are the few places not to be missed in Sangla. Leisure walks take you into the nature. Overall very good experience of visiting Sangla.

  • Beautiful Sangla!
  • Beautiful Sangla!
  • Beautiful Sangla!
  • Beautiful Sangla!
    +3

Smriti Das

Smriti Dasratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

239 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A part of heaven-Sangla

Availed a package tour for eight days to Sangla Valley. Our journey started from Shimla on 11-10-2015 & returned back home on 18-10-2015. In between this period our first night halt was at Shimla and second was in Saharan. Third day, morning, at 9. 30 am. We started our journey to Sangla valley & reached at Sangla near about 2 pm. Sangla valley has a panoramic extraordinary magician landscape on lap of Himachal Pradesh. Once seen, it's a place that can never be forgotten. We stayed at hotel Monal Regency & this hotel is situated just before the market. From hotel lawn & from each room one can enjoy the scenic beauty & spectacular views of high peaked mountain ranges. On the way to Sangla from Sarahan, we've seen three major hydro electric project plant. Satluj river flows at this zone. Near Tapri, there was a major landslide which happened two years back & it chocked & finished the road totally to go to Sangla. Now, recently a short cut muddy route made to connect the main road, otherwise it has to be extra 21 km. Journey from there to go to Sangla. How ever, we were lucky at this matter. The journey was quite tough no doubt but it's enjoyable.

  • A part of heaven-Sangla
  • A part of heaven-Sangla
  • A part of heaven-Sangla
  • A part of heaven-Sangla
    +6

Nivedita Wani

Nivedita Waniratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

5 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

One should go and enjoy the beauty

Sangla, it's in Kinnaur Valley, besides River Baspa. A breathtaking himalayas ranges of Tibet and Himachal. As mentioned an offbeat location which is not much explored. Apple orchards, Hydro project, Trout fishing, treks on sangla Meadows, Baspa river front, Kamru Fort and many small big temples. All you can find here. Summers are not so pleasant, but am sure winters will be damn cold. Many landscapes. You can say a paradise for photographers. As it named Sangla valley, it's surrounded by Snow mountains. Awesome weather and great people. A small village with not more than 15-20 shops. Himachali are very hospitable. They serve you with love and make you feel like home. Chitkul is one more amazing location. That's called Border of Himachal (India) and then it's Tibet. This is the place where in night you can listen to your favorite music and gaze stars. Barbecues and bonfires.

Such an amazing place, words are not enough to describe. One should go and enjoy the beauty. Happy Holidays!


Nayan Shah

Nayan Shahratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Beautiful place but the approach road is bad

We decided this trip two year back but managed this summer. Long drive from Shimla take you to Sangla very bad approach to such a beautiful place. Hotel at Rakcham village full of natural beauty, trekking nearby glacier and walk to last village of India in that territory is sounds nice experience. If want to develop the place approach to the place should be easy. Near by visit to Kinner Kailash mountain and cost to Konjum Valley and visit to Sarhan and Narkanda is also delightful.