Valparai Ratings & Reviews

Arun

Arunratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Poor man's paradise

It is a paradise for the poor. The climate is so good. The amazing factor is there is no mosquitoes. Hangul river a silent valley surrounded by tea estates located is a soul treat. When we Bath we feel like a yogi. No crowds no pollutions no wastes only the sound of the river which opens the sixth sense of the human. A good trip.


Harish bhat

Harish bhatratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

6 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Green retreat for the eyes

It is a nice calm, hill station unlike Ooty or Kodai as its not commercialized and you won't find many lodging/hotels and restaurants. Its full of tea and coffee plantations, which are privately owned. There are few bungalows and if you are lucky to get there, you will have a memorable time.
Some of the must visit places nearby is the Stroppily Falls.
There are couple of wild animals visible early morning or at night.


Vikas Rana

Vikas Ranaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

74 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Untouched beauty

Valparai is an unexplored destination and you feel it the moment you land there. The drive through the hills from Pollachi is superb. You have to cross 40 hairpin bends across 40km and take about 2 hr from the foothills. The roads are very nice. The entire area is covered by lush green tea estates on either side and we stopped by various places to click pics. It is a breathtaking experience. This is how I felt about Coorg circa 2005 before it got commercialised. We stopped by a couple of tea estates and climbed a bit to get a feel of the place. There are a lot of small tea shops on the way to enjoy the fresh tea from the estates.
We were staying in Sethumadai and went to Valparai for a day trip. On the way, we visited Aliyar dam. We missed visiting Sholayar Dam and Monkey falls due to lack of time. After visiting, we regretted not staying in Valparai itself. It would have been a very different experience.

  • Untouched beauty
  • Untouched beauty
  • Untouched beauty
  • Untouched beauty
    +34

Er. rahul

Er. rahulratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

184 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Valparai

At a distance of 92 Kms from Coimbatore, Valparai is a beautiful hill station that stands at an altitude of about 3, 500 feet on the Anamalai Hill Range. The place is a part of Indira Gandhi Wildlife Sanctuary but also has a decent number of tea and coffee estates surrounded by forest. The region is also a rich elephants and is known to have many leopard sightings as well. The Upper Sholayar Dam, Monkey Falls, Balaji temple, Puncha Mugha Vinayagar Koil (Near Sholayar) are some of the best places to visit in Valparai.

  • Valparai

Sree K

Sree K

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Most Memorable family weekend getaway!

We went crossing the Aliyar dam.
We never wanted to the big and yummy fish fries in front of Govt Aquarium-cum-park.
Took good bites of fish which were awesome and a lip smacking delight for street food lovers at cheap rates. I have never tasted such fish fries before, trust me!
Then, we went to monkey falls. It was a picturesque location for spending quality time with family.
Yes, we took Bath in the falls. My one year old loved it though she was shivering in cold. On our way back, tried to vist 'Arivu Thirukoil', a meditative space but my husband was wearing shorts and we were denied entry. We promised ourselves to come back again with dhothies to enter into the sacred space.
There were two small shops nearby - murugan tea shop where potato bondas were so delicious and a tea shop were we enjoyed evening snack of sukku kaapi, kammurcut before winding up our journey back to home.
Oops! We left our hearts in the foothills of Valparai and it brings happy tears to recollect our trip!


     saravanan

     saravananratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature

Valparai is a very good destination to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. Fully surrounded with tea plantation and the greenery relax our eyes. You can go for a early morning trekking and see variety of birds, lion tailed monkeys.
We had a good time there with the family and relaxed in Sirukundra bungalow. The bungalow is very good surrounded by mountains and tea plantation. They took us to their tea factory and explained the end to end process of tea making. Good place for relaxation and photography.
Valparai is small town and you can hardly find good hotels. We found Krishna Inn hotel very decent. They serve both Veg and non-veg.
On our way to Valparai, we visited Aliyar Dam and Monkey Falls. The water flow is very less and in Monkey falls no water. Very disappointed. Also heard Colonial River is good but very less water. (We went there during April last week. After monsoon, a good place to relax
Nallamudi Viewpoint is a must see.
We didn't explore more places and we just relaxed in the bungalow.


