Italy Ratings & Reviews

Binu yohannann

Binu yohannann

1 reviewPosted 3 years ago

Rome

Italy's capital Rome is a sprawling cosmopolitan city with nearly 3000 years of globally influential art architecture and culture on display. A heady mix of haunting ruins, awe inspiring art and vibrant street life and indeed very romantic ...


ratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Great Place to Visit

I have been to Italy twice. Both the time I had got memories to cherish. It is a wonderful coutry with great people. If you are a foodie, Italy is the country you want yourself to be. You don't want to miss on pizza, pasta, spaghetti, espresso, cappuccino, tiramisu etc. If you like to travel and see the historical places then you have to visit Italy. You would be surprised to know that Italy has the maximum world heritage sites in the world. I travelled mostly the central and northern Italy including Rome, Milan, Florence, Venice and Vatican City. Next time, I will love to visit the southern Italy which I have heard is more beautiful. You have numerous places to visit like leaning tower of Pisa, colosseum, Pantheon, Ponte in Florence, Florence Cathedral, Murano, Burano and other Venice islands etc Your knowing Italian language can really help you to have fun in Italy. You are well received if you speak Italian. Many people don't know English and at times it become difficult to ask things if you don't know Italian. Knowing some basic Italian is highly recommended. Having said that, if you are travelling historical places you can always have Italian guide who can interprate in English Italy is also known for Fashion. At the end of the year there are discounts where you can end up getting good deals. In Italy buses are being used to travel for small distances, else trains. You can also hire cab. Out of the famous Italian Cities, Rome is the busiest city. It is very crowded. If you like water, Venice is the place to visit. I particularly liked Florence city. It is a small city but has a lot of history. My experience has been fantastic. I would love to visit Italia again!


Raj kumar Haralalka

Raj kumar Haralalkaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

2 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Exotic Rome

Italian art at its best. Rome is among the oldest cities in Europe and there are so many monuments with brilliant art works that inspire any knew who enjoys art. The Italian beauty is seen everywhere and the old city of Rome is a small city within a city and almost all the important sights are within walking distance. Added to the exquisite art are the many restaurants that serve delicious Italian food like Pizza and pasta and when in Italy can one do without their world famous gelato? There are gelato shops almost in every street and Italians really love these.

  • Exotic Rome
  • Exotic Rome
  • Exotic Rome

Vanjyotsna Kv

Vanjyotsna Kvratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

16 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Italy, a place like no other

