Uttarakhand Ratings & Reviews

Debasish Bhadra

Debasish Bhadraratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

12 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Kartickswami Trek

Planning for long to trek to Kartickswami. At last, the hour came. One fine evening l found myself aboard the Doon express along with my better half. Yes, we were going to Haridwar where we stayed at Kalikamli guest house near the on Upper road at as cheap as Rs 250 per day. We had average good Bengali meal at Dada Boudir Hotel nearby @ Rs 80 p. P . Next day we set out for Kanakchowry at 7 am by a hired Indigo @Rs 2700 per day. We had our breakfast at Byasy with tasty aloo paratha. Then gradually passed Devprayag and Rudraprayag where we had our lunch at a restaurant beside Alakananda. Then we took to the left and reached Kanakchowry at about 3. 30pm. Lt was a small serene hamlet almost hanging from the hills. We stayed at Mayadeep resort(the only shelter here) booked well in advance @ Rs 1200. There were 6 well decorated tents. We roamed about the hilly roads of the village. Meanwhile, clouds started covering the sky followed by a gust of drizzle. That night it rained heavily and we went to bed with a broken heart . Next morning the rain stopped but the sky remained cloudy. We got ready for the 3. 5km trek without any guide. We started at 7am. The path was through the rhododendron forest and one or two plants had already started blooming. There was little ascends and descends but last 1km was comparatively steeper. The whole path is being covered with concrete. Anyway, after 2 hours we reached the Kartickswami temple, the only one of its kind in the whole north lndia. The Himalayas is visible at 160 degrees around the temple. Chowkhamba, Dronagiri, Banderpoonch, etc are visible. Spending half an hour there we got down to the resort. This time it took only an hour. After breakfast we started for Haridwar . . We completed this tour within 7 days from 28th February to 7th March this year in 2018.


Akshay Naik

Akshay Naik

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Amazing Place with Mountains and Rivers

I Walked through Jungles, Went on Safari at Jim- Corbett, The Most Beautiful Place Kasol with view of the Himalayas, Stopped by Every River to Enjoy it and Visited Historical and Beautiful Architectures


Deepti shenoy

Deepti shenoy

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Mesmerising Uttarakhand

Got to see snow capped mountain for the first time and got to sit on the helicopter for the first time. All in all wonderful place, scenic beauty something that I love