Dinesh Rangasamy

Dinesh Rangasamyratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

9 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

%plan 100 %enjoyment

We planned for Kerala trip. But on the way we reached dharapuram around the 9. 30pm had dinner and seeing sign board that valapari is about 65 km we decided to go valapari. Its memorable trip we can't forget of thrilling night drive in the hills seeing with elephant deer on the roads. And reached 2 am. Took small hotel to stay and around 8am we make sightseeing and get down to ethereally falls in late evening .. Overall a adventure trip with memorable movements in forest Ghats.


Ravisundar Kumaraswami

Ravisundar Kumaraswamiratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

7 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Valparai, Must visit Place

Valparai is a Hill station unparalleled. The best time to visit is just after the first bout of Rains, (ie) August end to September. It is a place Everyone will want to go. Especially People from the cities, to get away from the Noise and Grime. There are plenty of Drive- aways in and around Valparai. We are in the middle of Tea-Plantations Slope after slope. The air is pure and moist, Days are pleasant and Nights become a little chill. There are many Eating houses in the town serving good food, and of-course the local Brewed Tea is served everywhere. Though there are frequent bus services in and around Valparai, Taxi Cab is an ideal transport option to see the hills in leisure as one needs to stop frequently on the wayside just to savor the beauty of the place.
We also took a trip to Ethereally falls inside Kerala through a forest road, seeing many more water falls enroute. The Drive was exhilarating and the falls were breathtaking. Occasionally we came across a Lion tailed Macaque and Hanuman Langur also.
Valparai is easily reachable from Coimbatore. And there are many Lodgings and Homestays catering to our needs. Our stay in Misty Creek was comfortable as the establishment was clean and neat with the rooms offering a look-out to the valley below. Valparai in short is a must visit place, where we find that crass commercialization is yet to take over


Raja Lovedreamz

Raja Lovedreamzratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

5 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Excellent destination. Enjoyable only with friends and not with family

I have been to Valparai a month back. The destination is not yet spoiled by commercial people. The population is very low compared to other hill stations. This place is enjoyable only with friends and not suitable for family. You can a enjoy a whole day in the Lower aliyar dam. You can take a Bath with friends and not recommended for families as this place is filled with 5 to 6 feet water. This location resides beneath the Valparai hill.
Specifically in Valparai you can see lot of waterfalls but you are not allowed to take Bath in that. The entry is restricted by forest department.
Colonial river where you can have a small Bath. The water level is up to 3 feet. But there will be lot if fresh water snakes. So please be aware of those.
You can enjoy the view of lower Nirar dam. Upon travelling to the upper Nirar dam you are allowed to enter to take Bath if the water level from chinnakallar falls is low. The water is very chill and you can a breathtaking Bath.
So up to my view, Valparai is only recommend for group of friends and to take Bath.
Speaking about the climate, it is usually chill hovering around 23 degrees. You will feel the frozen climate only during Jan and Dec. During this period you can enjoy the climate but not the water from any falls.

  • Excellent destination. Enjoyable only with friends and not with family
  • Excellent destination. Enjoyable only with friends and not with family
  • Excellent destination. Enjoyable only with friends and not with family

Isha Jajoo

Isha Jajooratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

7 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Valparai- Paradise of Tamil Nadu

