Pondicherry Ratings & Reviews

Bharath reddy

Bharath reddyratingratingratingratingratingrating1.4/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Meet expectations

Pros:. - Nice decent cafes with intricate details. - Clean for the most part. - People are mostly warm and friendly. Cons:. - No proper hotels for the money paid. - Food up to the mark for me in quality, taste. - Service was OK nothing much. - Not much for sight seeing when compared to other beach destinations . - Basically a make shift destination for people in dire need of vacation


Aditya bhandekar

Aditya bhandekarratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

5 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Perfect place if someone is looking for a getaway in low budget in Tamil Nadu

As someone living in Chennai, this is the most convenient place for me to go to for a getaway without spending a lot of money. It is three hours drive from Chennai. The French colony, the multicuisine in cafes, restaurants and bars, the rock beach, all of this is something that you probably can't find together in the place you live.


Sivashanmugam Balachandran

Sivashanmugam Balachandranratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

15 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Bala's Pondicherry visit

Pondicherry is about 150 kms from Chennai and it takes 2. 5 to 3 hours by road. There is a beautiful beach and one can go for a long walk in the morning and evening enjoying the sea view. There are many hotels on the road along the beach for tourists to stay and eat. Pondicherry was a French colony once as such most of the buildings will be of French Architecture. Auroville a global village is about 25kms from Pondicherry and tourists must visit and with prior permission Matrimandir a place for Concentration can be visited. In Pondicherry there are lots of places to visit, Chunnambar lake, Manakula Vinayagar temple, Church, beach, Assembly Hall etc.


Muthu vengadassalam

Muthu vengadassalamratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

The overall experience was delightful and superb

Simply superb . The entire hotel staff were so supportive and very professional . Food was really good and especially the tamilnadu recipe was great . Moreover, Hotel location is quite easy to identify. Pool was good . Breakfast was really good and ample of parking facility too.


Ajeet Singhaniya

Ajeet Singhaniyaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

45 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Pondicherry: The French Legacy

Pondicherry, a French colonial Union. The place is excellent and beautiful. The city is well planned and beautifully managed . . Pondicherry is known for its beaches and french legacy. The popular beaches like Paradise Beach, Rock Beach are famous. The place is beautiful, specially the colony near to Rock Beach is well planned. Evening and night near to Rock Beach is really great. The place has its own peace. Adventure near to beaches you can do. Traditional south indian food is good there. The place is extremely hot during day time. I suggest travelers to visit during November- December. Please avoid deep into waves when you go to beaches. Have a Wonderful Trip


Shan

Shanratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Relaxing

The trip to pondi was relaxing. I will not miss any the chances to visit Pondicherry again . Highlight of the trip was Paradise beach were you will be taken in ferry to a beach and you can spend the time till evening playing in beach . Mantra temple was also must see place and if you have time you can request the authority for permission to visit inside mantramandir . .


Nikhil Shah

Nikhil Shahratingratingratingratingratingrating2.9/5

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Nice peaceful place

Decently populated hence no rush or traffic jam. Less pollution and decent beaches. Nice healthy food and decent people. Although few beaches are not very clean as visitors litter. The temples are beautiful and best is Aeroville. It's a once in a lifetime experience. Matri Mandir should not be missed.


Sancheeta Mazumdar

Sancheeta Mazumdarratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Worth a visit

In November, I got the opportunity to travel to one of the most prominent tourist destinations in South India - Pondicherry. The place offers some incredible glimpses into French colonial architecture, pristine blue beaches, enticing food along with the vibe of meditation and spirituality in the air. My travel was made all the more wonderful, as my new #Nokia8 allowed me to #UniteFor #Bothie with all the showstoppers of Pondi that are worth being visited by every traveller at least once. Starting from the inspiring Crocodile Bank, majestic Auroville Ashram, gorgeous and serene beaches, out of the world experience through Scuba-dive and the uber urban architecture - I got to see it all. It will remain memorable and worth cherishing for the longest time!


Arun Dontamala

Arun Dontamalaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Cool place to enjoy

Both economical and highly enjoyable. Mostly apt for couples. People are real friendly. All places are nearby airport. Beaches are really good. Adventorous as well. People are pretty friendly. Easily bikes can be hired and ridden. Places are at walkable distance from city centre. Church is a must see.


Antara Kundu

Antara Kunduratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Road trip with family - Bangalore to Pondicherry

We traveled to Pondicherry from Bangalore on Oct 14, 2017 (Sat) by our four-year old Hyundai i10 (Sportz). We opted for the shortest route (320 km) during the onward journey and the route (377 km) during our return on Oct 17, 2017 (Tue).

The onward journey, in spite of a short stretch of bad road near Thiruvannamalai, took us 7. 5 hours, and this span is inclusive of the 1. 5 hours we spent for freshening up and breakfast at Hotel Saravana Bhavan Classic near Krishnagiri. We started at 6:30 am in the morning and checked in at our precooked hotel at 2 pm. In contrast, the return journey took 9. 5 hours (including a 1 hour break for lunch at Aryaas) in spite of the excellent road condition. We started at 11 am and reached our home at Bannerghatta Road at around 8:30 PM. Understandably, a considerable amount of time was wasted in the city traffic after entering Bangalore.

I would personally recommend the shortest route for the journey as I found the small stretch for bad road quite tolerable.

Read more about our onward trip to Pondicherry at. More stories describing our stay and dining experiences at Pondicherry will follow up.

  • Road trip with family - Bangalore to Pondicherry

Video Reviews in Pondicherry

Good beach

Good beach  Video Review
00:17

Seaside Promenade

Shreyas Bardoloi
2nd Nov 17

Not worth a visit

Not worth a visit  Video Review
01:04

Serenity Beach

Mohit Grover
13th Mar 17

Chunnambar Boat House

Chunnambar Boat House  Video Review
00:44

Chunnambar Boat House

Susparsha Kher
13th Dec 17

Serenity beach Pondicherry

Serenity beach Pondicherry  Video Review
01:06

Serenity Beach

Susparsha Kher
12th Dec 17

Promenade Beach

Promenade  Beach  Video Review
00:59

Promenade Beach

Susparsha Kher
12th Dec 17

A Centre of Meditation

A Centre of Meditation  Video Review
01:53

Matrimandir

Mohit Grover
6th Nov 17

One of the most prominent beach

One of the most prominent beach  Video Review
01:00

Promenade Beach

Megha G krishna
23rd Jul 17

Arulmigu Manakula Vinayagar

Arulmigu Manakula Vinayagar  Video Review
01:11

Manakula Vinayagar Temple

Kapil chowdhry
14th Dec 17

Paradise beach

Paradise beach  Video Review
01:05

Paradise Island

Susparsha Kher
13th Dec 17

Chunnambar boat house Pondicherry

Chunnambar boat house Pondicherry  Video Review
00:49

Chunnambar Boat House

Kapil chowdhry
13th Dec 17