Last few months, have travelled so much that have not been able to write my reviews, but m starting now with our recent trip to Italy and Switzerland Living in right now, we flew to Venice from Amsterdam…smooth ride, no issues Venice !! It was one of my 2 dream destinations (other being Paris) and we landed there !! It looked beautiful from the air itself, but man !! It was hot…had read the reviews so took a water bus (Alilaguna) to San Marco and it was a hot, long, very tiring ride…my son & husband got really bored and tired but alas, we reached Venice !! & The first thing, I felt was- hot and crowded and believe me, it was just that…I was disappointed it was my dream destination but the heat wave almost killed our holiday spirit to be honest…anyways, we got down at the San Marco stop as our hotel- Best Western was right at the St marks square. Had to walk a little from the water taxi stand and on the way to the hotel, we saw the famous ' St Marks Square' and it was an awesome site !! The hotel was good, the room was small but that was expected in Venice, considering the location Checked in and after a quick rest, we 3 got ready to go out and eat something and had our first pizza in Italy and it was fab Started exploring Venice on foot . So walked towards the Rialto bridge…saw the famous gondolas but lined up so badly one after another in the crowded canal, it almost killed the romance for me Crossed the rialto bridge and there were some really nice cafes on the canal side…the weather was pleasant and I can truly say, that was our best time spent in Venice For dinner, we were craving for some Indian food, so as per trip advisor, I had the address of the only Indian restaurant in hand. Rialto Bridge, got down at St Toma stop and then it took us nearly 2 hours to find Ganesh !! We actually got lost…we finally found it…the food was just okay, not great at all, so my advice, skip it While coming back, we just walked back to San Marco following the street signs and believe me, it was easier The next morning, we planned to see the St Marks Campanile and St Marks Bascilica but the queues were so long right at 9 am, that we lost hope and instead bought a full day ticket for the vaporreto and hoped on to see Murano and Burano islands From the stop St Zacaria (next to san Marco stop), we first had to get down at Murano, which is the island famous for glass blowing. Got down from the boat and started walking left, following the crowd are some really pretty and expensive shops there. Do visit them !! I found an amazing symmetrical glass finger ring for 25 euros so my trip to murano was successful !! Walked along and saw the glass making process…it's a 5 minutes demo in the murano factory, free of cost but its really amazing to see it From there, we took the vaporreto to Burano and man, it was beautiful…just picture perfect !! The same colored houses we have seen in all the pictures…walked into the island, clicked some pics and then sat down at a cafe for some pizza and bruschetta !! Good food After which, my husband and son found a kids park facing the ocean so they wanted to spend sometime there…. I on the other hand, went to buy some famous glass jewelry and found a cute neck piece on New Arte Fuga shop Good fun We had planned to stay in Venice for 4 days but by 3rd morning, we had seen all we wanted to plus it was really crowded and hot to be honest, we request our hotel to let us check out if possible…after some initial grumbling, my husband convinced them and off we went to Tuscany !! Took a private water taxi from san Marco (as my son was really excited to see these chic and fast boats) to the Santa Lucia station, bought a ticket and off we went to Florence !! On the way, browsed and booked the best western there near the station and luckily they had a room !! By 5 pm, we had checked in Florence…till my son and husband, relaxed in the nice 3 people suite we were given, I quickly went down to the reception and book a night city tour plus dinner and a in a day tour' with the hotel reception. The lady there was really kind enof to help me with all the bookings and talking to the tour company in Italian 8. 30 PM, we started our city tour in a bus . Went to the Michael Angelo square first, which is actually the picture of Florence we see all the images and must say it was beautiful and magical Then our guide, took us walking to some famous monuments, churches, squares, which were beautiful and then for a typical Italian dinner !! By then, to be honest I cudnt look at a Pizza or a pasta !! So I ordered for the grilled vegetables and was thinking that I would get something like the salt and pepper veggies we get in any China Grill in India, but my bad luck…all I got were some aubergines and tomatoes (big pieces) grilled in a plateauing a traditional eater that I m, cudnt even touch it !! Anyways, I survived on some Pizza and a coke & that was it The next day, we were picked up from our hotel at 7. 30 an off we went to see ' Tuscany in a day' !! Which I know is impossible and I plan to go back and live there in life sometime truly… . But anyways !! So we started our journey with the Leaning tower of Pisa and yes, it was really beautiful !! Clicked some picks, had some hot Indian samosas and tea just next to the bus drop point and hopped on to our bus again…next stop was a village called San Gimignano and it was truly a sight out of the movies The village was so beautiful that I can't really explain but okay, I will try !! It was all medieval buildings, not a farm or anything, but the streets were beautiful that it was dreamlike to roam around in them !! Had ice-cream as our guide had told us that in the main square, you get the ' best ice cream in the and yes, it was truly tasty !! Walked around a little bit, bought some souvenirs, a pack of chianti wines, a pure leather carry-on bag for my leather shops there were truly unique and had awesome stiffening like we saw anywhere in Italy, so I think it's a good pick to buy something from there Post the visit to San Gimignano, our bus took us for wine tasting in the Chianti region somewhere…it was beautiful and the one-hour wine was good fun !! The guy was really trying to sell his wines hard & fast !! Bruschetta and pasta, accompanied the wine and it was good fun Hopped on to the bus again to visit Sienna and it was another beautiful town . We were too tired to walk with the guide and see the cathedral…after the famous horse racing stadium, we left the group and stayed enjoyed a nice coffee and cake on one of the coffee shops, walked around the market a little bit, I bought some of the famous Milan Make-up !! And then just relaxed on the main square of the market !! Finally the group came back and off we went again into our bus !! The bus dropped us at the Florence station at around 8. 