Meghalaya Ratings & Reviews

Amit Ghosh

Amit Ghoshratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

581 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Abode of Cloud

This is in true sense Scotland of East. The vibrant hills covered by the mesmerizing clouds. The splendid Khasi Hills has magic to offer to every visitor. The welcoming people of the state is an added bonus to the scenic beauty of the place. A must visit for those in love with green mountains.


Ajay khurana

Ajay khurana

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Amazing north east

It was an unexplainable experience. Truly amazing it is ... Meghalayan people areas good as it's weather ... But yes carry an umbrella at all times ... In the end I will say you will see nature untouched ... Raw & beautiful


Debalina banerjee misra

Debalina banerjee misra

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Beyond of beauty

Wonderful experience.. You have to take light warm clothes.. Backpack.. In the month of October.. People who are wondering to the lap of nature please visit the scotland of east... Meghalaya.


Moutrisa Paul

Moutrisa Paul

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Mountains & waterfalls

Meghalaya is a good destination for the mountain lovers & nature lovers. There's so much of waterfalls too. You can feel the cloud on you face in Cherrapunji. One can experience the city night life in Shillong as well as the perfect village experience in Umden. Umden is a small village, all the huts are fully made of bamboo. Campfire with local language songs & dances is also very enjoyable. If you love to explore different foods you can taste Silkworm there. There's a lot of things to explore in Meghalaya. The crystal water river Dwaki is there. Famous double decker living root bridge is one more attraction. It's naturally made with living trees roots. The nature is full of surprises in Meghalaya. You can see the Bangladesh border from the check post.


Suresh

Suresh

95 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Monsoon magic

We always wanted to experience the monsoons in the land of the clouds - Meghalaya. It was a beautiful experience and we took away so many memories from the trip. We spent ten days in Meghalaya and visited many places including - Shillong, Cherrapunji, Mawlynnong (Asia's cleanest village), Nartiang Monoliths, Dawki (Bangladesh border), Jowai and Mawphlang Sacred Grove.

We saw some of the most magnificent waterfalls we have ever laid eyes on. Tyrshi Falls was our favorite because we could get really close to the falls.

The trip to living root bridges in Cherrapunji was probably the most wonderful experience for us. My wife and I love trekking and this was the first time we trekked in the rains in such a scenic setting. After reaching the double decker living root bridges we also went further ahead to the rainbow waterfalls. This is also an amazing waterfalls and was worth the additional couple of hours trek.

Overall the trip to Meghalaya was amazing and I would surely suggest visiting in monsoons if you enjoy the rains and have a good sense of adventure.


Suresh

Suresh

95 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Monsoon Magic

We always wanted to experience the monsoons in the land of the clouds - Meghalaya. It was a beautiful experience and we took away so many memories from the trip. We spent ten days in Meghalaya and visited many places including - Shillong, Cherrapunji, Mawlynnong (Asia's cleanest village), Nartiang Monoliths, Dawki (Bangladesh border), Jowai and Mawphlang Sacred Grove.
We saw some of the most magnificent waterfalls we have ever laid eyes on. Tyrshi Falls was our favorite because we could get really close to the falls.
The trip to living root bridges in Cherrapunji was probably the most wonderful experience for us. My wife and I love trekking and this was the first time we trekked in the rains in such a scenic setting. After reaching the double decker living root bridges we also went further ahead to the rainbow waterfalls. This is also an amazing waterfalls and was worth the additional couple of hours trek.
Overall the trip to Meghalaya was amazing and I would surely suggest visiting in monsoons if you enjoy the rains and have a good sense of adventure.


Saakshi Rajat

Saakshi Rajatratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Must visit state for many offbeat experiences

Meghalaya undoubtedly appear as an abode of clouds where clouds would host you so well that you will feel one with them. Clouds treat your eyes as far as you can see, touch your soul with loving rains and roar out loud to make their presence felt all the time. It is one such state which has definitely blown me over.
1. Time just flies by the side of Umiam Lake.
2. You can't resist yourself from indulging in such touristy Boating.
3. Adventure on your mind?.. Zip lining for you.
4. Decelerate your car and appreciate brilliant highways & far fetched grasslands.
5. Skip Dawki and spend a night camping on the banks of Umngot river in Shnong Pdeng.
6. Soothe your eyes and soul with crystal clear emerald waters of Umngot river.
7. Dainthlen waterfall has intriguing history and definitely are not just another falls. See it to believe it!
8. Witness the most beautiful sunrise and indulge in landscape photography.
9. The experience at Double decker living root bridge is worth the steps you take to reach here. A must do on your itinerary!