Suresh

Suresh

95 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

3 Hidden Valleys Of Uttarakhand – Nelang, Naga, Jadung

Nelang, Naga and Jadung are the 3 hidden valleys of Uttarakhand which fall in the Harshil Sub-division. Nelang valley was the old trade route between India and Tibet. The wooden bridge through which supplies were transported using Yaks stills exists. The bridge clinging to the mountain is an inspiring scene Around 4 kilometers ahead of Nelang post towards North-East direction there is a famous temple of Shiv and Parvati. Locals here will forbid you to go ahead of this temple. It is said that people who had gone ahead simply went missing. Some ITBP Jawans have known to vanish. Mystical powers or simply folk lore- it is hard to say unless you try it for yourself. Are you up for the challenge then Jadung Valley. Jadung is the last village, the border village of India. This village served as a pitstop for trade route between India and China on this axis. It was known for its vibrant art and architecture. The village was deserted during Chinese aggression of 1962 when the people of Jadung were moved to Dunda, a small place near Uttarkashi Dunda is now famous for some lipsticking mutton momos and woollens like shawls, sweater, coats, socks, caps etc made out of special wool and knitted by women folk of Dunda Shopping Tip: When you pass by Dunda, do buy a few woollens. They are really warm. And you get to do your small bit to encourage local livelihood and become a responsible tourists There were around 70-80 houses in Jadung at that time. Each house had beautiful wooden carvings, even the stones had carving. The intricate work makes you think about the creativity and genius that resides in such far-off and small places. Here simple people reside in harsh weather conditions away from the luxury of modern amenities but their life is full of joy and contentment Only once a year indigenous people of Jadung are allowed to enter their village and perform deity worship; Someshwar Devta. It is a colourful event and an emotional one too for the pain of a displaced community is not an easy one to heal How To Reach map of nelang and offbeat, hidden valleys of Uttarakhand. These beautiful valleys of Uttarakhand are on Gangotri axis. The route towards Gangotri has some excellent sightseeing spots and a famous (charsi) baba, read all about it: 10 Beautiful And 1 Bonus (Charsi baba) Pitstops On Your Way To Gangotri. Once you reach Bhairoghati, take a left one route is towards Gangotri while the other less travelled path goes towards Nelang, Naga and Jadung Approximate Distances:. Bhairoghati To Nelang —23 Kilometers. Nelang To Naga 9 Kilometers. Naga To Jadung ——-5 Kilometers. From Nelang valley you can also trek to Sangla valley in Himachal. If you are into hardcore adventure trekking then you can go to Badrinath from here taking the NilaPaani route which is approximately 80 kilometres. Only experienced trekkers can undertake this journey The Lake Beyond Jadung. This is an extremely difficult but rewarding trek, only advised for pro-trekkers to undertake. Around 8 - 9 kilometers from Jadung there is a beautiful, almost heavenly lake called the Janak Taal. Open valley merging with sky at the horizon and shimmering lake reflecting the clear sky, that's the breathtaking beauty of this quaint place. Due to complications of permit and risky roads, only a few could witness this magic of Nature Permit Required To Pass The Hidden Valleys. Tourists are allowed till Nelang valley. Only self driven cars and preferably SUV is allowed. No, the idea behind is not elitist J The road is bumpy, landslide prone and marred with falling rocks so an SUV can handle such pressures in a better way and can keep you safe too As of now conservators haven't allowed bike ride into this area as it can get risky. There are a few stretches of falling rocks and shooting stone zones on this way Really Intrigued And Want To Go If my story on the hidden valleys of Uttarakhand has woken up the adventurist inside you and you really want to explore them but are thwarted by the Entry' and Area then there are two ways I can suggest to quench the traveller's thirst Make Friendship With A Fauji. Hell Ya! That's what I did. ITBP, Army, Border Roads, or any such uniformed personnel can help you get the permit. So, check your phone book, find a fauji friend or make one J. Connect With Where Eagles Dare. As far as I know there is only one person, Tilak Soni, who can help you get through this really offbeat location. He runs a small travel group, Where eagles Dare which is based out of Uttarkashi. He knows the place inside -out. He takes biking expeditions and is the only one to take all women bikers group across Mana Pass, the old silk route. There are many such commendable applauds up his sleeves. Check out his Facebook Group and you will know what I am talking about: Where Eagles Dare. He is trying his best to get the first ever biking expedition in these hidden valleys ( This was first published on Travel By Karma - my website) (This destination review was also published in The Times Of India)


Suresh

Suresh

95 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

A trek to Uttarakhand

I love nature and I love mountains and hill the greenery and beautiful flowers which made me choose Uttarakhand and it was very beautiful, my journey what I had expected was an adventurous but it became an adventurous and holy journey where I visited Haridwar and attended ganga aarti. I went to badrinath and visited famous Temple and went to Rishikesh and visited temple and many such places as mana as the last village of India. It was a very beautiful experience. Also I had the adventurous side where I had to trek for 60 km in 3 days where I went to Ghangaria, valley of flowers and hemkund saheb where every climb was to a beautiful scene of nature every place had beautiful mighty mountains and waterfalls around me. It's worth seeing every place and worth climbing every step. Your body will be energyless, it will give up but once you reach the top you will know every step and every climb was worth it. I had to carry lots of body warmer clothes and trekking shoes and also all necessary items for the daily use. It was an incredible journey and I'm looking forward to get one from you too.


Nidhika jindal

Nidhika jindal

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Mesmerising skies

The star studded sky at 1 am at kedarnath took my breath away ... Surrounded by mountains, the sound of the river, no network or pollution. Everything was so surreal that I see it even today with my eyes closed. The mountain peak that we left green at night was white in the morning. It had snowed in May. No words are sufficient to describe that beauty or that feeling. Uttarakhand is breathtakingly mesmerising.


