Mauritius Ratings & Reviews

Vinay Sipani

Vinay Sipaniratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

12 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Awesome destination

Mauritius is one the best island destination in the world . It has very beautiful beaches and calm sea with beautiful weather . There are many sea beaches you can visit also mostly every good properties has its own personal sea beaches . 7 colored mountain, temples and water activities are in abundance . You can go in yacht for dolphins seeing and parties . Best place for honeymoon travelers .


V nivedithajanaki

V nivedithajanaki

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Mesmerizing Mauritius

I got a chance to explore the beautiful island nation- Mauritius in the month of July, this year. Me and along with my husband( Nitin Excitedly packed the bags and hopped off to this tiny little place. The pristine beaches at Mauritius left us wonder struck. Ile Aux Cerfs is a must visit place tourism attraction. This privately owned island is a haven for many activities. We tried out paragliding, undersea walk, speed boating and an array of other activities here. The other popular beaches to check out are Tamarin, Blue Bay and Trou d' Eau Douce. When visiting beaches, it is highly recommended to carry an extra pair of beach towels, clothes and sunscreen lotion during summer season.

For adventure lovers, a visit to La Vallée des Couleurs Nature Park is a must. Besides spotting peacocks, interesting bird spices, fishes and turtles, one can also indulge in quad biking, zip lining and buggy rides. We tried our hand at quad biking and as we drove along on bike, we caught the glimpses of natural landscapes and gorgeous waterfalls within the park. Make sure to capture the wonderful moments on the camera. We also got a chance to visit the Model Ship Factory, Trou Aux Cerfs - the volcanic crater and Curepipe, the scenic residential town, Shiva Temple, Grand Bassin- Sacred Lake, Port Louis and Champ the Mars race course during our five-day trip to Mauritius.

For some shopping, we visited Jumbo shopping mall and Port Louis Market from where we picked up interesting fridge magnets and model boats. Our journey to this beautiful island nation was spectacular and exciting. We opted for a stay at Radisson Blu Poste Lafayette Resort & Spa and the staff were courteous so were the local people. It was a memorable experience overall, and if the opportunity knocks the door to visit Mauritius, I would not mind visiting the place again. :)


Jyothi Das

Jyothi Das

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Little India meets Europe.

Absolutely beautiful country about the size of a greater Mumbai+ Thane. Population seemed less than the floating population of Andheri. A feeling of comfort as an Indian since there were familiar 'Indian' faces around, temples, homes like you see in India, Goa like roads, and then when the Mauritians speak, it's exotic Creole! Wah. The warmth, the easy pace of life, the early starts and ends of the work day, the gorgeous skies with their clouds, the food which we tried to guess the origin of, some Indian, some African, some European. The best part, the harmonious stayingof different ethnic groups together- Indian, African, Chinese and European. Oh and the FM radio that played Hindi songs and had Hindi speaking RJs. Tip- definitely wake up early to go swimming with the dolphins and enjoy lunch at an uninhabited island ... It's an amazing experience!


V nivedithajanaki

V nivedithajanaki

2 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Mesmerizing Mauritius

I got a chance to explore the beautiful island nation- Mauritius in the month of July, this year. Me and along with my husband, Nitin and excitedly packed the bags and hopped off to this tiny little place. The pristine beaches at Mauritius left us wonder struck. Ile Aux Cerfs is a must visit place tourism attraction. This privately owned island is a haven for many activities. We tried out paragliding, undersea walk, speed boating and an array of other activities here. The other popular beaches to check out are Tamarin, Blue Bay and Trou d' Eau Douce. When visiting beaches, it is highly recommended to carry an extra pair of beach towels, clothes and sunscreen lotion during summer season.
For adventure lovers, a visit to La Vallée des Couleurs Nature Park is a must. Besides spotting peacocks, interesting bird spices, fishes and turtles, one can also indulge in quad biking, zip lining and buggy rides. We tried our hand at quad biking and as we drove along on bike, we caught the glimpses of natural landscapes and gorgeous waterfalls within the park. Make sure to capture the wonderful moments on the camera. We also got a chance to visit the Model Ship Factory, Trou Aux Cerfs - the volcanic crater and Curepipe, the scenic residential town, Shiva Temple, Grand Bassin- Sacred Lake, Port Louis and Champ the Mars race course during our five-day trip to Mauritius.
For some shopping, we visited Jumbo shopping mall and Port Louis Market from where we picked up interesting fridge magnets and model boats. Our journey to this beautiful island nation was spectacular and exciting. We opted for a stay at Radisson Blu Poste Lafayette Resort & Spa and the staff were courteous so were the local people. It was a memorable experience overall, and if the opportunity knocks the door to visit Mauritius, I would not mind visiting the place again. :)


Umang kedia

Umang kedia

14 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Mauritius - International India

The country has exclusive sea beaches, with mesmerizing views. No signs of any sort of pollution. Option to enjoy all sorts of Adventures, including Paragliding, Under water sea walk, play around with animals and everything.
Everything here is of world-class standards. But the best thing is you can find Indian Origin Cooks, drivers, hoteliers, guides, etc. So you don't have to worry about food taste, language and desi entertainment. Must Go


Sebastian

Sebastianratingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

2 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Perfect place for Distressing at affordable cost

Why Mauritius? If you love nature with greenery all around, excellent beaches and sea around you, this is the place for you with minimal rush and least expenses. The moment you land in Mauritius, you feel relaxed right away as the people around you are not rushing but quite relaxed and chilled.

