Santiniketan Ratings & Reviews

Sanjoy dutta

Sanjoy dutta

6 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Shantiniketan, Bolpur or Tagore land

Shantiniketan, Bolpur a little town of West Bengal commonly known as Tagore land.

Bolpur shantiniketan is the awesome place for the all types of community..

There everyone was very creative from heart and by birth they are little bit extraordinary.

Our world famous poet Sri Rabindranath Tagore presence is still there.

Must go for everyone..

This place was very nice..

All types of facilities are available there.

Do not worry about anything..

So many places for sightseeing like Shyor Bithi park, khoyai hat, Deer park, local market, kankalitala kali temple, & most important is Visva bharati campus.


Pritvi Kanchi

Pritvi Kanchiratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

266 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

A Trip to Shantiniketan

I had been to Shantiniketan by train in the month of May 2016. Bolpur is a must-visit in the tourism circuit of West Bengal. The journey time taken from the Howrah Railway station to Bolpur is approximately 2. 30 hours by an express train. The must-visit attractions around Bolpur include Shantiniketan, Vishwabharat university and Bakreshwar. Shantiniketan is a place specially dedicated to the life and time of Rabindranath Tagore. In Shantiniketan, the must-visit places include the Amar Kutir, Rabindra Bhavan, Sriniketan and Ballavpur wildlife sanctuary. Amar Kutir is located around 7 kilometers from the city centre and was established in 1923. Amar Kutir is a centre for rural development and has over 1300 handicraft products. The Rabindra Bhavan was set up in 1942 and promotes the work of Rabindranath Tagore. Sriniketan is a centre for rural reconstruction set up in 1922 and is located only 3 kilometers from Shantiniketan. The Ballavpur wildlife sanctuary was established in 1977 and has among its population deer, fox and many species of water birds.


Argha Paul

Argha Paulratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Exploring the colours

A cultural Holi, yes it's a cautural Holi you can say, Santiniketan is famous for its Holi celebration, not only for the use of dry colours, but also for the cultural programs it holds on this occasion, it's a true exposure of the Bengali tradition, with music of Tagore and dressed up in Kurta or Bengali sari, the environment becomes truly traditional and colourful, it's once in a life time experience for visiting this place at Holi.


Sanam Chopra

Sanam Chopraratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

17 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A touch of Tagore!

Ideally, a trip to this beautiful knowledge haven should be for at least 2 days, a day for exploration and a day for relaxation. But if you plan to cover it in one day itself, it's not very difficult either. Start with locking down the place you want to stay in. Having settled that, move outdoors and start walking around. If you go on a Saturday, start the morning with a trip to Khaoi Mela. Otherwise, start with Tagore's family settings, probably with the Prayer Hall. The beautiful glass building will startle you. Then explore other places like Nippon bhavan, China bhavan, Sangeet bhavan. Do not miss the buildings in the Kala bhavan block. Each of them has a unique built. Then you can venture out. See the deer park in Bhallavgarh around late noon. Spend a few hours in the jungle basking in the clear pollution free air, with animals all around. Once you come back, visit Chattimtala to offer prayers. Before retiring for the day, pay another visit to the prayer hall. The place will be illuminated with hundreds of candles. Those extra steps you cover will be well worth your time.


Uma Vasudevan

Uma Vasudevanratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Nice place to visit

If you are a person who appreciate Indian literature and culture, you should visit Shantiniketan atleast once in your life. The university, Viswabharati still holds her head high being the lamp of Indian education. I was mesmerized seeing the aamrakunj, the mango tree garden, where classes are taken, in open air. The music classes, fine arts, drama etc are delight to watch. Hire a cycle rickshaw nearby and he can serve as a local guide. To see fully, you need atleast a day. And don't forget to visit the tribal artefacts place nearby. You can buy handicrafts products etc .


Chinmay Mandal

Chinmay Mandalratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Nice place for 2 days trip

Bolpur­ Santiniketan is a famous place of tourists for a short trip because here we saw some Tagore's memory that's are alive till now. Bolpur­ Santiniketan is in the Birbhum District, West Bengal. It is 145 km from Kolkata. It is well known for Visva Bharati University. The university was set up by the Nobel laureate poet Rabindranath Tagore. It was a very beautiful place. We are stayed two days in Santiniketan and saw the entire place related to Santiniketan. We were enjoyed mostly. We were visited. Tagore's ashram, Chhatimtala, Brahma temple, Rabindra Bhaban Museum, Kopai river, Visva Bharati and some others places. Very nice place .

  • Nice place for 2 days trip
  • Nice place for 2 days trip

Samit Nandi

Samit Nandiratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

4 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A best place to go

Bolpur ­Santiniketan is in the Birbhum District, West Bengal. It is 145 km from Kolkata and is best known for its proximity to Visva Bharati, the university set up by the Nobel laureate poet Rabindranath Tagore. It was a very beautiful place, in Santiniketan, the memory of Rabindranath is attached now. We visited various place in one day by hiring a car. We were enjoyed a lot. We were spend two days here .

