Shoghi Ratings & Reviews

Prabhakar pandey

Prabhakar pandeyratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

2 reviewsPosted 1 year ago

It is about 10km before Shimla

It was not bad experience overall was OK . But this is not a resort it is just a hotel 10 km before Shimla . Hospitality was OK as per booking and of course we were there at the peak time so hotel was quite busy . Transport from the hotel need to be revisited as there is nothing nearby if you don't have own vehicle.


Saurab Bither

Saurab Bitherratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

11 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Homestay . Not a hotel

We made lasy minute reservations and Mr. Chitranjan was kind enough to allow us to book rooms with a small booking amount. The rooms were nat and clean, interior were okay . Not too great not too bad as I said its a homestay. The view was excellent . The washroom was very clean and well maintained. Hot water was readily available. We had breakfast only that was okay. The swing placed outside our rooms (1, 2 and 3) was adorable and kids enjoyed . Service was good. There is no parking inside but safe and ample on the road . Overall it was a decent stay. I would say that if you want to relax away from the concrete jungle Shimla then this is the place. Do not put too much expectations as it is not a hotel.


Shivani  Dua

Shivani Duaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 5 years ago

Shoghi - The adventures trip with a Group

Shoghi is a small outskirt of Shimla, Himachal Pradesh, India. It is about 13 kilometers before Shimla on the Ambala Shimla national highway. The road to the Taradevi temple (hilltop) goes from here which is about 5 km. Shoghi is also famous for bus halts for food as there are many dhabas (local name for food outlets) here. Housing board has also constructed many flats here Nestled in the quaint, lush, green hills of Himachal Pradesh just 13 kilometers short of Shimla, captivating building blocks of pinks and yellows with sloping tin roofs add a touch of natural grandeur to the picturesque surroundings As you veer off the national highway towards the blocks, you realise you are entering the Housing Board Colony at Shoghi The colony was set up in the cozy hamlet of Shoghi in early 2001 by HIMUDA for meeting the housing needs of so many people. Not only accessible, the colony is far from the madding crowd situated on a knoll overlooking hills rising one after another to meet the insurmountable skies from a deep value just across the road. You can go to Shoghi, and back to nature, without running into traffic jams, a characteristic of Shimla But over the years, the colony has lost most of its charm. The metalled road gives way to streets of cobbled stones, as your huffing and panting car wheezes its way up the hillock towards the rising blocks of flats Look down the slopes, along the colony streets, and you find the greenery suffocating under the thick layers of rubbish. Carelessly tossed wrappers of potato chips, aluminum foils and empty soda bottles not only narrate the tales of not-so-quiet evenings enjoyed with drinks, but also of sheer disrespect for the nature and inability of the authorities to prevent the littering. The housing board society is now making attempts to clean up the mess, but the dirty picture's end is nowhere in sight It take you much time to realise that the colony has been left to fend for itself otherwise also. The concrete road signs, spelling out the location of the blocks, too seem to have crooked under their own weight Security too is an issue. The colony precincts have not been demarcated; and in the absence of fencing, it's free for all. Water meters are stolen, and the open spaces in the campus have metamorphosis ed themselves into free public parking lots for the 'outsiders' Shoghi offers a beautiful option for a stay near Shimla with lots of nature activities.


Rajiv Sharma

Rajiv Sharmaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted February 2013

Sunrise villa, shoghi

It is before Shimla, a bit off the way when you are heading to Shimla . But the place is beautiful, quite and serene. You will love it once you get there.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: The place is away from the main city so you will have to travel to Shimla for other things. Sightseeing can be enjoyed from your rooms or from the lawns where you can put your chairs, relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the valley.

Activities & things to do: Nothing such around the hotel for activities. You can explore the locales, relax.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Make your booking well in advance if you are going in the holiday season. The hotel is well worth its price and so can get full very easily. See the map for the location and you can always call the owner in case you need directions.