Which all places to Visit? The whole island is about 65 kms in North South Direction and about 45 kms in East West Direction. So depending upon the no of days you have, you could visit all most all the key attractions. Or you could simply chill at the hotel you are staying, enjoying the nearest beach with plenty of water sports options. Some places of Interest include Port Louis, Black River National park and Ganga Talao with an amazing Shiva Statue (108 ft tall), seven coloured earth etc..

Food & Shopping : You can enjoy Indian food where ever you go in Mauritius. About 52% of population is of Indian Origin (mostly 4th generation Indians). Not a great place for shopping, as most of the things are imported. But the duty free shopping space in the airport is quite good with lot of choice for almost everything especially items made in France.

Activities : Beaches are the best way to spend time. All beaches are not good for swimming due to presence of stones but sandy beaches are aplenty available. Water sports activities like para sailing, underwater walk, snorkeling, scuba diving, submarine travel, and even sky diving activities are available. The Catamaran Cruise at the Black River was the most enjoyable activity I did, lasting about 6 hrs (9AM to 6PM). This comes as a package with lunch and drinks included.

Advice to Travellers : Mauritius is a place to wind down and shops etc close down by 6 PM, except a few which may go up to 7PM. Not much of night life, except may be in Port Louis The best currency to carry is US$ which can be exchanged for Mauritian rupee there (1US$=35.3 Mauritian Rupee as in November 2016). Currency exchange can be done in the airport itself while landing and exchanged back while leaving. Unlike other countries, the exchange rates in the airport is very good and at par with the outside.

Please carry sunburn cream as a must and apply to all the exposed skin prior to getting outdoors. Mauritius Sun is very harsh even on Indian Brown skin, unless you apply sunburn cream.


Samar Ladkat

Samar Ladkatratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

6 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Sheer relaxation

3 days are sight seeing and 3 days relaxation we get all three seasons over there water sporting is costly hotel property also determine the same I choose beach side 4 star property. Give morning walk on beach side from dining area you can get view of sea. May month is ideal for visiting the place

  • Sheer relaxation
  • Sheer relaxation
  • Sheer relaxation
  • Sheer relaxation
    +3

Shiri Baghar

Shiri Bagharratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

11 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Great place for family holidays

It's a beautiful, peaceful place. Nice for a fun holiday where you can relax, do water sports, chill at the beach, drive around wonderful roads.

The touristy places are not a big deal, but the south side is really nice with it's greenery and mountainous areas. Great place to go sailing. We couldn't do a trip to an island due to bad weather, but the sailing was super fun. There are better destinations around the world for snorkel ling. The beaches are nice and clean with clear water and you can spend hours just playing at the beach.

The city centre in Port Louis is a good place for souvenirs and local handicrafts. All kinds of food is available. Good place for sea food lovers.

Nice to stay at the many villas as you can do your thing and there's lots of place for everyone. Try to stay at places which have supermarkets / restaurants close by. Most of the villa complexes do not serve breakfast and may not have a restaurant, so you need to get stuff for breakfast too, unless you're the kind to rise and shine and go to a breakfast place. Normally you would want to laze for a while, enjoying the sea views.

It is an easy place to take senior citizens along as there is not much walking and you can hire a car and drive around easily. The roads are in good condition and there is hardly any traffic except around the main business areas.

Can go in big groups, book a nice sea facing villa and just enjoy the place. Destination wise it is not a very expensive destination. The winters too are mild so it is good weather, a little warm in the day and nice cool nights.


Rahul Chauhan

Rahul Chauhanratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

An awesome place

It's very good place for honeymoon couple. Very good beaches and sightseeing and adventure. I went with my wife. Very peaceful and cheerful place. Maturities is very small and we will travel easygoing to north to South. Everywhere greenery, it gives beautiful nature feeling.


Shiva  Rao

Shiva Raoratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

22 reviewsPosted 4 years ago

Marvellous Mauritius

If you want to enjoy beach, if you want to relax, if you want parasailing, submarine, waterfall ride, speed boat ride, lovely gardens, bird park, good food, lovely resorts, then you must go to Mauritius without fail, Visa is on arrival, only 6 hours journey from Mumbai, India. Resorts are not very very costly too. City is also very beautiful with that English look. People seem to be courteous and helpful, even at airport.