Vellore Ratings & Reviews

Ravi Unni

Ravi Unni

17 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Diwali break with family including visit to Divya Desam

We left Chennai @ 5 am to Sholingur, one of the Divya Desams. We wanted to reach in time for temple opening (8 am) after climbing 1300 steps. What an experience! Magnificent views; lot of monkeys; no crowd; pleasant climate - what more to ask? A climb of 1 hour (supposedly) took as 40 minutes and the way back another 20 minutes.
Completed darshan of Lord Narasimha (form of Vishnu) in Yogi pose - its one of the 108 divya desams (holy places for followers of Vishnu) and climbed another 430 steps to have darshan of Hanuman atop the adjacent temple. We did not find any discomfort in going up this 'smaller' hillock either! Followed that with the visit to temple at the nearby Vishnu temple in Sholingur town.
Then off to Vellore, around 50 km away and checked in @ SMS Grand. Its a decent hotel adjacent to Chennai - Bangalore Highway with comfortable and clean rooms, friendly, courteous and accommodating staff. Being pure veg, had lunch at Hotel Saravana Bhavan (where else ?? ). After a light nap, off the visit the Golden Temple - a must visit during the night. Fantastic setting and landscaping; temple is all glittering gold. No cameras / phones, so no photos attached! Dinner at ... You guessed it right HSB, but this one at another location; we were told its the more recent one - just a year old.
After a night's break, started. Yes that's right a niggling calf pain (but mind you only walk up the steps! So much for the smug, athletic and fit family :)
The breakfast was served around 8 am with enough choices for pure veg south Indian foodie family.
Off we go to the Vellore Fort. Parking charges is 30 but entry is free. Visited the Jalakandeswarar temple, a 500 year old temple dedicated to Siva built on vast expanse of space and mind blowing out of the world sculptures, most of it still intact. Its an ASI protected monument along with the fort.
Walked around the fort to get a feel of the place and doing some fantasizing on what it takes to be on this side of the fort. Being a Friday, the museum was closed; we gave the park a miss. Most of the space is occupied by government offices and therefore nothing more to see.
Having completed the Fort visit, off we went to ... You guessed right, another temple viz. Balamurugan Ratnagiri temple. And oh, by the way it has golden plating and is on a small hillock !!! Its dedicated to Subramaniam / Muruga.
Blessed by all the gods, we came back to our room and checked out. Lunch was at a veg restaurant attached to Khanna Fiesta on Anna Salai; interestingly one of the few places which offer brunch (2 combos) at affordable rates. Unfortunately, they are served only till 12 pm; we were late by an hour. Amazing combo meals seems to be their specialty!
After a hearty meal, drove back to Chennai. A bonus for my elder son was a chance to drive in the highway at a top speed of 70 kph - within the permissible limit of 80 kph (no worries - he holds a valid driving licence).
Evening and we are home, beating the evening city traffic. Blessed, thrilled, relaxed and sore calves, mind you only when we take the steps - now not just the steps as in stairs, but even taking the next step !!!


Pradeep chakraborty

Pradeep chakrabortyratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

7 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Nice city

It's a city known for its medical facilities but you can explore many things in and around Vellore. Most interesting places are Vellore fort that houses jalakandeswar temple, tipu mosque and st John's church. Sree narayani golden temple is another attraction it's huge with gold covering main temple. 1500kg of gold plated


Devashish Chirde

Devashish Chirderatingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

4 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Only good place to see is glodan temple

You must see glodan temple. Best temple in the area. But they should allow camera or mobiles. It is very beautiful, peaceful place but I don't have a single pic of it. You must visit. Another location is Vellore fort. But it is not maintained as compare to the fort in Maharashtra also very small fort. Too much rush there


Chinnaraja Subramaniyam

Chinnaraja Subramaniyamratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

50 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Peaceful place

Best place in North West Tamil Nadu. In and around temples are located and Western Hills are nature of Beauty. Sripuram temple and Rockford Temple are located. Rockford is most wonderful brick wall and ancient building construction. It an amazing place to visit evening time. We will take relaxation and silent peace in our heart and mind.


Suraj Sabat

Suraj Sabatratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

33 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

A small town with perfect roads to reach

It was a bike trip to Vellore which is around 220 km away from Bangalore. To reach here are really amazing and well maintained. After reaching Vellore we stopped at Golden temple which is not that attractive but it depends on individual, so you can give a try as you dont have much place to visit in this City.

Spending an hour, we moved towards Vellore fort and you should not miss this place if you are in this town. In this fort you have temple and the design of the interior of the temple is really good.

You also get Park, Church, Mosque, moat and many others thing to see. You can find some restaurants in the radius of the 3km to have some food. If you are planning to have a long ride for a day you can visit this place.


Pakkia

Pakkiaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

3 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Nice experience

I went to Vellore for my educational purpose and not for sight seeing. So cannot elaborate or describe anything about it. It was hot climate. But food and transportation is good. Road and surrounding cleanliness as usual Indian standard. My travel mode was autorickshaw. And they are okay. Not charging huge and they are polite in nature.


Pritvi Kanchi

Pritvi Kanchiratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

266 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Easily accessible place

I had been to Vellore by road in the month of September 2015. Vellore is easily accessible by all the three modes of transport I. E. Road, rail and air. The nearest airport to Vellore is Bangalore which is at a distance of around 200 kilometers. The must-visit attractions in and around Vellore include Vellore fort, Vellore church, clock tower and the state government museum. Vellore fort is one of the oldest forts in India. The church of South India is around 150 years old. The heritage clock tower of Vellore was built in honour of King George V. This was dedicated to the 14 british soldiers who lost their lives in World War I. The state government museum is located within the Vellore fort and was opened in the year 1985. This museum is famous for old art objects and wood-carvings .


Saranya Ganesh

Saranya Ganeshratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

29 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Visited the beautiful temples

We went to Vellore on a day trip from Chennai. The city is warmer than Chennai and best to be visited in the cooler months. We visited several temples. First was the Jalakandeshwarar fort temple. This temple had no deity for several years. It's inside the Vellore fort which is filled with exemplary stone carvings all through. It's a must visit

  • Visited the beautiful temples

Pankaj Singh

Pankaj Singhratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

It was just Wow!

Darling hotel . Nice and expensive . All sorts of facilities were there but temperature was very high . Watched movie . Roam around . There was three monument to be roam was Vellore fort, Vellore golden temple, Vellore lake but that was dry . Buses were available for going up and down and don't forget to go to ambur for cheap leather products.


Vidyut Maurya

Vidyut Mauryaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

127 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

City of golden temple

Historic city of Tamilnadu Vellore has so many faces. City known for big hospital. But now city is also known for newly built golden temple or Maha laxmi temple. It is just seven kilometers, from Vellore can't railway station. A temple covered from huge amount of gold.

  • Vellore

Video Reviews in Vellore

Must visit

Must visit  Video Review
00:48

Jalakandeswarar Temple

Bipin
30th Nov 17

Must visit

Must visit  Video Review
02:01

Jalakandeswarar Temple

Bipin
30th Nov 17

Historical monument

Historical monument  Video Review
00:41

Vellore Fort

Bipin
30th Nov 17

Nice temple

Nice temple  Video Review
00:19

Chelliamman Kovil

Sethu Siddharth
16th Feb 18