Valparai is a hill station with full of tea gardens. It is commercialised as people are rarely aware of this Taluk. It is located 3, 500 feet (1, 100 m) above sea level on the Anaimalai Hills range of the Western Ghats, at a distance of 100 kilometres (62 mi) from Coimbatore and 65 kilometres (40 mi) from
Pollachi.
I went to Valparai by rental car( MYLES with three of my friends- Rajni,
Rashmi and Debu. It took 13 hrs to reach there as it is 600 kms from Chennai. We
Left in the Early morning, we stopped on the route for breakfast, lunch, dinner
And just good sightview. Once we paused at a Shiva Temple which has 1008 Shivlings
So beautifully aligned.
We talked, shared our life's funniest moments and laughed hard.
After whole day journey, we finally reached Valparai crossing 40 hairpin bends.
With every hairpin bend, we were getting one step close to the top of the hill.
Now the problem there was we did not book any accommodation. We were running
Short of time as we had to find the stay and had to have dinner also.
Everywhere we could see the homestays around. So we checked out a few homestays
And finally stopped by one. It's a furnished 2 BHK flat. We found it OK and waste our time as we had
No options and prices were getting high because of weekend. After a quick
Freshen-up, we went for dinner to restaurant named as' Krishna Inn ‘. The food was
Delicious- be it non-veg or veg.
That day after coming back to our stay, we gossipped and crashed out as next day we
Had to get up early.
THE DAY 1…
So the next day, we left for the highest point taking a teenager as our guide.
Funny thing is he developed crush on me .. LOL…but he is just in Grade 9 and so
Intelligent and fluent in English in his age and at a small place like Valparai.
He took us around to the beautiful spots of the town.
Firstly we went to the highest point in Valparai where our car got stuck on a narrow road
And because of state Election, we go further. Then we thought of going to Nirar Dam. Sun was on our heads. It was extremely hot there. This dam is very height ed. It was getting renovated that time, so could not even get in there.
But to be noted - interesting thing about this dam is it has 8 km long tunnel which has river up to knee length but that time we were restricted to go there too. After that we stopped by a small tea shop which served amazing tea with yummy cookies. And clicked many pictures of flora.
Then we headed to the Loam's viewpoint and saw the sunset from the Grasshills. We were taking pictures and everything was going fine. Suddenly we heard some ROAR that too not once or twice, many times.
So we all were really frightened and we quickly went into the car. The roar gave us goosebumps. It was so horrifying
As we were in the jungle and Elephants, Tiger, boar and leapard are the commonest animals found there.
But then we moved ahead and realised that there was a temple nearby and some song played in the temple.
Huh What a relief it was .. :P
Then comes the DAY 2 .. Another exciting day of the trip ..
We left early after having South Indian breakfast from the homestay as our return journey as per the plan
Was going to be longer ( Returned via Kerala route). En route, we encountered many small waterfalls and foggy tea gardens.
We have also been to one of the well known dams I. E. SHOLAYAR DAM which is 20 kms from Valparai. It's view from
Top of the hill was splendid
We then moved ahead to next place while returning back to Chennai- Paschal falls and then Ethereally falls. Yeah,
The FAMOUS one WHERE the popular
Songs like JIYA JALE(DIL SE .. ), BEHNE DE( RAAVAN), BAAHUBALI, CHURA LIYA HAI TUMNE etc. It was so crowded
That we got stuck in Traffic Jam. We did not get any place to park our car nearby the fall. So we had to park it
Very far. We took tickets and we were astonished to see the crowd, it seemed like another were 3 routes to
Go to the falls. Some people were coming back from one of the ways after taking Bath there. We went to the least
Crowded location of the fall where we could relax peacefully and enjoy the mother nature. On seeing the waterfall, we were OMG GORGEOUS
The bliss-pool at the bottom was crystal clear that we could see our foot vividly. Then we had lunch
At the nearby restaurant there. My friends had freshwater fish and I had Kerala meals - Lip smacking it was
And then we returned back to Chennai with a lot of memories

Video Reviews in Valparai

Pleasant weather and breathtaking views

Pleasant weather and breathtaking views  Video Review
00:39

Sholayar Dam

Thejasvi Bhat
26th Jul 16

Scenic View Point

Scenic View Point  Video Review
00:18

Thottapura View Point,Valparai

Thejasvi Bhat
26th Jul 16

Nice temple

Nice temple  Video Review
00:24

Aarthi Ganapathi Temple

Thejasvi Bhat
24th Jul 16

Awesome Tea Estates

Awesome Tea Estates  Video Review
00:31

Tata Coffee Estates

Thejasvi Bhat
24th Jul 16

Religious visit

Religious visit  Video Review
00:20

Santhana Mariyamman Temple

Thejasvi Bhat
26th Jul 16