Budapest Ratings & Reviews

Pranav sachdeva

Pranav sachdevaratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 3 years ago

Budapest Stay

Nice city. Use public transport to enjoy it with travel card to move around. Parliament is good. Has good Indian restaurants. Vaci st is good happening place.


Nikolay trefilov

Nikolay trefilovratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

6 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Great city

Budapest is a very interesting and the old town, with a long history on the banks of the Danube, the capital of Hungary. Nice city for travelers.
Well spend a week or more. Good food markets at the weekend. Many mineral pools and saunas. Good for your health. I recommend!


Apoorva Bhardwaj

Apoorva Bhardwajratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

10 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Budapest- the conquest of paradise

One of the primary attractions in Budapest, Gellert Hill In Buda is one of the highest points of the city which is an excruciating yet rewarding climb to the top mounted monuments crowning the city hill. Personally, walking up the snow covered hill was a hilarious experience, as we slowly (but not quite steadily) made our way up battling the slippery terrain and back breaking climb While cruising along the river one gets to see several night spots, the most brilliant of all being Dream island- a junction of 6 to 7 dynamic clubs. There are several types of clubs catering to different types of people and from different age groups, but the best club in the area was Studio which is also the largest club in Europe. While at glamorous spots like these one gest to witness a generation which has successfully moved on from the horrors of war, along yet other party streets of Budapest one comes across several multi-cultural joints, pubs and ghettos which show the melting hot pot of cultures that Hungary actually is As compared to Buda, Pest is livelier and more dynamic, but the real treasure is what lies in the middle of the two cities. The river cruise is a must do and one of the best things that Budapest has to offer. The river cruise gave us an opportunity to enjoy the city views by night, and the most spectacular highlight was the chain bridge, one of the 6 bridges built over the Danube but most definitely the most beautiful of them all The amazing thing about Budapest is that it genuinely has a lot to offer in terms of places to see and experience. The Gellert hill Cave is one such example, deep seated under the geller hill, this cave church holds way too many secrets and stories than can be touched on the surface. The hidden church tells the tales over time of peace and prayars in a time of war, historical milestones of Budapest and the dark history of Gellert Hill itself, which was named thus after Saint Gellert who was thrown down from the top of the hill hundreds of years ago. Shaken but not broken, we walked further to the Budapest castle- a monumental wonder! One has the option of travelling up to the castle via cable cars, which also provide incredible views of the city Dream Island is the ultimate destination when in Budapest and I remember it for the madness that followed the night that we were there- Dream Island shenanigans 101. They say if you really want to get to know someone better, you must travel with them. Travelling with friends is one of the greater joys of life . And you know you have done it right if your friends are as crazy and as spontaneous as you Budapest for me is a reminder of the changing dimensions of time. While the city monuments stand proud and arrogant boasting of heritage and pedigree, there are parts of this city which still appear broken and in shambles from a war that at one time almost killed the spirit of this country. On crossing the bridge towards Pest, one can easily walk by the majestic Hungarian Parliament building, churches brimming with people and traditions, a lone standing Opera house in the midst of several general buildings and my personal favorite, the St. Stephen basilica. The basilica is centuries old, and to this day stands impressive, grand and stunning. The interiors are peaceful, yet one cannot cease to fathom the scale of the architecture. It is truly grand! Religion has no name, and on one visit one seems taken by the high levels of positive energy in a basilica as ancient as this one However, one of my personal favorites is definitely the Fisherman's bastion. Located at a height, this building is spectacular and extremely beautiful. Hungary was once devastated by war, and one can see how much this pains this country even today. An ode to the innocents who cannot tell their story anymore, a tribute to the fallen who could never raise their voice is raised at the Terror Haza museum. A Holocaust museum, a sanctuary of souls, the walls of this prison saw more pain and brutality than can be fathomed. The events displayed through this building are so horrifying one cannot help but feel the chills and the sting of nerves when inside. Once upon a time a Nazi prison, the museum carefully preserves whatever body parts of Hungary's children it could find, whatever stories of torture and gore it could express. This is where its demons hide and coming face to face with the darkness that once had its grip over this country is a terrifying and overwhelming experience. The Heroes square, located down the road from the Terror Haza museum offers great photo opportunities and is a common hangout spot amongst those visiting Budapest You will find Sheisha enclaves located in dingy exotic ghettos, Mexican cafes selling the best tacos you can possibly get in Europe, eccentric local stalls in the snow selling delicious pretzels with hot mulled wine and cider and refugee tram rides through-out the city. Budapest stands as a testament of time, having survived wars, atrocities and extensive damage over time. Hungary is one of the countries that was completely destroyed and built back from ruins after world war II. The country talks in numerous ways and its beauty is only surpassed by the gorgeous combination of the two cities lining river Danube.

