Srirangapatna Ratings & Reviews

Prasad Bhuvanagiri

Prasad Bhuvanagiriratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

22 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Visit during kaveri pushkaram

We have good stay at srirangapatna, and our main purpose is Pushkar visit. We have gone to Srirangapatna for KAVERI Pushkar Bath AND PERFORMING TIRTHAVIDHI. The arrangements at the temple and Kaveri river bank is not good.
We have come from Andhra Pradesh we saw Krishna and Godavari Pushkarams, Govt has made excellent arrangements for the good Bath and darshan of Temple but Karnataka Govt has not done any thing for the welfare of the pilgrimages.
I have bad bathing experience on the banks of River Kaveri during early hours, there is no lighting and proper steps arranged in to river.
Government should make proper arrangements for safety and security of Pilgramages
/tourists my wife lost purse with all cards and sizable money at Nimishambica Temple we have lodged complaint in Srirangam police station. ( I really appreciate srirangapatna Police for their prompt FIR booking)
Srirangapatna is a beautiful island in river Kaveri, this is the ideal place for taking pushkara bathing


Harsha Anjanappa

Harsha Anjanapparatingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

57 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

A very sacred temple of lord Vishnu

A very sacred temple of lord Vishnu, very attractive idol of lord Ranganatha in sleeping pose had an historical value of the temple . . The Tipu Summer palace is a bit scruffy, but you can easily imagine it's original splendor and there are interesting artifacts and wonderful paintings relating to Tipu sultans life in the ground floor exhibit. There is no access to the upper floor, sadly

  • A very sacred temple of lord Vishnu
  • A very sacred temple of lord Vishnu
  • A very sacred temple of lord Vishnu
  • A very sacred temple of lord Vishnu
    +3

Harsha Anjanappa

Harsha Anjanapparatingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

57 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

An ancient temple

This is one of the ancient temple near to Mysore - spectacular architecture both outside and inside the temple . . You will be amazed by the architecture used to build massive structure in 12 century. You must visit this holy place of lord Sri Ranganatha Swamy (Lord Vishnu ). Place is too crowded with long queue. Suggested to visit by before 7: 30 pm to 8 pm for lesser crowd

  • An ancient temple
  • An ancient temple
  • An ancient temple

Biswajeet Mishra

Biswajeet Mishraratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

58 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Great King Tipu Sultan Palace and History

If you are a historical lover and excited about king and architecture then you must visit the place and check it out how Tipu sultan build his place so that no other person couldn't enter to Srirangapatnam. You can also see the death point of tiou sultan, his cannon, his ' barood ghar' etc

  • Great King Tipu Sultan Palace and History
  • Great King Tipu Sultan Palace and History
  • Great King Tipu Sultan Palace and History
  • Great King Tipu Sultan Palace and History
    +4

Samarth Raj

Samarth Rajratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

30 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

The city that saw dynasties change

Forts have always fascinated me! Their positioning, their design, their construction, the hidden secrets, everything about them create awe in one's mind I visited Srirangapatna basically to see the fort, but as I went around, visited places within the fort, I felt this isn't a fort, its a symbol of culture, symbol of eras gone by, the mute speaker of our past Built around Ranganatha temple, from which the city derives its name, this fort has seen it all Initially built as a mud fortification during Vijayanagara empire, this fort has seen constant re-fortification with last major advancement done by Tipu Sultan. From one of the placards I came to know that, the fort was 2nd most formidable fort in India and capturing this fort meant capturing entire Mysore region The visible: Ranganathaswamy temple, Jumma mosque, remains of Tipu's palace, Tipu's place of death The not so visible: The war memorial, The water gate The invisible: The Dungeons I wasn't able to explore this place thoroughly due to lack of time. Will visit again as there is still a lot to see.


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Srirangapatna

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Venkatesh V

Venkatesh Vratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

23 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Nice trip to Srirangapatna

We had a good time overall, from Bengaluru, we took a innova, and it was worth the visit, we visited enroute the Slik City, the City of Toys, etc . . The visit too was great considering the importance of the city and its surroundings. The remains of the fort, the temple, it was all great. Kids loved the trip and hence it was like value for money


S.p. Padmaprasad

S.p. Padmaprasadratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

17 reviewsPosted June 2015

Historic and scenic place

This is very near to Mysore and once it was the capital of old Mysore state. Here, we have Tippu sultan's palace, His and his parents' tombs, fort, and Famous Sri Ranganatha Temple to see. Jamma mosque is also a place to visit, to know about Islamic architecture . Tippu's summer palace or 'Daria Daulat' has murals which dipict wars fought between Hyder, Tippu and Britishers in 18th century. It has a museum with many historic antique materials. The 'Gumbaz' or tombs of Hyder, his wife and tippu are at a place little away from this palace . . Sangam or the meeting place of two branches of Cauvery river is also a beautiful place to see. You can float in the river using the basket type round boat, which the local people run . Ranganatha staue at Ranganatha temple is a unique one. It shows Lord Vishnu in the divine sleeping pose, with Lakshmi at his feet. You can see such ataues only in 3-4 places in India . About 6 hours is enough to see this town. You need not halt. You can return to Mysore on the same day and halt there. If you wish to stay herre, there are ample of Good hotels, including government hotels . I have visited this town more than 10 times.