30 . And we were happy to get off My husband being the foodie he is, had already browsed and had the address of an Indian Restaurant and luckily, it was a short walk from the station and there we were in Restaurant Haveli !! And I need to mention this, it was one of the finest and tastiest meals we have had in entire Europe !! My husband ordered Chicken curry and left it t the server to get a good one and it was good !! The potato gobhi and Dal were too good too !! We also had Gulab jamun and lassi and each item was awesome !! So good riddance from pasta and pizza for at least one meal Our hotel was a short walk from the restaurant, so we walked back Next morning, we had a leisurely start and checked out of the hotel at around 11 and had a train to Venice back at 11. 30 (since we had initially planned to stay in Venice for the entire 4 days, our flights out were from Venice !! ). From Venice, we flew to Basel. On the airport, we bought our 4-day Swiss passes and straightway took a train from Basel station to Lucerne, where we had to stay the next 3 days. We reached Lucerne late around 7. 30 but the place was too beautiful and thus we just dumped our stuff in the hotel and moved out !! Some people might find it funny, but we are thoroughly Indian eaters…so had the address of a restaurant called Kanchi in our pocket !! The hotel reception guy Hasan was too helpful! He explained the Tram number which would drop us right in front of the restaurant and it did !! The food was very good here too !! Switzerland is expensive and so was this place but for good Indian food, it was okay !! Post dinner, walked near the Lucerne lake and it was beautiful at 9, we hopped the train to Engel berg to go Mount Titlis. Got down an Engelberg, got into a bus to the trolley point, bought a trolley ticket and reached Mt Titlis after 3 trolley rides and it was good fun !! The only strange thing was it was hot !! Even on the mountain, I found it really hot On the top, its beautiful…my son and husband went to do the Ice Flyer and other activities, while I relaxed with a cup of coffee !! A good 2 hours later, when they came back, we went to the second floor of the activity center and had Indian food !! It was overpriced and not that great, but we had it anyway 2. 30 we started our descend and reached Lucerne at around 6 . Went to the hotel to freshen up and went back to the lake to catch an evening cruise and by sheer chance, we got the Indian Dinner cruise, which goes every Monday and Thursday . So we got on to that and those 90 minutes on the Lucerne lake were probably the best 90 minutes of our trip…the lake is beautiful !! It really is Post the cruise, we just took a walk around Lucerne and saw the famous flower bridge, explored around and sat on the shore…it was really magical and nice we started our Golden pass journey to Interlaken to go to Jungfrau and after 3 train changes we reached (If anyone wants more details on the changes or trains, timings, prices of anything and why mount Titlis and not Pilatus, or Why Jungfrau and not something else…. Let me know…I will share my detailed thoughts The journey was beautiful but the top of Jungfrau was more beautiful that anything I had seen before…. They are just sprawling mountains of snow…. Nothing like anything else…its amazing !! It was cold that day and at 2 degrees, we were freezing Had a good Indian lunch at the Bollywood restaurant and roamed around a bit … . Spent time on the view after Mt Titlis, my 2 boys were not too keen to do the ice activities again, so we saw the inside of the activity center… . The ice park, the Disney park inside and my son had good fun !! After a good cappuccino again the evening , we took the train back at 5. 40 and after 3 train changes, reached Lucerne late around 10 Straight to dinner at kanchi and back to the hotel we slept in late and then post lunch, took a train to Zurich main station !! We had our hotel reservation in Winterthur ( a town 20 minutes from Zurich) so in Zurich, we kept almost all our luggage in a locker and went around to see Zurich Just across the station is the Bahnhofstrasse street, which is the famous shopping centralized about a bit . Bought some and a jacket and then following what I had read on the net, we found Lindenhof hill which was basically a park with a fabulous view of the entire Zurich old an hour or more in the park…my husband had a beer, my son played on the swings and it was very was a pool of cold water where everybody was dipping their feet, so we did that too and our tired feet were almost renewed Came out of the park and walked to the Limmat Review cruise hopping point at landsmuseam stop but to be honest, it was 40 degrees inside the boat and it was more of a waterbus then a cruise so we really enjoy that (one should do the Zurich lake cruise instead od this). Got down at the landsmuseam, walked around again, went to McDonalds on the Bahnhofstrasse street, where my son enjoyed a happy meal !! Bought some chocolates at the famous Sprungli shop and then took a train to Winterthur where were staying in the Bet western right next to the station The rooms were beautiful and the hotel was small but good, so had a good nights sleep had a late start and hopped onto the train from Zurich to a long journey in Euro rail first class to Arhnem in booked a train we wanted to really experience a long journey in the famous Euro rail !! And we had good fun and reached home !! Safe, sound, healthy and happy11. It's a long review guys but more then a review, it's my travel journal so enjoy it !! Let me know of any question you have as I do all the planning and booking in my journeys so no issues there Happy TRAVELLING and Keep Travelling B-bye !!.


