Velankanni Ratings & Reviews

Nirmala s

Nirmala sratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Bless us all

Its was pure divine through our souls that transferred our mind and body to the holy mother. The ambience has changed a lot. Its getting better and beauty. People gets responsible everyday. Its good to see this change as cleanliness is a crucial factor for this divine place.


Peter edward

Peter edwardratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Spend quality time with family

Spend quality time with family and Parents at Velankanni. Localites are very helpful and the place has changed since I had last visited. Food is much more safer, thanks to good hotels coming up in the area. Easily accessible for people who takes the bus.


Elamma Varughese

Elamma Varugheseratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

9 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A famous religious destination

Our Lady of Velankani is a famous religious destination for Indians. You see more non Christians than Christians here purely because people have experienced huge miracles here. The best time to visit is between Christmas to March and if you like crowds than September. The quality of hotels are basically and okay .


Pritvi Kanchi

Pritvi Kanchiratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

266 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A trip to historic Velankanni

I had been to Velankanni by train in September 2015. Nagapattinam was carved out as a district from Thanjavur in 1991. In the old heydays, Nagapattinam was ruled by the Cholas and the Pandyas. The major festivals celebrated in Nagapattinam include Pongal and Kandhoori. Nagapattinam is reachable from all major cities of India through all the three modes of transport I. E. Road, rail and air. The must-visit attractions around Nagapattinam include Tranquebar, Nagore and Velankanni. Tranquebar is located around 35 kilometers from Nagapattinam and it displays brilliant influence of Danish architecture. Velankanni is located around 14 kilometers from Nagapattinam and is a holy city for christians in India. Here, the sorrowing mother is seen holding Infant Jesus in her hands. Velankanni is part of the coastline abutting Bay of Bengal. The Nagore mosque is an important shrine for the followers of Islam .


Richard  K.joy

Richard K.joyratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Super place to be .

Very nice place to be for couple of days. Nice church's and good time to spend wit god. I felt good to be there wit my partner . She too lover the place and we will visit every year from now . But climet is very hot now in February Good rooms from church assisse room very big and all facilities available there. Richshal.


Vipin Nadar

Vipin Nadarratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

4 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Its all divine with nice surroundings

Vellankani is a sacred Basilica for the Catholics community. This is located in Nagapattinam district in Tamil Nadu. We can reach this place by rail or road, easily connected by buses from Bangalore and Chennai, and by train from Chennai. I try to visit this shrine at least once every year. This place has peace and tranquillity surrounding it. This place is surrounded by hotels for every budget, and additional to it the shrine management also provides rooms and dormitories for the pilgrims. The Shrine is close to the Vellankani beach. This place offers mouth watering seafood you can choose from crabs to prawns to seasonal fishes. The shrine management also operates few canteens on the premise where you can have good quality regional food for breakfast and lunch. This place has an Aura of its own. Bag packers can travel at very nominal expenses. You will also find large families visiting this shrine also carry along foodstuffs and use the community kitchen setup by the shrine management at nominal fees to prepare dishes for the whole family. You can by souvenirs from the stall managed by the Shrine. They also have their own museum displaying many offerings offered by the pilgrims This Shrine is one of the best managed religious places in India The best time to visit Vellankani is during the Church feast during August or during Christmas or Easter .


Praveen Kumar

Praveen Kumarratingratingratingratingratingrating3.2/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Nice trip to Velankanni but the place is dirty

Hi: . . I am Happy to share my memory about Velankanni trip at last month actually I am hindu one of my friend from RC back round his brother became a father so we got chance to visit vellankanni so we start 19-Nov-2015 through train vellankanni express after reached Egmore only come to know it linked express up to nagapattinam we travel along with kamban express after that travel to vellankanni we reach around 8. 20 A. M. We already reserve the room in charge cottage it is in old vellankanni after complete breakfast in cottages we visit St Sebastian Church it vary oldest church in vellankanni and first build in vellankanni build by fisher man's actually the church having to story one is our lady save fisher man's in sea at time of cyclone and another one is give the mike to physical challenged boy they design painting and statue you can see in new vellankanni church after then we visit new church distance between old one and new one around one and half kilo meter but some of them nil down wake it was horrible our lady don say that any I don't want speak about it then we visit new church was build in 1990 then eat lunch with fish cary and visit museum front of church they display all donated items and reason why the donate after that we reach the brothers house meet my friend brother Evening we visited beach and eat con, fish, tender mango and crap then back to room take sleep next day early morning we start towards where the cavery river brach join in sea it just fare away in vellankanni it was wonderful then we arrange small boat and reach deep sea travel around the vellankanni for that we pay 100 rupees per head after that we spend full day in beach then we start our traval again towards Chennai the same train. Nice experience in vellanikanni trip more enjoyment but only think the place are vary dirty every where garbage. Climate is so nice. Heavy power cut also every hour the cut the power.


Bosco fernandez

Bosco fernandezratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Velankanni, a religious trip!

We had been to Velankanni purely for faith reasons. There was heavy rain a few days before we left for Velankanni. Even when we landed and on our way to Velankanni we did not know the extent of damage around the rain had done . . But as faith would have it we landed in Velankanni to bright sunshine. Unbelievable but true.


Sanjay Kumar

Sanjay Kumarratingratingratingratingratingrating3.2/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Good experience

We had stayed in Hotel Prakash in Velankanni. We stayed for two days. We found that the hotel accommodation is comfortable and food is exceellent. Rooms are well maintained and spacious also. The location of the hotel is very close to the seashore. All the staff were very close to the seashore and near church. All the staff were very polite and trialed nicely. We enjoyed our stay there. Bothroom water is good water other some hotel issued salt water. The rooms are clean and tidy. They used well cottons. I also suggest my near and dears. When they comes to Velankanni.


Vijayalakshmi Prem kumar

Vijayalakshmi Prem kumarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

An awesome pilgrimage place

Velankanni, an awesome and beautiful place as a piligramage centre. A miraculous place, where mother mary blessee with all the petitions of the devotees . A nice place for shopping a lot of Items, Staying rooms, at a very reasonable prices. The most Exciting thing is the Beach at Velankanni. Every one must and should have a visit to this place atleaset once in a life time, to get the Blessings of Annai Velankanni . . Happy Travelling.

Video Reviews in Velankanni

Shrine flag hosting - Annai Velankanni church

Shrine flag hosting - Annai Velankanni church  Video Review
00:51

Velankanni Beach

Anton Joel
30th Aug 16