Srijan Srivastava

Srijan Srivastavaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

113 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Known for its natural beauty of the Himalayas

Uttarakhand is the state in the northern part of India. It is often referred to as the Devbhumi due to many Hindu temples and pilgrimage centres found throughout the state.

Uttarakhand is also known for its natural beauty of the Himalayas, the Bhabhar and the Terai.

Uttarakhand is the only state in India with Sanskrit as one of its official languages..


Troy Chatterjee

Troy Chatterjeeratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

5 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Panchachuli Base Camp

One of the giant snapped Himalayan peaks lying at the end of the eastern Kumaon region; Panchachuli Peak is a famous attraction of Uttarakhand. The peaks have religious significance for the locals and for the adventurists its Base Camp is an ideal option for a short trek. Usually, trekkers thronged towards the base camp of the Panchachuli Peak between May and October. From Kathgodam to Dharchula about 265 km, then Nag ling a small village by car. Which is stay at night. A small trekker hut there, named 'Praktan soinik abas griho' per head 100 rupi & eating there. Next day morning about 7:30 am start trek. About 12km a glorious & beautiful landscape 180° trek rout. Then about 2:00 pm researched the last village. Spent a night at Dugtu after starting early in the morning from Nag ling. Next day very early morning about 4:30 am researched the zero point 3. 5 to 4km by trek. The panoramic view of the peaks is just thrilling and the pull I felt to get closer to them was quite powerful.

  • Panchachuli Base Camp
  • Panchachuli Base Camp
  • Panchachuli Base Camp
  • Panchachuli Base Camp
    +25

Rahul Rawat

Rahul Rawatratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Heavenly place

Beautiful mountains all over there. Also known as Dev Bhumi. Awesome in winters because of snow falling. So many ancient temples for make you and your family blessed. In short one of the excellent place I had ever seen.


Bijoy Panda

Bijoy Pandaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

An awesome trip to Uttarakhand

This trip can be enjoyed with family as well as friends. If you want to visit with your family than it must be a religious tour. Because Uttarakhand is also known as land of gods. And if you want to visit with your friends than it must be a adventurous tour because The land of gods has also manage to achieve the title of no. 1 adventure spot in India. You can do a variety of adventure there. Some of them are white water rafting which is world renowned. Its a must do adventure and you dont have to shell your fortune for this. Because it is very cheap. Accompanied with paragliding, zip lining, paint ball and many more. A view from the top of Aulli which is not very famous till now will tell you how nature has spread its arms to keep us safe in his lap.

  • An awesome trip to Uttarakhand
  • An awesome trip to Uttarakhand
  • An awesome trip to Uttarakhand
  • An awesome trip to Uttarakhand
    +1

Video Reviews in Uttarakhand

Camels back road

Camels back road  Video Review
01:03

Camel's Back Road

5th Dec 16

Mall road

Mall road  Video Review
01:56

The Mall

3rd Dec 16

Tip in top

Tip in top  Video Review
01:03

Tip-In-Top

Modismit
30th Dec 17

Ram Jhula

Ram Jhula  Video Review
01:15

Ram Jhula

Ashish
19th Dec 17

Jawahar Aquarium

Jawahar Aquarium  Video Review
01:40

Jawahar Aquarium

3rd Dec 16

Gun Hill Point Mussoorie

Gun Hill Point Mussoorie  Video Review
02:03

Gun Hill

Dhruv Kalra
5th Jan 18

Good view

Good view  Video Review
01:24

Tip-In-Top

Jay G
30th Dec 17

Bhulla taal in morning

Bhulla taal in morning  Video Review
01:04

Bhulla Tal

Modismit
30th Dec 17

Serene lake for boating

Serene lake for boating  Video Review
01:53

Bhulla Tal

Jay G
30th Dec 17

Gun hill -a birds eye view

Gun hill -a birds eye view  Video Review
02:03

Gun Hill

Piyush Jain
30th Dec 17