  • Must visit state for many offbeat experiences
  • Must visit state for many offbeat experiences
  • Must visit state for many offbeat experiences
  • Must visit state for many offbeat experiences
    +6

Shazneen singaporewala

Shazneen singaporewalaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

10 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Beautiful

Guwahati-Shillong- dawki -mawlingyong- cherrapunji-tyrrna double decker living root bridge trek ..
Guwahati is the nearest airport. You could see the Kaziranga wildlife sanctuary, kamakhya devi temple and umananda island -smallest inhabited island in the world .. And umananda temple.
Then head to Shillong. Do the Shillong sightseeing. Don bosco museum, sacred forest, etc.
Head to shnongpedang ahead of dawki to experience the transparent lake and zip lining for adventure. You could stay overnight in the tent by the banks.
Head to mawlingyong the cleanest village in Asia. Visit the elephant peak and elephant falls. The small living root bridge is just a miniature of the actual dbl decker bridge.
On reaching cherra do the cheers sightseeing of the seven sister falls maisnam caves etc and next day head for the 5 one trek of the dbl decker bridge. It is a hectic trek. Carry minimum baggage. Check into 1 of the very humble and simple homestays. After a good break head further in the forest for the rain bow falls 1. 5 hours away. Head back to your homestay and stay overnight.
Next morning check out and head back to cherra.


Manasi sarangi

Manasi sarangiratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

15 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Went in the month of November

Meghalaya is a mountain state of india, Its a very pleasant stay. Umium lake, shilong peak, elephant falls, nohkalakai falls, cherrapunji peak, seven sister falls and eco park, these are the places you may visist for the same. Although it is not an hyped place, its very cool and peaceful. If you really love mountains, you will love it


Suhani Sogani

Suhani Soganiratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

16 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Unexplored Paradise

To escape the scorching heat, this summers we visited Meghalaya - one of the Seven Sisters. It is one of the most mesmerising place in India. Following are the must visit places.

First day, we went to Dawki, 97 km from Shillong, where the Umngot river flows overlooking the plains of Bangladesh. It has the crystal clear water where you can see everything beneath while enjoying the boating. Then we left for Mawlynnong - Asia's cleanest village where there are few tourist spots to enjoy the beauty of the village.

Second day, we headed towards Cherrapunji where the first stop was Zip Lining, bring out the adventure spirit of yours there. Then moving forward we saw Seven Sisters falls, Nohkalikai Falls, Eco Park, Double decker Living Root Bridge, Mawsmai Cave - a natural cave. With 375 stairs and brisk walking through the mountains we reached the starting of Wakaba Falls. No one was there, it was so serene and a Not To MISS place.

Third day we did local Shillong Sightseeing, ie, Elephant falls, Shillong peak where we dressed in local khasi tribal attires and got ourselves clicked. Then we went to the Church, Ward's lake, Bada Pani, and Police Bazar for shopping.

Fourth day, we went to Mawphlang Sacred Forest- THE BEST PLACE IN MEGHALAYA. We were feeling like we are in Switzerland. Words are less for that place. Then we went to Smit - also known as World's End as everything is covered with clouds and you cannot see anything there.

Fifth day, visit Mawsynram- wettest place on Earth.

You can book a flight to Guwahati as direct flights to Shillong would be quite expensive and then from Guwahati you can go to Shillong which is a 3 hours drive enjoying the scenic beauty or you can book trains. Don't forget to take Umbrellas and raincoats as you are going to the most wettest place in the world. Carry one or two light woolens as you might feel cold in the mornings or evenings. You can do boating, nature walks, trekking and can enjoy the colourful flora of the mountains.

A must visit place.

Magnificent Meghalaya.

Video Reviews in Meghalaya

Splendid water fall

Splendid water fall  Video Review
01:56

Thlu Amwi Falls

Aiban Lyngdoh
19th Jul 18

Big and Awesome

Big and Awesome  Video Review
02:03

Monolith Park

Saurav Mantra
4th Jun 18

One evil giant's belonging

One evil giant's belonging  Video Review
01:59

Ka Khoh Ramhah

Aiban Lyngdoh
4th Jun 18

Additional features of monolith park

Additional features of monolith park  Video Review
02:01

Monolith Park

Aiban Lyngdoh
3rd Jun 18

History teller

History teller  Video Review
02:03

Cherrapunji Ramkrishna Mission

Saurav Mantra
31st May 18

Nice View point

Nice View point  Video Review
02:03

Nohkalikai Waterfalls

Saurav Mantra
31st May 18

A Land of Breath-Taking and Exotic People

A Land of Breath-Taking and Exotic People  Video Review
02:05

Nohkalikai Waterfalls

Rikukoch
31st May 18

Small beach for having fun

Small beach for having fun  Video Review
02:03

Sohra(Cherrapunjee)

Akash Thapa
30th May 18

Beautiful place

Beautiful place  Video Review
02:02

Dainthlen Waterfalls

Akash Thapa
30th May 18

Beautiful!

Beautiful!  Video Review
02:03

Wahkaba Falls

Akash Thapa
30th May 18