  • A best place to go
  • A best place to go

Sumanta Chatterjee

Sumanta Chatterjeeratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

13 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Pous mela, a must go mela!

SANTINIKAYTAN is the land of red soil rediscover by Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore . During his stay at santinikaytan Gurudev the retual of POUS MELA. Pous is the Bengali month & mela means fair. So usually pous mela on every 7th day of month Pous. In English calendar it will be on 24th December. The fair which treat as cultural fair, the fair of handicraft, the fair if traditional baul song . Now a days this fair also got touch of corporate culture but you stil got the esence of rural bengal . But during these fair the Ashram I. E Biswabharati remain closed so you have no option to visit mesuem of Biswabharati . But you may visit Railway meusium at Bolpur station . So many good accommodation available but rush is there during pous mela, my advice to you for prior booking . When you finish the mela visit then next morning don't loose the chance to visit KANKALITALA whis is only 4km or 5km from there. Take this trip as a bonus to pous mela.


Ami Kothari

Ami Kothariratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

12 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Lovely place, Santiniketan!

Lovely fresh vacation with lots of natural beauty, Lal Mati- Red Soil, Forests and deer, Amazing locals and awesome Peaceful place. The train was on time but very crowded as Local Passengers also aboard. The journey was 3 hours long. We then went by auto to Hotel, which took 45 minutes. Had lunch, Took Bath and off we went to check out locaL SIGHT SEEING . . Next day we went to viswa Bharti, Amar Kutir, Lal mati and Jungles, Third day was Massanjor Dam. I loved it .


Kisor nadhani

Kisor nadhaniratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

16 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A different world altogether

If you are an Urban animal, then you must go to Shantiniketan and spend at least 2 days (if not more) If you are an art lover, you will simply fall in love. Even the walls of rural homes are crafted with beautiful murals. You can say art in the air. There are many artists creating what they love to do and share. Better be there on a Saturday to attend the 'Khoai' mela on the red soil road (Ranga matir path) where artists themselves display and sell their own creations. You can interact with them to understand their passion for creativity. There are so many points where you can buy, 'Amar Kutir' is one of them. Then close to Viswa Bharti, there is another market where you get a lot of handicrafts. If you are apparel lover, you will be spoilt for choice, particularly hand print boutique. My lady simply went mad on shopping and she was shopping till drop. We were just 2 with a sedan and while returning there it was fully loaded with wares we bought (a lot of fabrics and apparel that are so reasonably priced). So many artifacts are there who intend to buy. And no doubt Viswa Bharti museum is the star attraction. Even a day spent at the museum will fall short as it's huge collection around 'Kabi Guru'. Then take a round in the Shantiniketan in the battery operated 'Toto', even the drivers (the one who took us at least) are so passionate about the place, when showing the place, narrate the history, recite poem that Kavi guru wrote on it so that you are taken to that period and feel it Shantiniketan on the whole a nice serene place and worth visit in week end. If you wish to experience the rush, then better go during 'Poush Mela' or 'Vasant Utsav' on the occasion of Holi when all inmates of Viswa Bharti wearing yellow apparel will sing the song 'Khol Kho Dwar Khol, sthala jale bana tale laglo je dol' I relished the place, I enjoyed hospitality and co-operative attitude of people and look forward to go again whenever I can make. We went a week before Puja, the lush green rice fields were a treat for eye as if Korean grass carpets have been laid all along the path And lastly don't forget to try 'Langcha' as Saktigarh (60 kms from Shantiniketan and 15 kms from Bardhaman on NH) if you are going by road. Buy as much as you can carry, people at home will ask for more as its too good for the price.

Video Reviews in Santiniketan

Cause Birth of santiniketan

Cause Birth of santiniketan  Video Review
02:00

Chhatimtala

Padmanava Chatterjee
4th Jan 18

Peaceful Asrama of santiniketan at night

Peaceful Asrama of santiniketan at night  Video Review
02:03

Tagore's Ashrama

Padmanava Chatterjee
2nd Jan 18

Science department of the university

Science department of the university  Video Review
02:03

Siksha Bhavan

Padmanava Chatterjee
5th Jan 18

A world heritage site

A world heritage site  Video Review
01:02

Chhatimtala

Sayantan Dutta
23rd Mar 17

Bhavan of Studies

Bhavan of Studies  Video Review
00:45

Patha Bhavan

Sayantan Dutta
23rd Mar 17

Heritage site as Rabindranath took his class here

Heritage site as Rabindranath took his class here  Video Review
00:49

Chhatimtala

Sayantan Dutta
23rd Mar 17

Presently the classroom for university students

Presently the classroom for university students  Video Review
01:06

Vidya Bhavan

Sayantan Dutta
23rd Mar 17

Very calm and peaceful with serene green

Very calm and peaceful with serene green  Video Review
01:27

Visva Bharati University

Sayantan Dutta
23rd Mar 17

A unique school with a lovely ambience

A unique school with a lovely ambience  Video Review
02:04

Patha Bhavan

Sweta agarwal
17th Jan 18

Department of music

Department of music  Video Review
02:03

Sangeet Bhavan

Padmanava Chatterjee
10th Jan 18