Kaustabh basu

Kaustabh basuratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

8 reviewsPosted September 2014

Good for a day trip

Good for a day trip, around 2 hours from Bangalore . . Must visit is the Tipu Sultan's summer palace, his tomb area and a little further down is the Sangam, a joint of 3 rivers. There are a few temples and churches around which you may think of visiting too. Also, post that, it is a nice idea to visit the historical town of Srirangapatna, which is now being unearthed by the Archaeological Survey of India. Inside the town, you will find normal daily life although it has got some important points like the point where Tipu's dead body was found, the place where the British officer was held hostage, one big Jumma mosque, etc. You should have ample food places and restaurants around there inside the town if you are a south Indian else you have survive on that only. :)


Nishitha K n

Nishitha K nratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

522 reviewsPosted April 2014

Place known for its history

Srirangapatna is located near by Mysore . This is has many tourist place. Its has a famous historical monuments and amazing bird sanctuary. It;s a idea place for peaceful vacation. You can take a swim in the river also. Best time to visit in summer and also in rainy season


Santosh Kundum

Santosh Kundumratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted March 2014

Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary- Birds Paradise

The Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary is situated at 4 Kms. From Srirangapatna and 19 Kms. From Mysore. The Bird Sanctuary is named after Sri Ranganatha Swamy, an incarnation of Hindu God Vishnu. It is an island on the river Cauvery and it is spread on an area of 40 acres. The Sanctuary includes six islands and was declared a bird sanctuary in 1940 Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary is an important nesting and breeding ground for the thousands of bird species. Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary witnesses the arrival of a large number of migratory birds of different flocks from as far as Siberia, North America and Australia. The migratory birds start arriving at the Ranganathittu Bird sanctuary in December and the breeding season starts during the winter months and they finally migrate back with their nestlings in August The islands host numerous mammals and migratory birds. Some of them are Bonnet Macaque, colonies of Flying Fox and common small mammals like Indian Gray Mongoose, the monitor lizard and Civet. The Marsh Crocodile also called the Mugger Crocodile is a common inhabitant of the riverine reed beds. Migratory water birds include Painted Stork, Asian Open bill Stork, Common Spoonbill, Plonked Stork, Blackheads Ibis, White Ibis, Lesser Whistling Duck, Indian Shag, Stockpiled Kingfisher and other common birds like egrets, cormorants, Oriental Darter, and herons. The Great Stone Plover, and River Tern also nest here. It is home to a large flock of Structured Swallows Renegaded boat Tours of the islands are available throughout the day, and are a good way to watch birds, crocodiles, otters and bats. The seasons for visiting the park are: June - November (during the nesting season of the water birds).

Video Reviews in Srirangapatna

Tippu

Tippu  Video Review
02:05

The Mausoleum Of Tippu

Neha Mody
14th Jan 18

Dariya Daulat Bagh, a historical pics

Dariya Daulat Bagh, a historical pics  Video Review
02:03

Daria Daulat Bagh

Moix Husain
5th Jan 18

Tipu Sultan last breath but no maintenance

Tipu Sultan last breath but no maintenance  Video Review
02:02

The Obelisk

Shivi N
28th Oct 17

An unkept historical place

An unkept historical place  Video Review
01:56

The Obelisk

Avinash Tomer
28th Oct 17

Tipu's glory

Tipu's glory  Video Review
01:45

Daria Daulat Bagh

Vibhooti Mangal tiwari
24th Jan 17

My visit to dariya daulat

My visit to dariya daulat  Video Review
00:58

Daria Daulat Bagh

Sanjaymody
14th Jan 18

Refreshing & peaceful place

Refreshing & peaceful place  Video Review
01:29

Srirangapatnam Fort

Snehal Raibole
23rd Jan 17

Nimishamba temple

Nimishamba temple  Video Review
01:58

Nimishamba Temple

Ashusonu
31st Dec 17

The death place of Tipu Sultan.

The death place of Tipu Sultan.  Video Review
01:36

The Obelisk

Capricorn Girl
28th Oct 17

nice location

nice location  Video Review
01:53

Captain Baileys Dungeon

Avinash Tomer
28th Oct 17

Cheapest Flight Deal