Thekkady(Periyar) Ratings & Reviews

Srinath kadam

Srinath kadamratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Unique attractions

The place has very unique attractions like the elephant ride, Kahtakali dance show, Kalari Payittu, Periyar National park for boat ride, trekking, tea garden and spice garden Tours . The place has decent multi cuisine restaurants. The place is best suited for both family and couples alike .


Dhanesh gupta Gupta

Dhanesh gupta Guptaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Thekkdi one day

We reached afternoon at 2 thekkdi from Munnar, our hotel was very near from ticket counter, morning 7. 30 we took ticket for boating (55 each bus ticket and entry pass), than we reach at 7. 45 morning, next boating time was 9. 30. It was good place for sone quick pics, we took boating ticket @ 225. Every ticket has a seat no and boat name. But unfortunately we can't see any animal, boating took almost one hour, than took breakfast there only. Return around 12. Same days 7 we return to Bangalore


Himanshu rana

Himanshu ranaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

11 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Good one ...

Periyar lake visit very tough ... How can you keep age limit of 12 for any forest visit ... Lake was good but getting there very difficult in peak season ... G
GAVI visit superb. Could see Elephant there ... And the water fall after boat ride was once in a lifetime experience ... It can't get better than that ... The most calm place with nature at its very best. Enjoyed the Hospitality as well. Idli at this place and Hospitality of MR. VIJAY ... TOO GOOD. Thanks to all GAVI staff ..


Rajesh Krishnan

Rajesh Krishnan

1 reviewPosted 3 years ago

Got a view of a herd of elephants during nature walk

We were walking in the periyar tiger reserve when we suddenly heard twig breaking. We stopped in our tracks and there was this herd of elephants about 50 M away from us. The lead tusker was seemingly watching is. We waited and they moved away. We changed our direction and 5 mins later the herd was again visible. This time, they did look threatening and the tail curling was visible to us. We moved away again, but the thrill of having been so close to a herd of elephants in wild will remain


Manoharan Manthayan

Manoharan Manthayan

1 reviewPosted 3 years ago

Thekkadi .. Just reachable after Tamil Nadu's circuit visit, from Madu

Stayed at Elephant Court just adjacent to Club Mahindra property, in centre of town. A fabulous hotel. Meals were very cheap in adjacent eateries, so food is taken care of. What next ... Food for your soul ..! OK. Plenty available around. Take a good auto, the driver himself will act as a guide. You can go nook and corner of greeneries ... And for new comes ... Boat ride in Periyar Lake is very must. And for us ... It was just ... Eating. Relaxing ... Fanning all the times ... Because we were four brother/sisters families.


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Thekkady(Periyar)

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Siva subramani

Siva subramani

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

For trekking freaks and nature lovers

Thekkady eco tourism is a boon for people who needs to explore nature, and who loves to trek on deep forest, you can appreciate the biodiversity which we observe there, rare birds and plant species are found. Lake is centre of attraction, I love bamboo raffling rather than big boat. Very chill pleasant climate you can enjoy, lot of good restraunts are there where you can get authentic Kerala foods like kappa, fish curry, etc .. It will be really a paradise for nature lovers and bio researchers.


Gokulavan Jayaraman

Gokulavan Jayaraman

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Thekkady - Trekking - Kalari - Kadakkali - Elephant - Enjoyment

Thekkady is in Kerala but a border area to Tamil Nadu. Recently I went along with my family to a trip to Thekkady. I enjoyed the Bamboo Forest, Periyar Boating & Gavi forest trekking. Show on the native arts like Kalari and Kadakkali were impressive.
Periyar Boating. A must visit at Thekkady. There are many safaris arranged by the govt. To take the boat ride, good time is really morning 0600 hrs. Next slots are at 0930, 1130 and 1500 hrs. There are around 4-5 boats, some of them have upper Deck too. Early morning ride will have higher probability of spotting animals. In waiting area, beware of monkeys.
Kalari & Kadakkali Centre:
At the outset it looks like very commercialized act. But this dying art should be revived by us. Money spent is worthy. Kadakkali stage is small but performers are large. I expected bigger stage and more characters, but these performers are good at their act. Martial arts, kalari is absolute pleasure. It's the best event that you can witness in Thekkady. Overall must visit attraction.


Lokesh ganeshan

Lokesh ganeshan

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

The Nature & the weather with mind blowing landscapes availability of variety in food

The Spice tour was amazing lots of plants & trees which we are not aware of can be a nature remedy for us .. Weather is lovely. Things to carry Windsheeter/Sun glasses/Hand bagage to carry some fruits & Water .. Proper trekking shoes etc


Shvetang Gupta

Shvetang Guptaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

34 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Must visit

Thekkady is in idduki district and very near to Munnar and Madurai. If you want to via Madurai a lot of option like cab, buses is available. If from Munnar or alleppey best way is cab and buses. Many places in thekkady you can visit like periyar national park, Deepa spice garden, elephant junction, kattakali, kalari art and many more. If you want to take massage a lot of options is available here. One day is enough to cover this place, if you are vegetarian please stay in main city.

  • Must visit
  • Must visit

Kamal Anand

Kamal Anandratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Nothing great for Nature Lover arom Kerala Government or Forest Department

Thekkady is a nice place but we had gone for Periyar lake and jungle safari which Govt of Kerala and Forest Department is not running now so it's a waste of visit to Thekkady. Govt must guide and do something for people who visit with hopes. Thanks. Hari Aum


Video Reviews in Thekkady(Periyar)

Periyar lake

Periyar lake  Video Review
00:48

Periyar Lake

Sanya Gupta
12th Jan 18

Great morning forest walk

Great morning forest walk  Video Review
01:52

Periyar Tiger Trail

Rupa kumari
5th Jan 17

Beautiful boating experience

Beautiful boating experience  Video Review
01:53

Periyar Lake

Rupa kumari
4th Jan 17

Good play

Good play  Video Review
01:18

Kadathanadan Kalari Centre

Akansha
20th Dec 17

Serene - must visit

Serene - must visit  Video Review
01:44

Periyar Lake

Rupa kumari
4th Jan 17

Periyar lake

Periyar lake  Video Review
00:39

Periyar Lake

Alpna Gupta
12th Jan 18

Kadathanadan Kalari Centre Program

Kadathanadan Kalari Centre Program  Video Review
01:15

Kadathanadan Kalari Centre

Praveen p n
1st Dec 17

Popular International Destinations

Cheapest Flight Deal