Sonamarg Ratings & Reviews

Lalit

Lalitratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Real Heaven on Earth

Sanmarg, awesome place, paradise or heaven of india. I went first time to there, but I will visit again. In may month, we enjoy snow fall also. It was amazing experience for us. Zero point is the place there only snow in may month. I will visit again in winter season.


Er. rahul

Er. rahulratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

184 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Soanmarg

Sonamarg is a town with snookered flower-laden fields, surrounded by majestic glaciers and serene lakes which casts subtle spells on the visitors.
Translating into 'the land of gold', Sonamarg is a picturesque town located in Kashmir valley at an elevation of around 2800 km from sea level. Bounded by natural beauty, breathtaking glaciers and serene lakes the place is a popular tourist attraction of Jammu & Kashmir. Nilagrad, a colony of the Baltics, is a picturesque location that one can always visit. Sonamarg is the home of many beautiful and serene lakes. Various mountain lakes such as Gangabal, Vishansar, Gadsar, Satsar and Kishansar are situated in and around Sonamarg. Another scenic eye catching lake in Sonamarg also includes Vishansar. Krishnasar Lake, at a height of 3, 801m above sea level, is popular for fishing with beautiful species such as the trouts.

  • Soanmarg

Abhinav Sudan

Abhinav Sudanratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

65 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Good Place for visiting

1. Why to visit?
It is a hill station around 80 km from Srinagar. Can become a one day trip from Srinagar. With nice mountains around and the worth watching valley with Sindh Nallah, the largest tributary of Jhelum river this place is quite famous.
2. Must Visit Places.
Thajiwas glacier is a major attraction. Ganglia and Gadsar Lakes are also good for trekking. Baldly is 15 km from Sonamarg from where Amarnath Yatra route begins.
3. Local food and Shopping.
Not much of options are available. Though local dhaba and hotels provide good food. For shopping everything of same sort is available in Srinagar also.
4. Activities.
Trekking routes lead to local lakes. During winters hiring a sledge is also an option alonwith many other things. Afternoon spent near Sindh Nallah is also recommended.
5. Advice.
Hiring taxi from Srinagar is suggested. Make it a one days trip. Local trekking routes can be explored. Hiring sledge during winters. Photography is also suggested.
Happy Holidaying !!
Warm Regards


Kamal Rao

Kamal Raoratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

29 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Sonamarg ..

Sonamarg is a good place to visit in Kashmir. We visited this place during July month. Weather of this place will be pleasant during may to august. This place is very silent, cool breeze, magnificent views of valleys and sound of river will fresh your mind and soul .. Just hire a taxi from Srinagar and visit this place also don't forget to bargain with taxi driver. This is just one day tour. There are ample of hotels and food options in sonamarg. Trekking is also available. Sonamarg is on leh Srinagar road so some times there is little traffic on roads. Condition of roads is good. Locals are very helpful in Kashmir. If anybody is going to. Kashmir then he should definitely visitors place


Devakanni Subramanian

Devakanni Subramanianratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

14 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Sonamarg .. Tajewas glacier

In July and August we were in Sonamarg.
Good for anyone to stay and go for trekking.
We lost some good amount of weight.
Friendly local people.
We had Maggie, bread omelettes and ordered food in Maggie point near that glacier.
Down the hill we happened to see many hotels but we chose Dogra /mogra ... As they served South Indian food too.
Worst thing was the route from Manali to Leh ... And Leh to Sonamarg ...
75% of the route is awesome and breath taking. Thanks to Border Road Organisation and Indian Army for good roads and safety and connectivity round the clock.
25% of the roads are very risky ... With shooting stones, land slides, water crossing across ... Narrow roads in the cliffs where you are facing another vehicle often. We were in constant prayers. Plains looked very beautiful the day we reached Chandigarh.
We dint try the route via Srinagar as there was curfew ... Other wise Sonamarg is only 120 kms away from Srinagar airport ... Don't miss that beauty ... It is closes from October to March we heard .. Due to heavy snow fall. May and June to see the snow covered region and to play with sledges.
Go July for a healthy trek.
Go with hand gloves, woolen socks, jerkins, head covers etc .. An umbrella too ... As it suddenly rains ...


Chirag Solanki

Chirag Solankiratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

14 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Blissful

It was a one day stay for us in sonamarg. The place just had a mesmerising beauty of itself.
With glaciers and mountains all over, the cool breeze flowing makes you spell bound.
The journey to sonamarg serves as pure bliss for bikers and travellers.
The place has plentiful of small hotels for tourists. The river Sindh flows close by and almost everyone can reach it. It seems the place is tailor made for tourists themselves with everything one hopes for, whether it be glaciers, mountains, river, Flower gardens .. -A complete package.
Special places to visit are zero point, thajiwas glacier and the Sonmarg wildlife sanctuary.
One can easily fall asleep in the vast plain gardens lying at the foot of the mountains.
You can hire a Taxi that usually charges an amount starting from 200/- which can vary with the place and the no of persons.
The place can be well explored in a day or two.

  • Blissful
  • Blissful
  • Blissful

Srinivasa Raghavan

Srinivasa Raghavanratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Nice place to visit

Sonmarg is the one of the most beautiful place in Kashmir. Approximately 50 kms from Srinagar, you can reach by 21/2 to 3 Hrs by vehicle. To reach the glacier, one must hire private vehicles (if you come by using taxis or Jammu registered taxis). You have to bargain for everything or you can take Ponies also. For sledging also one has to bargain. Gum boots and coats are essential to ride sledges. People are very good but unless you bargain you will loose your penny. We travelled from Srinagar early in the morning and returned late evening back to Srinagar. Good hotels are there. You can enjoy the scenic beauty of Thejiwas Glacier and Indus River throughout this trip.


Noufal Kaippally

Noufal Kaippallyratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Beautiful place to be in summer

If you are planning to take a horse ride, please do bargain. Or just walk a bit towards the cliff ( away from the union guys) you will get horse for cheap rate. If you are photography enthusiastic try a trek towards the glacier. Its really worth. Don't forget to carry a bottle of water.


Udit

Uditratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Snow Fun!

The best place we visited in our 5 day trip to kashmir. Had good amount of snow, scenic beauty. I would recommend the ice sledge ride downwards. It would cost you 200 bucks if you negotiate good. The local car to sonmarg will take around 2k. You can always negotiate for less.


Arunav Singh

Arunav Singhratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

42 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Spectacular view and place of snow

The route up to Sonamarg is quite photogenic and you will find yourself trying to see both sides of the car ;) There are cottages available if you wish to stay for the night or a few days There is ample snow here to play around with and you can opt for a sledge on which the guides present there will take you to the top and then after you have spent your share of time, they will take you sledging along the slopes of the hillock you just climbed 3:) Be sure to lend heavy jackets and boots before the climb Don't bargain with the people there . They don't make a fortune doing that :/ just ask them for a reasonable price If you take chips packet then it will swell up and maybe burst too due to difference in air pressure . Beware On the way there stop at some local dhaba or tea store and drink 'Kahwa' . You will love it The perfect place to create some unforgettable memories :)

  • Spectacular view and place of snow
  • Spectacular view and place of snow