Velankanni Ratings & Reviews

Nirmala s

Nirmala sratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Bless us all

Its was pure divine through our souls that transferred our mind and body to the holy mother. The ambience has changed a lot. Its getting better and beauty. People gets responsible everyday. Its good to see this change as cleanliness is a crucial factor for this divine place.


Peter edward

Peter edwardratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Spend quality time with family

Spend quality time with family and Parents at Velankanni. Localites are very helpful and the place has changed since I had last visited. Food is much more safer, thanks to good hotels coming up in the area. Easily accessible for people who takes the bus.


Elamma Varughese

Elamma Varugheseratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

8 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

A famous religious destination

Our Lady of Velankani is a famous religious destination for Indians. You see more of Non-Christians than Christians here because people have experienced huge miracles here. The best time to visit is between Christmas to March and if you like crowds than September. The quality of hotels are ok.


Pritvi Kanchi

Pritvi Kanchiratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

234 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

A trip to historic Velankanni

I had been to Velankanni by train in September 2015. Nagapattinam was carved out as a district from Thanjavur in 1991. In the old heydays, Nagapattinam was ruled by the Cholas and the Pandyas. The major festivals celebrated in Nagapattinam include Pongal and Kandoori. Nagapattinam is reachable from all major cities of India through all the three modes of transport i.e Road, rail and air.

The must-visit attractions around Nagapattinam include Tranquebar, Nagore and Velankanni. Tranquebar is located around 35 kilometers from Nagapattinam and it displays brilliant influence of Danish architecture. Velankanni is located around 14 kilometers from Nagapattinam and is a holy city for christians in India. Here, the sorrowing mother is seen holding Infant Jesus in her hands. Velankanni is part of the coastline abutting Bay of Bengal. The Nagore mosque is an important shrine for the followers of Islam.


Vipin Nadar

Vipin Nadarratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

4 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Its all divine with nice surroundings

Vellankani is a sacred Basilica for the Catholics community. This is located in Nagapattinam district in Tamil Nadu. We can reach this place by rail or road, easily connected by buses from Bangalore and Chennai, and by train from Chennai. I try to visit this shrine at least once every year. This place has peace and tranquillity surrounding it. This place is surrounded by hotels for every budget, and additional to it the shrine management also provides rooms and dormitories for the pilgrims. The Shrine is close to the Vellankani beach. This place offers mouth watering seafood you can choose from crabs to prawns to seasonal fishes. The shrine management also operates few canteens on the premise where you can have good quality regional food for breakfast and lunch. This place has an Aura of its own. Bag packers can travel at very nominal expenses. You will also find large families visiting this shrine also carry along food stuffs and use the community kitchen set-up by the shrine management at nominal fees to prepare dishes for the whole family. You can by souvenirs from the stall managed by the Shrine. They also have their own museum displaying many offerings offered by the pilgrims. This Shrine is one of the best managed religious places in India. The best time to visit Vellankani is during the Church feast during August or during Christmas or Easter.


Praveen Kumar

Praveen Kumarratingratingratingratingratingrating3.2/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Nice trip to Velankanni but the place is dirty

I am Happy to share my memory about Velankanni trip at last month actually am Hindu one of my friend from RC back round his brother became a father so we got chance to visit Velankanni so we started 19-Nov-2015 through train Velankanni Express after reaching Egmore only came to know it linked express up to Nagapattinam we travel along with Kamban Express after that travelled to Velankanni we reached around 8. 20 AM.

We already reserved the room in charge cottage it is in old Velankanni after complete breakfast in cottages we visited St Sebastian Church it's oldest church in Velankanni and first built in Velankanni by fishermen, actually the church having two story one is our lady saved fisherman in sea at the time of cyclone and another one is giving the milk to physically challenged boy. They designed painting and statue, you can see in new Velankanni church after then we visited new church distance between old one and new one around one and half kilometer but some of them kneel down and walk it was horrible. We visited new church which was built in 1990 then had lunch with fish curry and visited museum front of church, they displayed all donated items and reason why the donate after that we reach the brothers house, met my friends brother.

Evening we visited beach and ate corn, fish, tender mango and crab then back to room slept, next day early morning we started towards where the Cauvery River branch join in sea it just far away in Velankanni, it was wonderful then we arranged small boat and reached deep sea travel around the Velankanni and for that we paid 100 rupees per head. We spent full day in beach then we started our travel again towards Chennai in the same train. Nice experience in Velankanni trip more enjoyment but only thing the place is very dirty and everywhere garbage. Climate is so nice, heavy power cut also every hour they cut the power.


Bosco fernandez

Bosco fernandezratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Velankanni, a religious trip!

We had been to Velankanni purely for faith reasons. There was heavy rain a few days before we left for Velankanni. Even when we landed n on our way to velankanni we did not know the extent of damage around the rain had done. But as faith would have it we landed in velankanni to bright sunshine. Unbelievable but true


Vijayalakshmi Prem kumar

Vijayalakshmi Prem kumarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

An awsome pilgrimage place

Velankanni, an awesome and beautiful place as a pilgrimage centre. A miraculous place, where mother mary blessed with all the petitions of the devotees. A nice place for shopping a lot of Items, Staying rooms, at a very reasonable prices. The most exciting thing is the Beach at Velankanni. Every one must and should have a visit to this place at-leaset once in a life time, to get the Blessings of Annai Velankanni.

Happy Travelling!!


Antony Marshell

Antony Marshellratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Holy place Velankanni

Its holy place. Everyone needs to visit to place once in a life and also good place for sightseeing. Every Christians must go to this place to get blessings from maria. Everyone should go with their family. Its a religious wonder full place. Very pleasure to give a review about this place.


Ss Kulkarni

Ss Kulkarniratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

2 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Good, We as a family are regular visitors

Good, We as a family are regular visitors of Velankanni every year. Food, sight-seeing and shopping were good. Activities & things to do: Beach, Eat fresh food and shop. Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc, On road, there is extra 50 Km through karur road that is the best route by road. Other route's the roads are worst. Favourite Restaurant was Hotel Sea-gate for both veggies and non veggies.

Video Reviews in Velankanni

Shrine flag hosting - Annai Velankanni church

Shrine flag hosting - Annai Velankanni church  Video Review
00:51

Velankanni Beach

Anton Joel
30th Aug 16