  • Budapest
  • Budapest!
  • Budapest
  • Budapest
    +4

Saurabh Khandelwal

Saurabh Khandelwalratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

9 reviewsPosted March 2015

Big city - Awesome nightlife

On the trip to Eastern Europe, Budapest was our next destination from Prague. Capital of Hungary, we were not really expecting much from this city however it surprised us to quite an extent . . Travelling to Budapest. We travelled from Prague through train, an 8 hour journey. It was good to have a look outside the window, and change in the structure of houses as we were crossing countries. First mistake we made was not having enough food with us while travelling. While there was a pantry in the train, it well stocked and had limited choices of food. Moreover, there was no card machine on the train we were on, leaving us hungry with the limited amount of cash we had on us at that time. City review. Having just been to Prague, we expected Budapest to be a small city but turned out to be quite big. Budapest is formed of 2 words, which stands for Buda Castle and which is the flatter side separated by Danube river. As soon as we understood this is not going to be easy to explore on own, we went in for one of the Green Bus Tours, which gave us an additional route plus several other freebies like free beer and 2 cruise passes. Since not the peak tourist season, we managed to get a very good bargain - do haggle for the prices as there are several operators around. It's a beautiful place to explore even from the bus. We started the tour in Pest, went all the way to Square', came back to Pest and crossed Danube to castle, and then got off at. The spot overlooks the entire city. The buses, Tours or local ones, always stop for 20 - 30 minutes at that point. After 20 minutes we boarded the bus again and came down to Pest. Having already marked the places where we wanted to spend more time in, we spent the next 2 days exploring Heroes Square, Bath Spa near it, castle and the main street lined with numerous shopping spots and cafes. For evenings, we went to District 7 for ruin pubs and District 8 for their cafes. Both are easily accessible from city center. Last but not the least, we had 2 one hour cruise tickets from bus pass. It's worth the experience - especially just before sunset. By the time the cruise turns around, the entire city would have been lit up.

  • Streets of Budapest
  • Streets of Budapest
  • Night at Budapest
  • Trip to Budapest
    +2

Ram Doss

Ram Dossratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted September 2014

Awesome holiday location

We visited almost all the places in Budapest with the help of HolidayIq. It is the musical and historical location. Surrounded people with smiling faces. Budapest tourism arranges bus service to navigate all the famous locations. We enjoyed every moment over there.


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Budapest

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Renu Pokharna

Renu Pokharnaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

3 reviewsPosted March 2014

Move on Paris, Budapest is the most romantic city in the world!

As soon as I landed in Budapest and saw a glimpse of the Danube, like a Bollywood movie, Blue Danube' began to play in my head and I could imagine why Johann Strauss II was so much in love with this river! The mighty Danube that goes across 10 countries including beautiful cities like Vienna and Budapest has the majority of its volume in the state of Hungary. It divides the city into Buda and Pest - Buda referring to the city's more old part with the buildings and other architecture dating back to the 10th century A ferry on the Danube at night is perhaps the most romantic way you can spend an evening with your loved one, or actually even on your own! The translator telling you all about the city in his British accented voice (he sounds like one of those old stately men who would talk on radios in the 1950s! Makes the place sound very romantic. At night, both sides of the river are lit, so one can see the Buda Hill in the distance and the magnificent Parliament Building on the Pest side which can actually give the London Parliament building some competition! Apart from that, there are quaint churches, old market buildings, the bridges all lit up and you can almost feel how magical it must have been to live in this place during the rule of the Habsburgs. (Provided you were a Habsburg perhaps, and not one of the peasantry! ). During the day, the city is a riot of activity with trams, buses and trains crisscrossing the city, as people go about their business. One thing stands out here, which I was quite unprepared for, the fashion! Surprisingly, more than Italy, I found more fashionable women in Budapest. (Most of the fashionably dressed women in Italy turned out to be mannequins in show windows! Not a single woman here walks without a 6-8 inch stiletto, leading me to run to a store to buy one (in order to not look like a Hobbit even though I stand at 5 feet 7 inches). Of course I realized wearing them is a lot easier when you are not running around the cobbled streets of Budapest to look at the touristy places. Hungary offers some of the best spa treatments in the world. Budapest, with its natural thermal springs, has had a historical culture of public baths. While here, I went to the Baths, one of the three historical baths in the city. Now baths here have a variety of pools - there are the common thermal pools - large swimming pools filled with hot water supposed to rich in minerals. Then, there are the regular swimming pools for swimmers, and then come the smaller pools filled with one of the other minerals - lithium etc. Where one has to go to a sauna and then jump in the Bath for the minerals to have the maximum effect. The charges are quite reasonable and the experience goes without saying rejuvenating! It is like a picnic in a spa, with hordes of people thronging them regularly. Hungarians sure have a great sense of humor; they have built a park called the Park' where instead of dismantling Soviet-era statues. They have neatly arranged them in a park and have a really guide take you around making jokes about Lenin and Stalin! And yes, the irony, now they communist era memorabilia, have had a better way of showing which system prevails! The park being outside the city, a bus is arranged for those who want to go there, the music in the bus is all communist-era songs to inspire workers. I made a mental note that I should try and find this CD and perhaps play it back home sometimes! Me being the frenzied fan of the Cold War and felt like buying everything at the souvenir store though apart from the CD - the soldier caps with the pointed star on them, lapel pins, famous posters inspiring men and women to join the army, or happy peasants in a poster of a collective farm. Finally, I decided to buy the thing that I would probably enjoy looking at most back home - a Soviet era passport, a replica of course, but it has visas of all neighboring countries with hilarious captions! (It is my dream to buy the original passport someday! Of course, there are also monuments that remind you of the tragic events that took place in the History of this wonderful country - one of the most beautiful tributes is the on the Danube' sculpture. It is a series of boots made on the banks of the river dedicated to the Jews who were killed by the Nazis here in 1945. The boots is what they left behind, as some of them jumped into the water, and thus, the sculptor has created a series of boots - women's shoes, men's boots, and workman's shoes on the river. Nearby is the Parliament building and the 1956 memorial to the Hungarian Revolution against the Communist Government which forced the Soviets to intervene in the affairs of the country. Although the rebellion was crushed, the phase after 1956 in the history of the country is called as communism' as the rules were more lax, of course Stalin had also passed away in 1953 One thing I should mention to vegetarians though, you won't able to enjoy their most famous dish here, the goulash soup made from pork. I survived by eating a lot of Italian food, salads and yes cold berry soups which are delicious. One thing I regret not doing is though not hitting a night club and dancing. But yes, I have saved that, and visiting the vineyards in Hungary for my next trip to charming Eastern Europe