Vinod Shankar

Vinod Shankarratingratingratingratingratingrating3.6/5

7 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

It's a small, laid back town with some brilliant architecture

Italy is the third largest economy in the Eurozone and the eighth-largest in the world. We visited Italy in April 2015. The trip was awesome. The places we covered were Rome, Venice, Padova, Assisi, Pisa. I would say that Italy is a must-see country . . Rome's history spans more than two and a half thousand years. While Roman mythology dates the founding of Rome at only around 753 BC, the site has been inhabited for much longer, making it one of the oldest continuously occupied cities in Europe. It is a beautiful city with amphitheatres, colosseum, Catacombe, Also, visit the Holy steps. Venice is sited on a group of 118 small islands separated by canals and linked by bridges. Don't forget to go on a gondola ride when you are there Pisa is a small town. Must watch obviously is 'The Leaning Tower of Pisa' Padova is a pretty city to the north of Italy. It's a small, laid back town with some brilliant architecture Assisi has had a rich tradition of art through the centuries and is now home to a number of well known artistic works During your trip to Italy, don't forget to enjoy the choicest of Pastas, Pizzaz, Wines.

  • Basilica of Saint Paul outside the walls
  • Clay art statues inside the museum
  • Clay art inside the museum

Kunwar Singh

Kunwar Singhratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 5 years ago

Perfect Destination !!!

It's a perfect destination for the Holiday Makers . From Site seeing to Food to Beach . Everything seems Amazing about City. You just need to explore, try travelling using Local transportation as Taxi will put you out of pocket. A bit on expensive side but every penny spent !!


Priya Arun

Priya Arunratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

10 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Viva la Italia

After an awesome stay at Zurich, our next stop was Florence. A whopping 500+ kilometers by road, impressively managed by my brother-in-law . . So off we went. The journey was smooth, relaxed and interesting. Excellent roads. Amazing tunnels. The roads did take a 'toll' on our budget, though At Florence, we stayed in a small and quiet town called Bagno a Ripoli. With Florence as the base we made day-trips to Lucca/Pisa and Rome Day 2: As I have always heard, the entrance to the area within which the Leaning Tower is located is absolutely unassuming. But the moment you enter it, the entire square, with its cathedral, baptistery and. Of course the Leaning Tower is breathtaking. These magnificent whitish-cream structures are offset by lush green lawns. The Leaning Tower just stands there like a moody hero - valiantly defying gravity. You just can't your eyes off it. Just how does it stand that way? Amazing! I learnt later that there are a few more towers like that in the world a few accidental and a few man-made. After clicking a few quintessential touristy pictures, we moved to the walled city of Lucca. This is one of cities I will never forget and would want to visit again. I don't know what, but there is some vibe that I felt as soon as I moved from the exterior part of the town to the walled area. The walls (dating back to the 15-16 C) don't just guard this town. They guard history, tradition and heritage. The cool air is thick with pride. It resonates culture. Probably the lack of the usual touristy crowd gave that special feeling about this place. So to speak, there isn't much to 'see' here. At least, you have a choice. The promenade has lawns for you to just 'be' and do nothing. I felt so drawn to it that I just didn't feel like leaving it We had to rush out Lucca reluctantly as we had just one evening to visit Firenze (Florence city). Ah! The historic center of Firenze! What do I say? Is it for real? Someone might as well have just assembled settings of a couple of breathtaking buildings, some mind blogging statues, a romantic bridge and said, here you go. 'The model of a dream city'. How can one small area possibly contain so much art and history? Though I was spellbound by this unique place, I couldn't help thinking, didn't this place go through wars/ industrialisation / modernisation / urbanisation? How do they do this? Buildings constructed 100s of years ago remain intact! No wonder it is a UNESCO protected heritage site. Imagine the effort the government and the people must be taking to preserve it. Having read so much about this place, I was saddened to realise that I all that I saw. Was only a small fraction of this magnificent city. At least I am glad I could spend a few precious moments by the most amazing 'old bridge'. As I gazed into the glittering waters of River Arno by the setting sun, I thought of all the glorious people of yore who placed art above everything else in life and lived life like a dream Day 3: We headed to Rome with mixed feelings of anticipation and anxiety. We had heard horror stories of it being over-crowded, yet didn't have the heart to give it a miss. So we drove, parked and walked. The Vatican was our first stop. We walked around the square. Didn't brave the serpentine queue to the Sistine Chapel. We then moved visited the Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum before calling it a day. It might've been the oppressing heat, the milling crowds or the tight itinerary but the city of Rome somehow didn't capture my imagination. But I must say, the only word that comes to my mind when I think of Rome is 'grandeur' Day 4: After spending a couple of hours in a sweet little town called Greve in Chianti, we headed to Venice on the face of it, is a regular city-broad roads, busy, tall buildings and business establishments. This part is the mainland, where we stayed. We took a bus to the Lagoon Area. From the bus as we caught glimpses of a busy port and the water reminded me that we are actually headed to this famed city on water. When we climbed on the first bridge, it looked like a regular canal on a river. But as we walked on, we were totally amazed by how an entire town could stand on water. With hundreds of bridges, it functions just like any other city. We learnt from our Gondola oarsman (gondolier) that there are even Ambulance boats. That bit of trivia came, thanks to an inquisitive nephew who remembered to ask questions, while the grown-ups forgot everything else while gawking at this water wonderland. We spent two half days here and I am glad we Split it up that way. The first half we just walked around and explored. The second half was reserved for the luxurious and expensive Gondola ride, well worth all the money and effort. Fortunately for us, our gondolier took us around the calmer, residential parts of Venice. A very relaxing and yet interesting experience it was. He said he did not want to take us through the crowded, touristy parts, claiming 'eet ees too noiseee'. As we were crooning the inevitable song from the film Great Gambler, my mind (as always) went off wandering, wondering about these people and their unique life. I might want to write a story about someone living there . Someday So this rich experience rounded off our Italian part of the journey. I left this legendary land, promising to return sometime