  • View of the sunset by the hills

Munish Puri

Munish Puriratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

5 reviewsPosted October 2012

Himachal Solace

Perfect destination away from the city life. Enjoy the nature in its Raw form

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Food was excellent with original
'Himachali flavour. Can do extensive nature walk. Its away from any market place, so can avoid spending on Shopping.

Activities & things to do: Trekking, Burma Bridge, Hammock, Rappling, Monkey Crawl.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Can go by road through Panchkula, Kasauli , Solan. Take some sunscreen for Summer as Sun can really be strong sometimes. Carry an umbrella to tackle Rain.


Jaya Ahuja

Jaya Ahujaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

4 reviewsPosted April 2012

Adventure is must

Thats the excellent place to visit with your family, for new couples, with your loved ones ,with ur dear ones........ as you will find everything for all age groups.e.g fun for kids, adventure for teenagers, loving ambience for lovers, serene, peace and calm place for fatigued or middle aged people, and ofcourse silence and fresh air for old people.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Shimla of-course, accompanied with kufri, naldera etc. is center of attraction, shopping for women , simla is woww!!!!! in that case. hey hubbys come on and lets loose ur pockets for ur beloved family........in case of food, you can find everything for all tongues...yummy pizza (dominos), south indian, balle balle punjabi chole bhature te naal lasi vi so and so and so.lots more...

Activities & things to do: Adventure games, rope climbling , cycling, are yaar much more, jungle walk etc., exotic spaaaaaaaa, body and head massage.i love it there.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Pick your sport shoes please, an umbrella, your light warm clothes for summer evening......


Rohit Juneja

Rohit Junejaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted May 2011

Aamod offers unique holidaying options to suit every preference.

Aamod at Dalhousie is perhaps one of the best summer escapades in North India. Located in the foothills of the Himalayas, the place redefines eco-tourism by taking it to new heights of luxury. I enjoyed host of adventure sports. The best part is we can choose our own dining spot anywhere in the resort and it is customised accordingly. The hospitality and service is also very noteworthy. The serene beauty and the freshness of the cool summer breeze definitely got me hypnotised and i cannot wait to re-visit the place again.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Lot of small places to look around

Activities & things to do: The adventure sports is a things must do

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Best season to travel is February to April


Shweta  Tanwar

Shweta Tanwarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted April 2011

A photograher's delight

One friday weekend sitting over a beer in a pub in Delhi we decided we just wanted to hit the hills in the northern India ... an unplanned , excited and adventurous trip . We decided and headed toward Shimla ... on the way before Shimla we discussed with a local gentleman about our plan or rather unplanned thought .. he suggested us visit 'shogi' .. its a delight to watch ...and we were like whats there to \'watch \' but neverthe less to to owe him headed towards shogi .

After reaching shogi we all were amazed and thrilled to see such a refreshing traquel beauty of nature .. with the sun rising , a slight glismp of himalayass , scary dense forest and the Chirpping birds something Delhi majoring lack .
everyone was going through the same feeling and emotions that we were destined and chosen one to reached a place which was in total symmertay what we are aiming for ..
we discovered and came across a beautiful and exquite gift of nature in \'shogi\' ..

i would suggest and recommend to everyone that over a weekend pack your bags and visiti \'shogi \' ..a small visit can give you lots of memmories , experience and peace in your life .

cheers !!!!!

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Food !! on my god .. no cuisines no fancy restruratnts .. just home made special light rich in taste 'pahadhi khana' by the guest house people .

Activities & things to do: Photography .. its a delight for all the photograhe to capture th Nature at its best . Other than photography we self organised a rope mountaining and tracking in the forest over a hill nearby ..

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: tips :
1.carry a book guide with you about that place
2. take your safety measures like first aid , rope , knife and all

Video Reviews in Shoghi

Also known as Rashtrapati Nivas

Also known as Rashtrapati Nivas  Video Review
01:28

Viceregal Lodge

Sagar Gant
1st Jan 17