  • Visit to Budapest
  • Visit to Budapest
  • Visit to Budapest
  • Sculpture of Budapest
    +15

Nittin Mittal

Nittin Mittalratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

138 reviewsPosted October 2013

Amazing Euro Trip !!

Budapest was my first city during my euro trip. We had never imagined that my Euro trip will start this better. My two friends were waiting for me over there to visit the city. The three cities of Buda, Old Buda, and Pest are distinct. Pest is commercial, downtown, vibrant. Buda is rolling hills, suburbs, and castle. A perfect place to pamper your loved ones with all the food and activities around the place. This is a perfect place for the photographers

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: There is so much to do, see, and experience in this city/cities. Most of all, it is steeped in history.City is very beautiful.

Activities & things to do: Spas, buda castel, try local drinks and do take a bus tour which covers all the places of interest and was very good.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Budapest is well connected with frequent trains from Vienna, Munich, Prague , including daily high-speed ICE Trains. Many cheaper airlines like Ryanair has there flights from many parts of Europe which makes it cheaper to travel for Budapest. The Metro and trams are very clearly marked in Budapest and far more logical than most large cities.


Radhakrishnan Sukumaran

Radhakrishnan Sukumaranratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted January 2013

Hungarian trip

Very nice place to see many historic things to review .very neat town very nice peoples very nice night life

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Typical indian hotels and indian food are available Hungarian food will add taste to your tongue if you are a non vegetarian.city sight seeing, Hungarian parliament are nice place to visit.shop vine because it is the land of vine

Activities & things to do: So much activities life in ship night clubs dance etc etc

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: By air through Russia and vienna

Video Reviews in Budapest

Budapest market hall

Budapest market hall  Video Review
01:11

Budaspet Market Hall

Keshav Singh
17th Aug 17

Hungarian Parliament

Hungarian Parliament  Video Review
00:33

The Hungarian Parliament Building

Kapil chowdhry
15th Jun 17

Shoes on Danube bank

Shoes on Danube bank  Video Review
01:01

Shoes On The Danube Bank

Kapil chowdhry
15th Jun 17

Chain bridge

Chain bridge  Video Review
00:58

Chain Bridge

Kapil chowdhry
12th Jun 17

Saint Basilica Church Budapest

Saint Basilica Church Budapest  Video Review
01:03

St. Stephen's Basilica

Kapil chowdhry
11th Jun 17

Gresham palace view

Gresham palace view  Video Review
00:31

Gresham Palace

Kapil chowdhry
12th Jun 17

St Stephens basilica

St Stephens basilica  Video Review
01:19

St. Stephen's Basilica

Susparsha Kher
11th Jun 17

Shoes on the bank of Danube

Shoes on the bank of Danube  Video Review
00:47

Shoes On The Danube Bank

Susparsha Kher
15th Jun 17

Chain bridge

Chain bridge  Video Review
01:24

Chain Bridge

Susparsha Kher
11th Jun 17

Hungarian Parliament

Hungarian Parliament  Video Review
01:03

The Hungarian Parliament Building

Susparsha Kher
15th Jun 17

Cheapest Flight Deal