Kandy Ratings & Reviews

VRV

VRVratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

111 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Beautiful holiday destination

Kandy is a small hill town, surrounding by green hills and very nice weather. There are few tourists attractions, main being the temple of the tooth. Another place, though not known to many, is the Ranavana Raja maha Viharaya, It's a not to be missed place that has statues depicting Buddha's life and also the tallest Buddhs statue in Srilanka. The town has a man made lake with peri feral walkways with green trees and is good for lea surely walk. Also one can go for boating in the lake . The city garden is very big and has tremendously variety of trees and plants including spice trees and unique flowers . A very nice clean and green town with very friendly locals ready to help and guide.


Surbhi

Surbhiratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

7 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Beautiful tea plantations, Quiet & Serene Hill station

Went with friends in post monsoon season, the Kandy city is very peaceful. Whole day we booked a tuk to go around for sight seeing, by evening it was raining like crazy. Havnt seen such a heavy rainfall for a while. Situated amongst mountains the plantations have its own charm. Live in a homestay on the top to experience the place the best. You can easily get tuk tuks or cabs for sightseeing around the place.


Surbhi

Surbhiratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

7 reviewsPosted 5 years ago

Beautiful tea plantations, Quiet & Serene Hill station

Went with friends in post monsoon season, the Kandy city is very peaceful. Whole day we booked a tuk to go around for sight seeing, by evening it was raining like crazy. Havnt seen such a heavy rainfall for a while. Situated amongst mountains the plantations have its own charm. Live in a homestay on the top to experience the place the best. You can easily get tuk tuks or cabs for sightseeing around the place.


Balkrashna Nagargoje

Balkrashna Nagargojeratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted December 2014

Worth visiting this Destination

Fantastic city located in mountains. Very soothing climate. Beutiful buddha temple, gems outlets, botonical garden and so on. Its a heritage city nice to see old structure s. Most importantly very clean and calm city with good accommodation facilities. Nearby hill station Naura Elia with scenic beauty is a cherry on a cake. Worth to visit . .


Bhuvaneshwari  Venkatesan

Bhuvaneshwari Venkatesanratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

4 reviewsPosted July 2014

A different world with beauty personified

As you drive up the winding roads of Kandy (116 kms from Colombo) you feel the cool breeze 26 degrees to be precise, inhale unpolluted air, notice tall dense trees that dot the city, pristine white Buddha statues adorned with Lotus flowers welcome you at every corner, no snarling traffic, one marvel's at the skilled driver behind the wheels driving skillfully on the winding roads and look forward to explore the city . Kandy a hill station is an ideal getaway for locals and tourists. We had opted for a homely stay and decided to stay at a villa which offered comfortable cozy rooms and a common kitchen where we could cook. The view from room was breathtaking - since we arrived at night Kandy city was shining in all her glory under full moon reminding me of the song Fly me to the moon' . . If night journey felt like taking a ride to Hogwarts castle the morning sight was equally mystical. The sun sneaking into our room through the netted curtain, the lush green leaves devoid of any dust, cascading roads, and the chug of a local train could be heard at a distance, birds hopping from tree to tree and we enjoyed this view from the villa balcony sipping freshly brewed tea . After sampling typical Srilankan breakfast - Kiribath which is rice cooked in coconut milk we start off towards the first visit - Sigiriya. Ranked as World Heritage Site by UNESCO, this is a 200metre rock which is perched like a bird and offers tourists opportunity to trek up the mountain and soak in a different view of the city from the top. What amazed us was the sight of elderly men and women who climbed this rock bare foot with ease. After a tiring walk down the rock, our friendly guide stopped at a village eatery where we gorged on typical Lankan lunch which consists of rice (two varieties - white and red), fresh lake fish sambol, beans curry and papad . Our next stop was the Dambulla Buddha temple. Another World Heritage Site, The rock towers 160 m over the surrounding plains. There are more than 80 documented caves and major attractions are spread over 5 caves, which contain statues and paintings. We reached this place just before sunset and enjoyed watching the sun go down behind the plains. Everywhere you go there is cleanliness in Kandy - the streets, the river, tourists areas are spotless. There is no plastic covers strewn carelessly on the road. We even saw a cleaner sweeping the streets at 6pm. River Mahaweli Ganga flows majestically through the city and tastes sweet. Since Lanka was colonized by the British like India, some influence is left behind like the bakeries around. Six days we gorged on mouthwatering pastries and sweets breads which were fresh and delicious. What's amazing is the gratitude the locals showered on us when they knew we were Indians. We were greeted with the same lines, 'You are from India . You got Buddha to our country and How is your new PM . Modi? Easy to commute, Kandy city is well connected and one can opt to travel by local bus, train, tuk-tuk or hire a cab to roam the city. Over-all Kandy was like devouring a sweet candy which left you satiated and yet left you wanting for more. Must visit places in and around Kandy: Cultural show which showcases the local dance and culture, take a walk around Kandy Lake at dawn and watch the city unwind, Royal Botanical Garden in Peradiniya is a Nature Lover's paradise with over 4000 varieties of plants, including spices, orchids, palm trees and medicinal plants, Nuwara Eilya located South of Kandy - average temperature of 16degrees this place reminds you of Ooty, breathtaking journey to this place via train or road where you pass through magnificent waterfalls at Ramboda, which plunge over the cliffs in two adjacent 100m cataracts. From Ramboda, it' a short drive on to Labookelie Tea Factory and Nuwara Eliya .


Cheapest Flight Deal


Hold On...

fetching cheapest deal for you

Flights to Reach Kandy

  • Adult

  • Children

  • Infants


Chandan kini

Chandan kiniratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

5 reviewsPosted May 2013

Holy tooth !!

The destination is beautiful . Well maintained roads and people are more amiable than other parts of the country . The weather was pleasant . Very very good place . And to top it all, the temple of the tooth relic . I have been wanting to visit that temple since I was in school which is a long time . Finally I could . The lake and the cricket ground are all very scenic . The best place during our stay in sri lanka .

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: The tourmaline hotel perched on top of the hill is very scenic. food is not different but do not miss the temple of the tooth relic.

Activities & things to do: hope that it rains and walk in the rains with your loved one or get someone to drive around the lake. you can go gems shopping.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: The people are very amiable so not much of trouble. Go from colombo to kandy by road. nice roads and nice place.


Manoj Sen

Manoj Senratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

4 reviewsPosted March 2013

Green city

Very good place to visit in summer. Small city. Shopping is comparatively cheap.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Very good.

Activities & things to do: Go around the city.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: By road from Colombo.


Indu ramesh Olekar

Indu ramesh Olekarratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

3 reviewsPosted January 2013

Palace of peace.

The Buddha temple at kandy is really very beautiful palace, even people are nice with smile on there face, it require 2hours to see the temple and very nice experience.

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Food was nice, shopping for garments gems souvenir are worth here.

Activities & things to do: Just roaming complete city by walk.

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: You have to take good guide because it is a historical place.


Premanayagam Veerabadran

Premanayagam Veerabadranratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted January 2013

Must visit

Beautiful place to visit, especially the botanical park with some of the oldest trees and great variety

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: Few good indian restaurants around

Activities & things to do: Many famous religious places

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: Traveling by road is nice but tiresome


Giridhar Krishnamurthy

Giridhar Krishnamurthyratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

4 reviewsPosted November 2012

Gud stay at Kandy

Excellent hotel, situated at a very nice place, with gud service

Food, sight-seeing and shopping: gud sight-seeing , nice hilly region in line with kerala (munnar)

Activities & things to do: went round the city & visited the tooth relic temple

Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: nice place to travel

Cheapest Flight Deal