Thiruvannamalai Ratings & Reviews

Rajesh m

Rajesh mratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Perfect for Tiruvannamalai pilgrimage.

When visiting Tiruvannamalai, make sure you visit Ashta lingam and Adiannamalai temples. Health permitting do the Girivalam, bare foot, which is about 14 kms. It would be better to do both separately. Visiting the temples can be done in the morning, hiring an auto and Girivalam at night. Blisters on feet can be a problem, which can be prevented by applying petroleum jelly and or wearing socks.


Madhusudhana rao batchu venkata

Madhusudhana rao batchu venkataratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Holy pilgrimage town

It's a holy pilgrimage town to the devotees of Lord Shiva. Specially girivalam of pournami gives mental peace of mind to all the devotees. And coming to Ramana Maharishi Asharam is a another wonderful place in Tiruvannamalai. Om Arunachaleswarar.


Kaushik Bhadury

Kaushik Bhaduryratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

6 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

It is a sacred place and mostly visited by local people.

It is a sacred place and mostly visited by local people.

Thiruvannamalai is sacred town in Tamil Nadu places to visit there involves Sri Ramana Ashram (there were several devotees from France are visible), and Arunachaleswar Temple a very ancient temple of Lord Shiva.

A nearby temple named Golden Temple near Vellore built few years back also a center of attraction. The property built in a large area clean and well maintained.

In Thiruvannamalai town there were several properties belongs to Ramana.


Krishna kishore y

Krishna kishore yratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Spiritual and rejuvenating

Thiruvannamali is not a destination for a casual weekend trip.
It's more of a spiritual place where you go there to discover God and to discover yourself - at least an attempt at both.
This abode of Lord Shiva in the form of Agni Linga (Arunachaleswara) is considered very powerful. The hill next which the temple is built itself is considered the Shiva Linga. Some actually take circumambulation of this hill (Giri Pradakshina) considering that they are actually taking a of Shiva Linga. En-route, corresponding to each direction, there are 8 Shiva temples. People visit each of the temples while they go about their circumambulation. It is about 14-15 Kms and takes 4-5 hours for a normal walk.
The Arunchaleswara temple itself is a large complex with multiple small temples, ponds inside the temple. Goddess Parvathi temple is also present next to the main Shiva temple. One must take time to observe the temple structure, appreciating the skill of artisans who must have built this temple with much love and care. While inside the temple, there is also a place (A small Shiva temple inside the complex) where Ramana Maharshi used to meditate behind the Shiva Lingam.
Once you discover the magnificence God, you proceed to discover yourself by visiting Ramana Maharshi Ashram. You can search Google/Wikipedia to know more about Maharshi. Once you are in the Ashram you will surely notice the peace and tranquility in the air. There is a small room (Nirvana Room - this is where Maharshi spent his last days) where his belonging are displayed. His simple living style is evident from those. There is also Shiva temple inside the Ashram. People usually meditate in absolute silence in the 'Samadhi Hall' as well as in the small room (old hall) nearby where he perhaps used to spend his time meditating, preaching, etc.
There is good connectivity to this town. Accommodation is affordable. As I mentioned earlier, this is not a 'Tourist' spot and hence you may not find exciting places for 'Shopping' !. During the festival seasons, there may be large crowds.
This is a must visit place in South India, on your spiritual journey.


Nagasundaram chellappa

Nagasundaram chellapparatingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

3 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Experience Siva everwhere

One of the oldest and important Saiva sthalam. We can experience a complete spirituality in Thiruvannamalai. Nearer to this a vainava sthalam Thirukovilur is there. We can experience both saiva and vainava by visiting these two places which is closer to each other. One can experience the peace prevailing in the Ramana ashram. Ramana ashram is in the Girivalam route. One day is enough to visit temples in Thiruvannamalai and Thirukovilur.


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Thiruvannamalai

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Amitkumar ak

Amitkumar akratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 5 years ago

Fun

This is very good place. We all people enjoy aloat. I have seen many good thing around this place. I have come with 4 friends. They all enjoy lot. I think you must also come to this place . . Aohud. Juud. Ji mental of gas which surrounding our planet is refer ti as atmosphere. It is complex mixture of gases water


Shrikrishna Nadgauda

Shrikrishna Nadgaudaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

3 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

A great experience

1. One needs Guide and you should select the right one. I was very uncomfortable with the guide that Hotel Aruna Anant provided.

2. The important place called sacred cave of the peerless master Sri Ramana Maharishi' and Old Shiva temple.

3. The priest does organise special pooja if required but on one to one basis.

4. Be careful of water and food. Cleanliness is truly questionable.


Rayanpradeep subramanian

Rayanpradeep subramanianratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

3 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Visit for spiritual experience and leave all you worries in your home and come

Thiruvannamalai is very holy and you immerse in its spiritual atmosphere by absorbing the temple structure and its scriptures. Take time to read its legends and see its various architectural marvels, which will make one wonder about the relative simplicity of human life.
Auspicious time to visit is full moon day of every month, but if you want to really experience you inner self and beauty of the temple ,, go there in less crowded days and spend time in the temple.


Prasad

Prasadratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

5 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Horrible if you don't know Tamil

I saw many religious places in India. Every where I find boards in English / Hindi apart from local language so that travellers from other states can also get information. To my surprise, I found all boards in this town, especially, in the main temple and all other temples, boards are put only in Tamil. We failed to recognise the statues in temples at many places. Auto drivers and local people look at you differently when you ask any question in other language and don't bother to give information required. I was under the impression that all Tamil people know English well. But even officials in Police, shop keepers and transport managers don't respond to you when you ask any information in English. Really I had tough time to get proper information during my Week's stay here.


Kannan

Kannanratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

6 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Good place to go

This is one of biggest and greatest temple in Tamilnadu. Many stories are there for this temple. Many guru's ashrams are surrounded by this temple. It is situated before the spiritual mountain . . It takes minimum three hours to visit the temple. If you are spiritual traveller then don't miss this temple. If possible you can go for Giri valam of the mountain. If you go by walk for Giri valam it will take 4 hours to complete 14 kms. The best time to go for Giri valam is evening and early morning If you choose to go in Full moon day then you will walk with lakhs and lakhs of devotees Come here for day with your family. Visit temple and Ashrams and if possible go for Giri valam then you would feel a different experience in your life which you didn't experienced before.


Video Reviews in Thiruvannamalai

Thiruvannamalai - Shiva temple

Thiruvannamalai - Shiva temple  Video Review
02:04

Arunachaleswara Temple

Mahadev Hirematt
3rd Oct 18

Temple view

Temple view  Video Review
00:31

Arunachaleswara Temple

Chinnaraja Subramaniyam
11th Jun 16

Cheapest Flight Deal