Thanjavur Ratings & Reviews

Ariff mohamed

Ariff mohamedratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Best luxurious hotel

This has been an excellent hotel and value for the money. The hotel has been very supportive and cooperative. Specially the complimentary breakfast has been excellent and typical South Indian which one can enjoy. The rooms are very well maintained and rest rooms too are hygienic. I had an excellent stay in this hotel and would definitely stay once again on my visit to Thanjavur


Iypan pabu

Iypan paburatingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Excellent Hotel, True Value for Money

I stayed at the hotel very nice food very good I stayed in this hotel for 1nights, the hotel manager and front office staff were very helpful and gave very good service. The food was also good. I was happy and comfortable with my stay in this hotel,


Chetana Siddagangaiah

Chetana Siddagangaiahratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

64 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Thanjavur

We reached Thanjavur on a saturday morning. Checked into hotel Balaji Inn which is near new bus stand and at a distance of around 4 kms from Railway station. The hotel is neatly maintained and the staff courteous. We freshened up, had breakfast in a nearby hotel and went to visit the Brihadeshwara Temple or the Big Temple. The temple is very beautiful. Usually the place is crowded, tourists from local places, abroad and students from nearby schools and colleges all make it a crowded place. However, the temple gives a good experience to all. The statue of Lord ShivaLinga inside the temple is allowed to see from a close proximity.
The place easily takes 2-3 hours. There is a giant Nandi statue opposite to the temple. Overall, a very good and memorable experience.
We visited the temple twice in the same day. Once in the evening, as the sun rays falling on the temple would give a very beautiful view.

  • Thanjavur
  • Thanjavur
  • Thanjavur
  • Thanjavur
    +2

Jose mathew

Jose mathewratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

6 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Old Property, but okay

For Vaitheeswarankoil, maybe this is okay. But better value be found at Hotel White Palace, Sirkali only a short distance away . . Google Maps can confuse this hotel with the same name @5 km away.


Vijay Anand

Vijay Anandratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

23 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Architectural wonder!

The Brihadeeswara Temple is popularly known as the 'Big Temple' in Thanjavur. Brihadeeswarar Temple is an architectural wonder and built by the Chola king Rajaraja, it is one of the tallest temples in the world. The Brihadeeswara Temple is the world's first complete granite temple.

The temple is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site 'Great Living Chola Temples'. The 'Vimana' or the temple tower is 216 ft high and is among the tallest of its kind in the world. It was so designed that the Vimana never casts a shadow at noon at any magnificent temples as well as exquisite bronze sculptures. This is to avoid people walking on the shadow as per Indian culture no valuable things should be stepped by human foot.

There a single granite stone of about 80 tonnes positioned at the top of the tall tower to make it stable against all natural calamities due to its height. There is a big statue of Nandi carved out of a single rock, at the entrance.

  • Architectural wonder!
  • Architectural wonder!
  • Architectural wonder!
  • Architectural wonder!
    +5

Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Thanjavur

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Ramachandren Sundaram

Ramachandren Sundaram

7 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Temple Visit

We, a family of 3 persons went to Big Temple, Tanjore on 1st October. No Entrance Ticket of Rs. 50 and Rs. 250, like Srirangam. Pilgrims, they go by queue and have Shiva darshan very calmly. Such a nice Temple and any number of times you can go to this temple. People going to Tanjore can go to Tanjore Palace and Punnai nallur Mariamman Temple also.


Saranya Devanathan

Saranya Devanathanratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

462 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

The architectural beauty of Periya koil- big temple

I made a day trip to Tanjavoor from Trichy. Since there was no water in River Cauvery, it was dry all over. It is Cauvery delta. So many dry canals, I crossed. There was no **** field found on the way. The banana trees were looking burnt out. However the trip was worth just for its big temple, called as 'periya koil' Maharaja Saraboji's palace is not all that great. Plenty of educational institutions are there on either side of the highway. A visit to the local artisans's house completes the half a trip. Good and clean restaurant served tasty spicy chettinad vathakolambu meal. On the way back, we deviated from highway to visit Poondi madha koil (church) and Kallanai dam before reaching Trichy


Isha Jajoo

Isha Jajooratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

7 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Thanjavur- a place from history book

Well, Thanjavur is not in everyone' s list but it had alwayz been in my checklist. There are two main reasons - one because of its architecture and another for its especial Thanjavur paintings which I did not know until I read history book and about Chola dynasty and came down to South.
As far as architecture is considered, Brihadeshwara temple is infamous UNESCO site and paintings here are made of gold .. Their price itself starts from Rs. 1200 ...
So how did I go there ...
I went there from Chennai though in local coach as this was also one of random plans. It took around 6 hours to reach Thanjavur. And I went during April, so it was quiet HOT there. So do carry a high SPF sunscreen.
After reaching there, I checked in to a lodge as it was just a one-day trip and then hired an auto to go to the temple. Only the 1000 years old temple is a great place to visit .. But the temple itself is soo huge and wide spreadout ... It takes 2 -3 hrs if you are a person who appreciates architecture. Also you will get really nice handicrafts and Golu to buy there.
Must say the architecture is really amazing there. Inside there are many small temples of Lord Shiva and Ganesha. If you go through google and pics I am sharing here, then even you would add it to your list.
Overall, the food is OK here and itz a small city, lot of tourists come to visit the UNESCO world heritage site and praise the gold paintings.

  • Thanjavur- a place from history book
  • Thanjavur- a place from history book
  • Thanjavur- a place from history book
  • Thanjavur- a place from history book
    +1

8

8ratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Heritage and monumental city

Around the globe Tanjore is known to be temple city and archaeological place, those who are passing this city will have possible positive vibration. Experience the vibe. East or west Tanjore is best for many religious issues and neighbor city of Kumbakonam is having countless temple.


Aishwarya Kokate

Aishwarya Kokateratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

6 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Most beautiful carving on stone- its amazing

The tanjavur is an District place city. It is very beautiful city . There are many places to visit. I visited only Two place 1st one is Brahideshwar Temple (Big temple). This temple is of lord 'Shiva( Mahadev)'. The Shiv lingam of the lord Shiva is the 2nd largest lingam in India hence it is called as Big temple. The temple is really mind blowing . No words to say. It's a great and most biggest Temple in India. The stone carving is amazing. The entrance of the temple is stunning. It is also recommend as UNESCO site. You must watch it. The 2nd place is Royal palace and Art gallery. Thanjavur Royal place museum is one of the ancient museum in town. Which holds ancient items, images, paintings, sculptures. The art gallery is filled with sculptures, antique pieces, and the regional handy crafts like dancing doll, coconut sculptures, etc. And we can get some articles which are Eco friendly and mostly related to southern India. We can also buy those articles in the palace itself as well as in the surrounding of the palace. Thanjavur was the ancient capital of the Maratha empire when the Shivaji Maharaja's father Shahaji Raje used to rule the empire. So we can see much Maharashtrian ( Marathi carving on the walls of the big Temple.

  • Most beautiful carving on stone- its amazing
  • Most beautiful carving on stone- its amazing

Video Reviews in Thanjavur

Must see destination in Tanjavur

Must see destination in Tanjavur  Video Review
01:02

Brihadeeswara Temple

Megha G krishna
22nd Jul 17

Amazing temple

Amazing temple  Video Review
00:42

Brihadeeswara Temple

Manoj Menon
5th Nov 16

Cheapest Flight Deal