Stefano Ulissi

Stefano Ulissiratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted January 2012

Fantastic Place to Visit

I visited the village of Valle San Giovanni near Teramo in Abruzzo Italy.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Go to Valle San Giovanni

Activities & things to do: Hiking

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Have fun!


Subhash Nandi

Subhash Nandiratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

1 reviewPosted February 2011

Rome, Fluorence ,Pisa ,Venice

People who have interest in arts like paintings ,sculptures etc, Italy should be visited.And its dimension in that aspect is immense. Can not be estimated without visiting that country

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Food needs little adjustment. Shopping of art materials are immense.
All the places excellent for sight seeing

Activities & things to do: Main thing to see different museums and Heritage architecture

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Travel By flight . I went from Delhi to Zurich and then to Venice. Followed by rail to Florence and Rome. Went to Pisa from Florence by bus
Travel warning - You have to take care of your belongings. Little inattention your luggage may be lost

  • VATICAN
  • Landscape at Fluorence
  • Pisa -Leaning Tower

Video Reviews in Italy

Church Santa Maria

Church Santa Maria  Video Review
02:03

Basilica Di Santa Maria Maggiore

Kavita Sehgal
2nd Dec 17

Church excellent Architecture

Church excellent Architecture  Video Review
02:03

Saint Peter's Basilica

Ashish Sehgal
3rd Dec 17

Good Place

Good Place  Video Review
02:03

Castel Sant'Angelo

Ashish Sehgal
3rd Dec 17

Nice Place

Nice Place  Video Review
02:03

Basilica Di Santa Maria Maggiore

Ashish Sehgal
2nd Dec 17

Nice Place

Nice Place  Video Review
02:03

Santa Croce Museum

Ashish Sehgal
30th Nov 17

Best structure in Rome

Best structure in Rome  Video Review
01:03

The Colosseum

Chandrakant Dhutadmal
10th Oct 17

Beautiful place to visit

Beautiful place to visit  Video Review
02:03

Saint Peter's Basilica

Kavita Sehgal
2nd Dec 17

Good place for history lovers

Good place for history lovers  Video Review
02:03

The Colosseum

Kavita Sehgal
1st Dec 17

First place to visit in Rome

First place to visit in Rome  Video Review
02:03

The Colosseum

Ashish Sehgal
1st Dec 17

Nice Palace

Nice Palace  Video Review
02:03

Pitti Palace

Ashish Sehgal
1st Dec 17