Sri Lanka Ratings & Reviews

Subramania Pallavoor

Subramania Pallavoorratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

35 reviewsPosted 10 months ago

Exhilarating!

What a Country! The warmth, pristine beaches, clean surroundings and much more. The Country has everything to offer. We stayed for 6 nights and seven days and could visit all important places. The trip was well organized with stays in excellent properties including beach resorts, forest lodges, hill station etc;. We planned our trip well in advance and hence could get wonderful rate. The trip was meticulously organized by our travel planner M/s. Garden city holidays in coordination with Aitken Spence Travels ( Ltd based in Colombo. All details and schedules were detailed and provided to us. We had the services of a well informed guide cum driver who knew the country well and took very good care of us ensuring that we visited all important places and shopped judiciously. In short money's worth . .

  • Exhilarating!
  • Exhilarating!
  • Exhilarating!

Subramania Pallavoor

Subramania Pallavoorratingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

35 reviewsPosted 11 months ago

Rewarding and enriching

It has always been our dream to visit the Island nation called as Emerald Isles. But some issues or the other made us postpone the visit for so many years. Finally we could make it this time. Having heard so much about the Country, our expectations ran high. We were not disappointed a bit. What a Country with lovely beaches, monuments, tea estates, roaring water falls and above all respect for cleanliness, tourists and pride in their legacy . The tour was well organized by Aitken Spencer Travels through whom we went on the trip. Right from arrival in Colombo's Bandaranaike Airport where the formalities were completed in a jiffy to pick up from the Airport by the well trained and mannered guide cum driver it was a exhilarating experience. All places of importance was covered well and we were put up in excellent Resorts and Hotels including beach facing resorts and jungle lodge . . The Country is so clean that we do not find a spot of garbage any where including small villages which we passed through. Beaches are pristine and beautiful with crowd behaviour impeccable. People are very friendly and take pride in hosting tourists without discrimination. Since we are basically vegetarian, our needs were specially taken care. On the whole our 6 nights and 7 day trip was memorable and value for money. We visited Negambo. Pinnawala Elephant Camp, Botanical Gardens, Yala wild Liefe sanctuary, Kandy, Nuvaraelia, Bentota ,. Matara, Galle and Colombo with each place offering its stunning culture and heritage. Besides, enroute we visited several stunning locales including the famed lake in Nuvara elia, Strawberry farm, tea estates where visit is a religion with the staff taking pains to explain the nuances of Sri Lankan Tea with tea tasting sessions ,. Our visit also included a visit to Seetha Temple where she was supposed to have been kept in captivity by King Ravana, Hanuman Temple located on a hill top and managed by Chinmaya Mission, Famed Kandy Temple etc;

  • Rewarding and enriching
  • Rewarding and enriching
  • Rewarding and enriching
  • Rewarding and enriching
    +4

Tania sabui

Tania sabui

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Nice and clean country

It was a nice experience travelling to our neighbour country.. Especially the whale and dolphin watching.. Along with visit to the Buddhist temples and other lots of various places.. The elephant orphanage amongst others.


Keith cardozo

Keith cardozo

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Sri Lanka - Breathtaking Country

Sri Lanka was an awesome experience, travelled from Bentota to Mirissa and experienced life the way the locals do. Sri Lanka is so amazingly beautiful and it's people and food are the best. Make sure you travel by the local train that rides along the coast to experience the real beauty of Sri Lanka . .


Sridharan Aram

Sridharan Aram

1 reviewPosted 2 years ago

Amazing Kandy experience

Cultural show @ Ceylon heritage centre.
Buddha temple & Tooth relic.
Kadirgramam Murugan temple. Main deity will be open for a day on Vaigasi Visagam
Superb shopping for gems.
Beautiful Botanic gardens


Atul Mohan

Atul Mohan

9 reviewsPosted 2 years ago

Calm place, friendly people

We did a short 5 days trip and Colombo and Bentota. Colombo was a normal modern port city like Mumbai but Bentota was amazing. Hotel staff and generally people were very friendly. The place was neat and clean and the beaches all around were fun. There are lot of scuba places also around.
If visiting around April, please go for whale watching.
Please carry sun block and lots of tissues while roaming around. Try spending more time in places like Galle and Bentota. Commercial cities are everywhere but these cities have good places and a history to share.


