Colombo Ratings & Reviews

Dr hirdyesh pant

Dr hirdyesh pantratingratingratingrating4.0/5

2 reviewsPosted last month

Colombo

I travelled to all the major travelling destinations available in Sri Lanka as I wanted to explore the whole island nation . Sigriya was the best location as it was a mesmerising structure built over a plateau with such an amazing architectural effort . . Second would be the Tea Gardens near Rhamboda falls that was very beautiful with the chance of visiting tea factory and buying a lot of tea because it was so pure in taste. Third would be Ashok Vatika as it is a very holy place for me as Hindu brahmin. It has the footprints of Lord Hanuman behind the temple which is a must visit place. Food and Shopping: Shopping wise it was very good in things that are endemic yo the place other wise other things are present at other countries also . Things one should buy from Sri Lanka are. 1- Tea from anywhere near Nuwara Eliya or Rhomboda falls as it is fresh and pure. 2- Ayurvedic creams and spices from many spice gardens available at the Country as once again pure and fresh. 3- Jewellery specially Sapphire as it is famous in this place and is of good quality and cut. Highlight of the trip: The highlight of the trip was certainly Sigriya for me as it was a unique place as I have not seen anything like that anywhere


Lyle pearson

Lyle pearsonratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted 8 months ago

My Trip

It was fine. Stormy weather, so I spent some time indoors. I came to visit a friend, Sumitra Peires, the widow of Lester James Peires. The food, particularly the seafood, was very good. The downtown shopping was inexpensive, but not at the airport. Check the weather before you go. There seem to be two seasons--one hot and one stormy.


Ashish Sehgal

Ashish Sehgalratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

120 reviewsPosted 8 months ago

Excellent City for Travel

I had visited Colombo without any major expectations and was surprised to see the warm nature of the citizens and the beautiful landscapes. It was raining in Colombo and had a great experience walking and running along the Indian Ocean to explore the city majority of the city on my feet. Spa Ceylon was a great place for shopping as lots of Ayurveda products are available to shop.


Hitesh J

Hitesh Jratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

15 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

A foodie's paradise

You have a series of attractions in this city. Ranging from Food, sea museums and historical sights. The people are very warm and genuine. The Food is very tasty and fresh. The sea beaches visible from the entire city is a sight for sore eyes. The Handicrafts available to take as souvenirs is also amazing.


Payal Gupta

Payal Guptaratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

A foodie's paradise

You have a series of attractions in this city. Ranging from Food, sea museums and historical sights. The people are very warm and genuine. The Food is very tasty and fresh. The sea beaches visible from the entire city is a sight for sore eyes. The Handicrafts available to take as souvenirs is also amazing.


Monika Nanda

Monika Nanda

3 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Nice clean small place

Nice clean small cities with less crowd, helpful simple people, great cafes and lovely food. Beautiful beaches, lovely dutch architecture and interesting history.


Akila Sridharan

Akila Sridharanratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Capital of Wonderland of Asia

Colombo is a maintained capital city of Sri Lanka. We reached Bandaranaike International Airport from Chennai for a tour of Srilanka. The Vibheeshana fort where Vibheeshana was corona ted as Maharaja of Sri Lanka by Lakshmana after the defeat of Ravana is magnificent. Now this place houses a Bhuddha Viharai also. Pious Bhuddists perform poojas, offer flowers and worship in this place and maintain the sanctity very well. The Independence Memorial Hall which was built to commemorate the Sri Lankan's day of Independence, the 4th of February 1948, is spectacular.


Jagdish Raval

Jagdish Ravalratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

414 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Sri Lanka tour.

We have package of 7 Nights/ * days from Colombo to Colombo. After landing in Colombo, we were welcomed by tour operator. And our journey started in morning.
1 st and 2nd night halt was at Dambulla. On the way we seen Pinnawala elephant orphanage. Next Day we seen sightseeing in dambula. 3rd day was at Kandy. 4th day was at Nuwara eliya. 5th day was at Bentoda and 6-7-8 day was at Colombo. Colombo as well as all city of sri Lanka were neat and clean. Traffic was disciplinary. Colombo is a nice, neat and clean city. Loving people. A nice and memorable tour.


Rahul dilip kale

Rahul dilip kaleratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Clean, Developed, Pleasant, Disciplined, Welcoming

Absolutely Clean city. Very decent architecture through the city.
Good urban design and guidelines observed throughout the city.
Well disciplined traffic flow.
Few must see places of interest.
Independence square, Arcade Shopping Centre, Fort area, Old Parliament, Dutch Hospital Precinct, St. Lucia's Cathedral, Dutch Museum, Pettah Floating Market.
Architecture wonders designed by master architect Geoffrey Bawa, New Parliament Complex, own residence Number 11, Gallery Cafe, Seemamalaka temple.
Good food around.


Waghmare Vicky

Waghmare Vickyratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

16 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Unwind at Colombo, Sri Lanka

Colombo is a cool destination for taking a break from daily rush. Star rated hotels are priced between $130 to $250+. Even average hotels charge $45+.

Colombo doesn't have much options for night life seekers, except Ballagio Casino & few karaoke bars n a night club at Kingsbury Hotel.

Best plan to roam around is rented car, one must carry international driving permit for this. Traffic rules are pretty strict across Sri Lanka & people do follow the rules & fines are pretty high. Please ensure working meters before riding in Taxi & Tuk Tuk (3 Wheeler Rickshaws).

It's a heaven for Sea food lovers. One can definitely enjoy the evening with loved ones in shack restaurants at Mt Leveniya Beach or at food street along Galle Face Beach. Independence Square, House of Fashion, Tea Board Sales Counter, Gems Gallery at World Trade Center, Ministry of Crabs (make sure reservation to avoid disappointment especially on weekends), The Mango Tree, Taj Samudra, & Cinnamon's Grand are the places to shop, eat & unwind.

Negombo lagoon is another eye candy. Kelaniya temple is good place to enjoy.It's a heaven for sea food lovers.

Advice to Travellers:
1. Respect Locals sentiments.
2. Stay away from adventure offers they are tourist traps.
3. English is not widely known except Colombo and nearby tourist attractions.
4. Learn to enjoy Cricket, Kite Flying.
5. Careful while hiring transportation.
6. Police are pretty helpful in case of foreigners, don't panic to approach for help.
7. Weather is very hot & humid, so drink plenty fluid wear comfortable clothes.
8. It may drizzle any time so carry umbrella.
9. While buying Gems be careful & buy polished Gems from certified Gallery with Authenticity Certificate & Invoice so no trouble from Customs.
10. Carry sufficient cash and monitor budget. Though the exchange rate is $1= LKR ~ 135 the stuff here is pretty expensive because of government taxes & import duties.
11. Do shop for Various flavours of tea & Norritake Crockery.
TIP: Roam around Arpico, Keels, Food City Super Stores where you will find loose Crockery from broken sets for good mark down price.
12. Take Airport Taxi after landing to reach at your destination. Book Kangaroo Cab for Airport Drop from Colombo its pretty bargain (LKR 1750/- + LKR 300 Highway Toll) they charge as per Cab size.

Happy Travelling!