Harsha Anjanappa

Harsha Anjanapparatingratingratingratingrating5.0/5

56 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Sea Shine beach Hotel - Sri Lanka

It was first time been to Sri Lanka, checked inn @ sea shine beach hotel and the food is awesome. Chinese dishers blended with Sri Lankan taste was great. Reasonable priced food. I have attached food menu along with the price list. The staff is very helpful. The pool is small, but OK to relax. Nice beach view from the hotel room


Sumit Nagori

Sumit Nagoriratingratingratingratingratingrating4.6/5

121 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Mesmerizing Destination

Never ever thought Sri Lanka had so much to offer. Our trip to Sri Lanka was wonderful and got us unforgettable moments to pen down in our memory. To explore one side of Sri Lanka you'd need atleast 15 days. Pristine beaches, heritage sites, picturesque locations, scenic mountains, adventure & rejuvenation, you'll find everything in Srilanka. An ideal trip would be of 7-8 days which would cover one of these.
We visited four places:
Kandy - a heritage site and a hill-country
Nuwara Eliya - hill station with wonderful romantic weather, picturesque backdrops and mythological importance (Ramayana). Weather here was around 10°C in the month of June
Bentota - beach destination with clear waters and excellent properties. Water activities are closed during Kinkily hence we couldn't try any of it
Colombo - a metropolitan city with historical monuments and city life, casinos.
Roads of Srilanka are in excellent condition. We were in awe of the cleanliness we found throughout our road trip. We had a mix of everything in our trip- romantic destination, adventure of the beach, night life of the metro city and historical, heritage sightseeings. We just loved each place and each place was unique and different from the other. The people in Srilanka are quite helpful in nature. They don't hesitate to provide you any guidance required.
There isn't much for shopping to fascinate so no extra time required to allocate for shopping. Finding a vegetarian restaurant in Srilanka is a real tough task. There is no veg restaurant in Bentota whereas Kandy and Nuwara Eliya has just one of it. Colombo has plenty of Vegetarian restaurants with south and north indian cuisines on offer.
Tip: If you are a vegetarian carry lots of packed/ready to eat food to ease your trip.

  • Mesmerizing Destination
  • Mesmerizing Destination
  • Mesmerizing Destination
  • Mesmerizing Destination
    +27

Kiran B kutinha

Kiran B kutinharatingratingratingratingratingrating4.3/5

15 reviewsPosted 3 years ago

Beautiful Serendip

Truly a gem hiding in plain sight. Sri Lanka had everything we needed to make our holiday one to remember - the pristine beaches, clear blue waters, stunning mountains and absolutely delicious food. There is little I can say to describe how we felt in the waters - the beautiful marine life, the colourful schools of fish, squids, even a seahorse decorated the stunning coral reefs and how!

Fortunately for us Sri Lanka also has the popular Adam's peak mountain that catered to filling our hiking desires and rewarded us with an absolutely gorgeous sunrise. This climb was exhausting but undoubtedly beautiful. For a small country Sri Lanka has much to offer.

Sri Lanka made us fall in love with it by appealing to the wanderlust in us through its rich culture, traditions, mouthwatering cuisine, tasty brews, picturesque views and a bunch of friendly locals.

  • Beautiful Serendip
  • Beautiful Serendip
  • Beautiful Serendip
  • Beautiful Serendip
    +1

Aarti Sharma

Aarti Sharmaratingratingratingratingratingrating3.9/5

1 reviewPosted 4 years ago

Had a memorable trip to Sri Lanka

I had heard a lot about Sri Lanka and had been wanting to visit it for a while. My brother had gifted that Thomas cook gift card for bhai dooj so me and my husband decided to go for the Sri Lankan wonders package. The Thomas cook customer service guys were helpful to explain the packages to us since it was a gift card and we didn't really know how it worked. Our trip started from the Bandaranaike Airport where met our tour guide, Naresh Swami after landing. We had our breakfast at the Ambepussa rest house. Since ours was a 5 night 6 Day trip, we were ready for a week full of travelling. Since we had heard about the beauty of Sri lanka, I wanted to cover as many places as possible. We loved the tour guide because he not only told us the history but also other interesting facts about the places. The Kandyan dance performance was also beautiful. We visited Bentota, Colombo and Kandy. The hotels we stayed in were beautiful, clean and mostly all had a good view. It was a memorable trip and we thank Thomas cook for arranging such a good trip for us.

Video Reviews in Sri Lanka

Halpe Tea Factory

Halpe Tea Factory  Video Review
01:27

Halpe Tea Factory

Waghmare Vicky
28th Jul 18

Madhu (sweet ride)

Madhu (sweet ride)  Video Review
01:55

Madu River Boating

Gkhush
26th Dec 17